skip to main content

光子器件技术 新兴之用

作者: Shiva Rai


光子器件技术在激光扫描和打印、电信和工业材料加工等应用中存在已久。近年来,发光二极管 (LED) 照明得到了大规模应用。激光器、光电探测器、 microLED 和光子集成电路 (PIC) 等光子器件成为一系列新技术的构建模块,包括人脸识别、3D 传感和激光成像、检测和测距(激光雷达)等。为了满足当今的应用需求,这些技术需要创新的器件架构、新材料开发、材料的单片和异构集成、更大的晶圆尺寸和单晶圆加工。

引言

的支柱,它使电子技术从计 算机到互联网到智能手机,再 到现在的人工智能和 5G 的发 展成为可能。然而,对于某些 应用来说,光子器件技。

砷化镓 (GaAs)、磷化铟 (InP) 和氮化镓 (GaN) 等化合物半导体具有直接能量带隙以支持激光和 LED 等光子器件技术。利用磷砷化铟镓 (InGaAsP) 材料的 1.3µm 和 1.5µm 单模激光器,可搭建出极其高效的光纤通信系统,如今已在使用。

随着基于砷化镓和氮化镓的可见光 LED 技术的进步,照明行业已经生产出高效、高亮度的 LED 产品,用于室内外照明、汽车照明和显示器。除了能效之外,LED 还为照明设计师提供了更大的自由度,这一点可从最新的汽车大灯设计窥见一斑(图 1)。

图 1. 高亮度 LED 在新近的汽车大灯设计中获得应用。

新兴光子应用

光子被认为是 3D 传感、自动驾驶车辆和光互连等新兴技术的重要赋能者。正如电子一直是设计机器“大脑”的支柱一样,光子将“视觉”赋予未来机器。激光将是这些光子的来源。

3D 传感

随着智能手机越来越多用于计算,手机上保留了个人信息也日益增多,这需要严格的安全设置,而不仅限基于指纹识别和二维虹膜扫描的身份验证。继苹果公司 2017 年在 iPhone X 移动设备中推出人脸识别功能后,垂直腔面发射激光器 (VCSEL) 近年来在消费市场上引起了相当大的关注。 VCSEL 将数以万计的激光束照射在用户的脸上,然后收集这些激光束,生成面部的 3D 深度图,为该用户创建独特的识别图像(图 2)。

图 2. VCSEL 是用于设备安保的人脸识别技术的基础。

一家领先的消费产品制造商的最新产品扩展了这一技术,采用了飞行时间激光传感器,利用 VCSEL 对几米外的场景进行闪光,借助深度信息创建该空间的 3D 图像。例如,现在能以虚拟形式地将一件家具或艺术品放置在一个空间中,以便在购买前查看使用效果。为了眼睛的安全,如今的技术在波长范围上是受限的,但我们可以预期未来会发展到更长的波长,并适用于更多的设备,包括智能手机。

光互连

传统形式的数据中心消耗了当今世界 2% 以上的电力,而全球数据流量预计每四年就会翻一番。未来,使用电子分组交换机在机架之间进行数据传输将无法同时满足带宽和能耗的要求。随着数据中心业务模式向云计算转变,未来几年将涉及更大量的数据处理和传输(图 3)。

图 3. 云计算将加剧数据中心能耗的挑战。

目前正在开发基于硅光子和磷化铟光子集成电路 (PIC) 的光互连技术,以应对数据中心面临的这些挑战。100GbE 的收发器模块已经进入市场,并在稳步推向 400GbE 和更高的水平。与常规的电子相比,硅光子能够实现更快、更远距离的数据传输,同时还可以利用上半导体激光器以及大批量硅制造的效率。

激光雷达

汽车行业除了电气化之外,下一个大的范式转变就是自动驾驶。今天的三级自动驾驶,需要高度精密的照明、检测、感知和决策系统无缝协同工作(图 4)。激光雷达的高分辨率、3D 成像能力和超过 200 米的可探测范围,与基于雷达或摄像头的解决方案形成鲜明区别,已被广泛认可为自动驾驶的最佳解决方案。

