skip to main content

应用材料公司数字化服务工具省时增效

作者:Brad Eaton 和 Amitabh Sabharwal

市场对领先和前沿技术节点半导体器件的强劲需求,促使全球厂商日益迫切需要尽可能提高设备故障排查、维修和升级速度,加快装机安装和产品验证以加速产能攀升。

最近,新冠疫情导致的全球差旅限制和供应链中断,使这些挑战变得更加棘手。这种情况凸显了晶圆厂管理者需要进一步重视业务连续性规划,确保合理的资源调配,即便发生最严重的意外事件,也能保证持续的生产运营。

应用材料公司全球服务事业部 (AGS) 始终致力于帮助客户保持设备以最佳性能水平正常运行。早在 2020 年全球爆发疫情之前,应用材料公司就在充分利用和扩展其服务解决方案组合,以满足客户对远程支持日益增长的需求。

例如,早在十多年前,应用材料公司就开始提供包括一些远程连接能力在内的综合服务协议。如今,一套不断发展更迭的数字化服务工具赋予构筑了应材在远程服务上的独到能力。这些工具使全球客户能快速轻松地利用应材的专家网络,从而缩短响应时间,让客户快速获取所需的专家维修、维护和验证服务。

应用材料公司持续重磅投入,开发这些有着更强大远程支持能力的数字化工具。因此,在新冠疫情限制差旅出行之时,应材抓住时机,顺利转换,加大远程支持力度。事实上,应材 2020 年提供的出差上门支持服务减少了约 80%,但综合服务协议涵盖的机台工具数量实际却在大幅增长。用数字化工具(例如,应材配备强大分析引擎的现场服务型服务器(FSS))来满足逐步扩大的技术支持需求,这种情况前所未有地增加了 150%。

与专家深度协作

应用材料公司数字化工具的一个关键优势是将分析技术应用于解决问题,使应材网络遍布全球的专家能与在客户现场工作的应材客户工程师开展富有成效的深入高效协作。

我们的专家在业内拥有极其广博的技术专长,这是解决特别复杂问题所必需的。他们的技术能力对于解决问题至关重要,因为一个问题的真正复杂之处往往在工作开始之前无从知晓。通过远程协助和指导现场团队,应用材料公司的专家可以缩短客户解决问题的时间,而不会因为差旅限制和强制隔离而延误。

这些远程参与协助方式也为客户提供了一种有效且高效的选择,可替代本地的第三方服务。虽然本地服务商临近客户晶圆厂,有近水楼台的便利,但他们也需要专门的技术专家支持才能快速解决复杂的问题。

当前,应用材料公司远程服务的核心数字化工具包括:

  • 远程设备访问:应用材料公司高度安全的远程连接软件使世界各地的应材服务人员都可以实时查看设备系统的图形用户界面 (GUI)。服务人员可执行基本的功能,就像在现场实地使用设备 GUI 一样。
  • 现场服务型服务器(FSS):应用材料公司的安全数据分析引擎安装在客户现场,使应材服务团队能够高效开展工作。一旦获得客户的许可,AGS 服务人员便可以访问此安全引擎,以收集高解析率清传感器数据,核查以往运行情况,了解机组总体状况,并查看设备运行状态指标。

应材的分析引擎能够加快诊断速度,从而缩短平均维修时间 (MTTR),增强预防性和预测性维护以减少废品,提高产出/正常运行时间,缩短功能恢复时间,更快启动设备并完成腔室匹配,以加快产能爬坡。

  • 远程视频辅助:应用材料公司采用最新的增强现实 (AR) 头盔,加上其他视频采集技术,远程指导现场的应材客户工程师,从而缩短解决问题的时间。这些技术使远程应材专家可以查看与现场客户工程师极其相同的视图。

远程视频辅助还有其他强大优势。其中一项优势是远程专家可以在视频源中添加注释及指向特定对象,而现场客户工程师可以看到专家指向的对象,就像他们在同一地点共事一样。还有一项优势是,远程专家可以上传技术图纸,供现场客户工程师在查看实际对象时参阅,使工程师能腾出双手来执行复杂的维护任务。在疫情期间,应材 1,000 多名现场客户工程师在 28 个站点部署了远程视频辅助工具。