图 4. 自动驾驶汽车的安全运行需要许多不同系统的无缝协作。

激光雷达有905nm和 1550nm两种频率选择,其中 905nm 是首选,因为有完善的激光器和光电探测器生态系统。不过,由于 1550nm 的范围更广,而且眼睛的安全极限是 905nm 的 40 倍,因此业界正在积极研究。当前正在评估的光束转向技术包括机械旋转、MEMS 和光学相控阵。机械旋转在可靠性方面存在很大的问题,而基于 MEMS 的光束转向技术近来作为三级先进驾驶辅助系统 (ADAS) 的选件出现在多款汽车上,但在射程和视野上有限制。用于光束转向的固态光学相控阵处于早期开发阶段,但 在性能、成本和外形尺寸方面具有不错的前景,除了自动驾驶之外,还可获得更多应用。为了满足激光雷达系统在成本和性能上的要求,需要在大批量制造中运用异构集成或共同封装激光器、探测器和光束转向芯片。如今,基于 MEMS 的激光雷达技术在满足这些工业要求方面展现出喜人的前景。

MicroLEDs

除了在电视、智能手机和智能手表等现有设备中实现更高的分辨率外,microLED 技术还可能用于打造令人兴奋的新产品,如图 5 所示的增强现实/虚拟现实 (AR/VR) 产品。这些新的应用需要自发光的红绿蓝 (RGB) 显示,而不是色彩转换或过滤。这里涉及的挑战是实现 RGB microLED 裸片所需的量子效率,将 microLED 经济高效地巨量转移到背板上,以及测试每个单独的 microLED。创新的器件设计、外延生长优化、衬底工程、裸片转印方法和新的背板架构正在研究和开发中,以使 microLED 技术可与现有的液晶显示器 (LCD) 及有机发光二极管 (OLED) 技术相竞争。

图 5. AR/VR 应用是受益于 MicroLED 技术的消费产品之一。

器件技术

实现这些新兴光子应用的关键器件技术是基于砷化镓和磷化铟的激光器、硅和砷化镓铟(InGaAs) 光电探测器、MEMS 器件、氮化镓和砷化镓 LED、硅和氮化硅 (SiN) 波导以及光学调制器。对于 3D 传感应用,砷化镓激光器件正从 100mm 的衬底转向 150mm 的衬底。用于高亮度应用的砷化镓和氮化镓 LED 分别在 150mm 砷化镓衬底和蓝宝石衬底上投产。不过,在某些应用中,microLED 的应用正在推动对硅衬底上 RGB LED 的需求。磷化铟激光二极管是在 75mm 和 100mm 磷化铟衬底上生产的。化合物半导体器件通常在批量反应器中进行加工,但制造重点越来越多地放在提高良率和晶圆内均匀性以及增强工艺控制上。这相应地推动了向单晶圆加工设备的过渡。

目前,用于光束转向技术的 MEMS 器 件 依 赖 于 200mm 硅 MEMS 生产线。硅光子技术主要在 200mm 绝缘体上硅 (SOI) 平台上运行,并不断推动向 300mm 晶圆过渡,以解决 200mm 光刻和刻蚀等设备的技术限制。具有高电光系数的薄膜技术一直在研究之中,以扩展光互连的速度和带宽包络。

上述光子应用预计在未来 5-10 年内实现巨大的增长。3D 传感、激光雷达、光互连 和 AR/VR 显示,这四大关键应用的市场规模预计将以 31% 的复合年增长率,从 2020 年的 80 亿美元增长到 2025 年的 233 亿美元(图 6)。 3D 传感技术正在寻求新的应用,而激光雷达和 AR/VR 显示器还处于早期发展阶段,预计将以远高得多的复合年增长率增长。光电子应用的增长将需要解决器件技术在性能、制造和系统集成方面的挑战。如今,各种力量正在推动对新工艺设备的需求,这些设备不仅要能解决器件性能上的难题,还能实现卓越的工艺控制,提高整体制造良率。

图 6. 新兴的光子应用将实现巨大增长。(资料来源 :Yole Développement 报告)

Shiva Rai 是应用材料公司光子和射频应用战略营销经理。欲了解更多信息,请联系 shiva_rai@amat.com

Shiva Rai, 应用材料公司光子和射频应用战略营销经理

skip to main content

Photonic Device Technologies for Emerging Markets

By Shiva Rai


Photonic device technologies have long existed for applications such as laser scanning and printing, telecommunications, and industrial material processing. More recently, light-emitting diode (LED) lighting has seen mass adoption. Photonic devices such as lasers, photodetectors, microLEDs, and photonic-integrated-circuits (PICs) are the building blocks for new technologies, including facial recognition, 3D sensing, and laser imaging, detection and ranging (LiDAR). To meet today’s application requirements, innovative device architectures, new materials development, monolithic and heterogeneous integration of materials, larger wafer sizes, and single-wafer processing are required for these technologies.

Introduction

Silicon (Si) has been the backbone of all the semiconductor IC technologies that have enabled the electronics evolution from computers to the Internet to smartphones, and now artificial intelligence (AI) and 5G. However, for certain applications, photonic device technologies are better suited to meet technological and environmental requirements.

Compound semiconductors, such as gallium arsenide (GaAs), indium phosphide (InP), and gallium nitride (GaN), have a direct-energy bandgap that enables photonic device technologies such as lasers and LEDs. Single-mode lasers at 1.3µm and 1.5µm using indium gallium arsenide phosphide (InGaAsP) materials have created very efficient fiber-optic communication systems in use today.

With the technological advancements made in GaAs- and GaN-based visible LEDs, the lighting industry has produced efficient and high-brightness LED products for indoor and outdoor lighting, automotive lighting, and displays. Apart from energy efficiency, LEDs have given lighting designers greater degrees of freedom that, for example, can be observed in the latest automotive headlights (Figure 1).

Figure 1. High-brightness LEDs have been adopted in recent automotive headlight designs.

EMERGING PHOTONICS APPLICATIONS

Photons are considered an important enabler of emerging technologies such as 3D sensing, autonomous vehicles, and optical interconnects. Just as electrons have been the backbone in designing the “brains” of machines, photons will supply “vision” for future machines. Laser will be the source of these photons.

3D Sensing

As smartphones are increasingly used for computing, more personal information is being retained on them, requiring stringent security beyond fingerprint and 2D iris scan for authentication. Vertical cavity surface emitting lasers (VCSELs) have lately attracted considerable attention in the consumer market after Apple introduced facial recognition in their 2017 iPhone X mobile device. The VCSELs shine tens of thousands of laser beams on the user’s face, which are then collected to produce a 3D depth map of the face, creating a unique identifier for that user (Figure 2).

Figure 2. VCSELs are the basis of facial recognition being used for device security.

The latest product from a leading consumer products manufacturer has extended this technology with a time-of-flight laser sensor that uses VCSELs to flash the scene a couple of meters away and create a 3D image of that space with depth information. For example, you can now virtually place a piece of furniture or artwork in a space to visualize it before purchase. For eye safety, the technology today is limited in wavelength range, but we can expect it to evolve to longer wavelengths in the future and to a broader variety of devices, including smartphones.

Optical Interconnects

Traditional data centers are consuming more than 2% of the world’s electricity today and global data traffic is expected to double every four years. In the future, data transfer between racks using electronic packet switches will not simultaneously meet the requirements for bandwidth and energy consumption. With the data center business model shifting to cloud computing, much greater volumes of data processing and transfer will be handled in coming years (Figure 3).

Figure 3. Cloud computing will exacerbate the challenge of data center energy consumption.

Si photonics and InP PIC-based optical interconnects are being developed to address these data center challenges. Transceiver modules at 100GbE are already in the market, with a steady push towards 400GbE and beyond. Si photonics enable faster data transfer over longer distances compared to conventional electronics, while utilizing semiconductor lasers and the efficiencies of high-volume Si manufacturing.

LiDAR

The next big paradigm shift in the automotive industry, besides electrification, is autonomous driving. For today’s Level 3 autonomy, very sophisticated illumination, detection, perception, and decision-making systems need to work together seamlessly (Figure 4). LiDAR has been widely accepted as the best solution for autonomous driving given its high-resolution, 3D imaging capability and achievable range beyond 200m that distinguish it from either radar- or camera-based solutions.