我们的数字化工具已部署到所有区域,由经过专门培训的工程师在日常班次中使用这些工具来开展工作。如今,对于服务协议涵盖的大多数客户设备,都可以远程访问并提供支持。在新冠疫情期间,正如以下客户案例展示的那样,应用材料公司能够远程响应客户需求,充分体现了这套强大工具组合的价值。

ECD 设备的可靠性升级

在客户的一家工厂,生产工艺特性鉴定 (PPC) 中采用的是应用材料公司的 Mustang® 电化学沉积 (ECD) 设备,该设备的系统模块需要升级,以减少停机时间和晶圆废片。

这是一项不常见的复杂升级任务,但由于新冠疫情带来的差旅限制,应用材料公司无法快速部署专门的服务人员来执行这项工作。为此,应材公司利用远程视频辅助工具,使现场的应材客户工程师与美国或其他地区的应材专家连线,由专家指导客户工程师完成这项陌生而棘手的程序(图 1)。

图 1.图中显示了应用材料公司利用远程视频辅助工具,指导其现场客户工程师完成一项不常见的复杂设备升级。

在远程专家的逐步指导下,现场的客户工程师遵照所有安全规定,完成了所需的全部升级任务。然后,团队通过视频会议验证了升级过程,设备恢复了生产,没有影响客户的生产进度和晶圆出片。

从研发到生产的设备匹配

复杂的设备与设备匹配,是应用材料公司数字化工具如何实现远程服务为客户省时省钱的另一个例子。

一位客户在北美的晶圆研发厂拥有一台应用材料公司的 Centris® Sym3® 刻蚀设备。为了满足市场对其产品急剧增长的需求,该客户需要尽快验证一台相同的设备,用于在亚洲的一家晶圆厂开展大批量生产。

应用材料公司利用在这个亚洲晶圆厂部署的分析引擎,通过远程设备访问,在苛刻的时间要求下帮助客户完成了工艺验证。这些数字化工具支持硬件指纹识别和两台 Centris Sym3 设备之间的常数、配方(recipes)和软件比对。

结合使用分析引擎和远程访问工具,应用材料公司完成了复杂的匹配操作,所用时间要远远短于不使用这些工具的情况(图 2)。此外,常规的服务人员派遣所需的 17 天时间(3 天的差旅 + 14 天的强制隔离)也从时间表中剔除了。

图 2. 应用材料公司的分析引擎和远程设备访问工具,大大加快了客户将在北美晶圆研发厂的应材 Centris® Sym3® 刻蚀设备上开发的工艺转移到亚洲大批量晶圆制造厂的相同设备上的速度。

一次性正确安装设备

设备的安装始终都是关键的一环,这对离子注入机尤其显得重要,因为离子注入所需的高能量源使人员和设施的安全成为重中之重。

亚洲有一家客户需要安装应用材料公司的 VIISTA® 离子注入机。这是该晶圆厂首次安装这一特殊型号的设备,而当地的应材现场服务部门对所需的复杂安装程序没有任何经验。同时,疫情造成的差旅限制,意味着应材公司无法将设备和服务专家快速部署到现场。

这种情况下,应材转而采用远程视频辅助工具,让应材离子注入机业务部门的技术专家、AGS 和现场服务团队之间开展协作。远程团队能够指导当地团队完成高度复杂且具有潜在危险性的源调节和光束对准流程,然后验证其是否一次就成功完成(图 3)。

图 3. 应用公司的远程服务能力确保了亚洲某晶圆厂的应材 VIISTA® 离子注入机一次装机安装成功。这是该厂安装的第一台此类设备,而当地团队之前对这一具有潜在危险性的安装流程没有任何经验。

远程协作确保装机安装如期完成,达到了客户的完工时间要求。

携手正确之选

随着新冠疫情的结束和限制的解除,许多事情将恢复到以前的状态。但是,正如这些客户案例所示,数字化工具的力量从此将永远改变晶圆厂设备服务方式。

展望未来,将需要越来越多像本文所述的数字化工具,以实现更好更快的设备指纹识别、大型传感器组的数据分析、设备运行状况监测和其他功能。

在日新月异的今天,有一点不会改变的是 AGS 的使命和应用材料公司服务部门对客户的承诺。无论是正常运营还是严峻紧迫的情况,应用材料公司都随时待命,为全球各地的晶圆厂提供支持。数字化工具提供了一种途径,让应用材料公司行业领先的专业技术知识和技术能力可以应用到世界任何地区的任何工厂,无论客户面临什么挑战,均可帮助他们实现生产目标。