Figure 4. Safe operation of autonomous vehicles requires seamless coordination of many different systems.

The two frequency options for LiDAR are 905nm and 1550nm, with 905nm being preferred due to the well-established ecosystem for lasers and photodetectors. However 1550nm is being actively researched given its longer range and 40x higher eye safety limit compared to 905nm. Beam-steering technologies being evaluated include mechanical rotation, MEMS, and optical phased arrays. While a mechanical rotation presents significant reliability concerns, MEMS-based beam-steering technologies are featured in several recent car models as a Level-3 advanced driver-assistance systems (ADAS) option, despite limitations in range and field-of-view. Solid-state optical phased arrays for beam steering are in early development but hold promise in performance, cost, and form factor that could find future applications beyond autonomous driving. To meet the cost and performance requirements of the LiDAR system, heterogeneous integration or co-packaging of lasers, detectors, and beam-steering chips in high-volume manufacturing is needed. Today, MEMS-based LiDAR technologies are showing great promise for satisfying these industry requirements.

MicroLEDs

Apart from achieving higher resolution in existing devices such as TVs, smartphones, and smartwatches, microLED technology can potentially enable new and exciting products such as augmented reality/virtual reality (AR/VR) as illustrated in Figure 5. These new applications demand self-emissive red-green-blue (RGB) displays rather than color conversion or filtering. The challenges involved here are achieving required quantum efficiencies from RGB microLED die, cost-effective mass transfer of microLEDs onto the backplane, and testing of each individual microLED. Innovative device designs, epi growth optimization, substrate engineering, die transfer methodologies, and new backplane architectures are being investigated and developed to make microLED technology competitive with incumbent liquid crystal display (LCD) and organic LED (OLED) technologies.

Figure 5. AR/VR applications are among the consumer products benefiting from microLED technology.

DEVICE TECHNOLOGIES

The key device technologies enabling these emerging photonic applications are GaAs- and InP-based lasers, Si and indium gallium arsenide (InGaAs) photodetectors, MEMS devices, GaN and GaAs LEDs, Si and silicon nitride (SiN) waveguides, and optical modulators. For 3D sensing applications, GaAs laser devices are shifting from 100mm to 150mm substrates. GaAs and GaN LEDs used in high-brightness applications are in production on 150mm GaAs and sapphire substrates, respectively. However, microLED applications are driving the demand for RGB LEDs on Si substrates in certain applications. InP laser diodes are manufactured on 75mm and 100mm InP substrates. Compound semiconductor devices are typically processed in batch reactors, but manufacturing focus is growing on improving yields, within-wafer uniformity, and process control. Consequently, there is a push to transition to single-wafer processing tools.

MEMS devices used in beam-steering technologies currently depend on 200mm Si MEMS production lines. Si photonic technologies are predominantly run on 200mm silicon-on-insulator (SOI) platforms with a constant push to transition to 300mm wafers to address technological limitations in 200mm tools, e.g., lithography and etching. Thin-film technologies with high electro-optic coefficients are constantly being investigated to extend the speed and bandwidth envelopes of optical interconnects.

The photonic applications discussed here are forecast to have a tremendous growth trajectory over the next 5–10 years. The four key applications—3D sensing, LiDAR, optical interconnects, and AR/VR displays—collectively are forecast to grow from an $8B market in 2020 (Figure 5). AR/VR applications are among the consumer products benefiting from microLED technology to $23.3B in 2025 at a CAGR of 31% (Figure 6). While 3D sensing technologies are finding new applications, LiDAR and AR/VR displays are at early development stages and are expected to grow at much higher CAGRs. The growth in photonics applications will require addressing device technology challenges in performance, manufacturing, and system-integration. Today forces are driving demand for new process equipment that can not only resolve device performance challenges but also deliver superior process control and improve overall manufacturing yields.

Figure 6. Emerging photonic applications have tremendous growth trajectory. (Source: Yole Développement reports)

Shiva Rai is Strategic Marketing Manager for Photonics & RF applications at Applied Materials. For additional information contact him at shiva_rai@amat.com

Shiva Rai, Strategic Marketing Manager for Photonics and RF Applications