Brad 是应用材料公司的战略营销总监,Amitabh 是应用材料公司全球服务事业部的战略营销董事总经理。了解更多信息,请联系 brad_eaton@amat.com

 
Brad Eaton,
应用材料公司战略营销总监
 Amitabh Sabharwal,
应用材料公司全球服务事业部战略营销董事总经理

skip to main content

Applied’s Digital Service Tools Cut Time to Productivity

By Brad Eaton and Amitabh Sabharwal

Strong demand for semiconductors at both leading-and trailing-edge technology nodes is driving an urgent, growing global need to troubleshoot, repair and upgrade tools as quickly as possible—and to accelerate installations and product qualification to speed production ramps.

Recently, these challenges have been compounded by global travel restrictions and supply chain disruptions resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic. This situation has spotlighted the need for fab managers to further emphasize business continuity planning and ensure resource allocation to support ongoing production despite the most serious unanticipated events.

The mission of Applied Global Services (AGS) has always been to help customers keep their tools up and running at optimum performance levels. Even before the pandemic erupted worldwide in 2020, Applied has been utilizing and expanding its portfolio of service solutions to meet the growing customer need for remote support.

For example, more than a decade ago Applied began offering comprehensive service agreements that included some remote connectivity capabilities. Today, Applied’s remote service capabilities are enabled by a unique and growing portfolio of digital service tools. These give global customers fast, easy access to Applied’s network of experts, enabling the quick response times and expert repair, maintenance and qualification services customers require.

Applied has continued to invest heavily in developing these digital tools with enhanced remote support capability. As a result, when the COVID pandemic restricted travel, Applied transitioned seamlessly in ramping support levels remotely without missing a step. In fact, the number of tools covered under comprehensive service agreements actually grew substantially during 2020, even as travel for support decreased about 80%. Instances where digital tools—such as Applied’s field service server, with its powerful analytics engine—were used to resolve technical support escalations grew by an unprecedented 150%.

INSIGHTFUL COLLABORATIONS WITH EXPERTS

A key advantage of Applied’s digital tools is that they apply analytics to problem-solving, making possible deep, insightful and efficient collaborations between Applied’s worldwide network of experts and Applied customer engineers (CEs) working onsite at the customer’s premises.

Our experts possess the broadest base of technical expertise in the industry, which is needed to solve particularly complicated issues. Their expertise is critical because the true complexity of a problem often is not known until work begins. By remotely aiding and directing the onsite team, Applied experts can accelerate the customer’s time to resolution without delays for travel and quarantine.

These remote engagements also give customers an efficient and effective alternative to local third-party service providers. While local providers may be conveniently located near the customer’s fab, they may need support from specialized experts to resolve complex problems quickly.

Currently, the digital tools at the core of Applied’s remote service offerings include:

  • Remote Tool Access: Applied’s highly secure remote connect software allows Applied service personnel anywhere in the world to view a system’s graphical user interface (GUI) in real time. They perform basic functions just as if they were physically located at the tool using the local GUI.
  • Field Service Server: Applied’s secure data analytics engine is installed at customer sites, enabling Applied service teams to work with high efficiency. Once customer permission is granted, AGS service personnel can access this secure engine to collect high-resolution sensor data, perform historical reviews, see fleet-level overviews, and access equipment health indicators.

The capabilities of Applied’s analytics engine accelerate diagnostics, resulting in shorter mean time to repair (MTTR); enhanced preventive and predictive maintenance for reduced scrap, increased output/uptime and faster green-to-green times; and quicker tool startups and chamber-matching for quicker product ramps.

  • Remote Video Assist: Applied employs the latest augmented-reality (AR) headsets, plus other video-capture techniques, to remotely direct onsite Applied CEs, reducing the time to problem resolution. These technologies enable remote Applied experts to access the very same view as the onsite CE.

Remote video assist also offers other powerful benefits. One is that the remote expert can annotate and point to objects in the video feed, and the onsite CE sees where the expert is pointing as if they were together in the same location. Another is that remote experts can upload technical drawings for the onsite CE to reference while viewing real objects, leaving both the CE’s hands free to perform complex maintenance tasks. During the pandemic, remote video assist has been deployed at 28 sites by more than 1,000 Applied onsite CEs.

Our digital tools are deployed in all regions and specially trained engineers are using them in their regular shift operations. A majority of customer tools under service agreements can now be remotely accessed and supported. Applied’s ability to respond remotely to customers during the COVID-19 era has demonstrated the value of this robust portfolio of tools, as the following customer examples demonstrate.

RELIABILITY UPGRADE FOR ECD TOOL

At one customer site, the system module of an Applied Materials Mustang® electrochemical deposition (ECD) tool used in production process characterization (PPC) needed to be upgraded to reduce downtime and wafer scrap.

The task was an uncommon and complex upgrade, but because of COVID-19 travel restrictions Applied was unable to quickly deploy specialized service personnel to perform the work. Instead, Applied used remote video assist to connect the onsite Applied CE to Applied experts located in the U.S. or elsewhere, who coached the CE through the unfamiliar and difficult procedure (Figure 1).

Figure 1. The illustration shows Applied Materials’ use of remote video assist to guide its onsite customer engineer (CE) through an uncommon and complex tool upgrade.

With the remote experts’ step-by-step guidance, the onsite CE performed all required upgrade tasks while following all safety protocols. The team then verified the upgrade through a video conference, and the tool was returned to production with no impact to the customer’s production schedule or wafer-outs.

TOOL-MATCHING FROM R&D TO PRODUCTION

Complex tool-to-tool matching is another example of how Applied’s digital tools enable remote services that save customers time and money.

One customer had an Applied Materials Centris® Sym3® etch tool in a development fab in North America. To meet surging demand for its products, the customer needed to qualify a twin of that tool for high-volume production in a fab in Asia as quickly as possible.

Applied helped the customer meet their demanding process qualification schedule using the analytics engine in the Asia-based fab, along with remote tool access. These digital tools enabled hardware fingerprinting and comparison of equipment constants, recipes, and software between the two Centris Sym3 tools.

By combining the analytics engine and remote access, Applied performed the complex matching operations in a fraction of the time it would have taken without them (Figure 2). In addition, the 17 days that would have been needed for traditional in-person service (3 days travel + 14 to quarantine) were shaved from the schedule.

Figure 2. Applied’s analytics engine, along with remote tool access, greatly accelerated one customer’s transfer of a process developed on an Applied Centris® Sym3® etch tool in an R&D fab in North America, to a twin tool in a high-volume production fab in Asia.

FIRST-TIME-RIGHT TOOL INSTALLATION

Tool installations are always critical, but never more so than with ion implanters because the high-energy source needed for ion implantation make safety a priority both for personnel and facilities.

One customer in Asia needed to install an Applied VIISTA® ion implant tool. However, this was the fab’s first installation of this particular model of the tool, and the local Applied field service organization had no experience with the complicated procedures required. At the same time, travel restrictions caused by the pandemic meant that Applied could not quickly deploy tool and service experts to the site.

Instead, remote video assist was used to stage collaborations between technical experts in Applied’s ion implanter business unit, AGS and the onsite field service team. The remote team was able to guide the local team through a highly complex and potentially dangerous source-tuning and beam-alignment process, and then verify its first-time-right completion (Figure 3).

Figure 3. Applied’s remote service capabilities ensured the first-time-right installation success of an Applied VIISTA® ion implant tool in a fab in Asia. It was the fab’s first tool of this kind and the local team had no prior experience with the potentially hazardous installation process.

The remote collaboration kept the installation schedule on track and met the customer’s timeline for completion.

THE RIGHT CONNECTION

As the COVID-19 pandemic comes to an end and restrictions are lifted, many things will go back to the way they were before. But servicing fab equipment will be forever changed by the power of digital tools, as these customer examples demonstrate.

Going forward, a growing array of digital tools like the ones described in this article will be needed for better and faster tool fingerprinting, data analytics for large sensor sets, equipment health monitoring and other functions.

One thing that won't change though, is the mission of AGS and the commitment that Applied’s service organization makes to our customers. Applied Materials stands ready to support fabs worldwide, whether the circumstances are business as usual or during a dire emergency. Digital tools provide the means through which Applied’s industry-leading technical knowledge can reach any fab, anywhere, to help customers reach their production goals—no matter what challenges they face.

Brad is Strategic Marketing Director and Amitabh is Managing Director of Strategic Marketing at Applied Global Services. For additional information contact brad_eaton@amat.com

 
Brad Eaton,
Strategic Marketing Director
 Amitabh Sabharwal,
Managing Director, Strategic Marketing, Applied Global Services