skip to main content

圖案化

圖案化是微縮的基礎;這項技術將電晶體的尺寸縮小到現今的大小,致使現代電子元件越來越實惠。因此,圖案化也是半導體製造技術不斷進步的驅動力。

1975 年,英代爾的共同創辦人 Gordon E. Moore 注意到自 1958 年積體電路發明以來,其中的元件數目每年都加倍成長。他推論未來十年這個趨勢仍將持續。半導體產業採納了他的預測,以其為大量生產研究和開發的「藍圖」;這項預測至今仍然適用,這很大部份要歸功於圖案化技術。這項技術使製造商能夠逐步縮小電路及其元件的臨界線寬,進而增加矽晶圓每單位面積所產生的功能。
 
圖案化是使用光刻法和光學光罩製程來壓印圖案,在元件製造程序的特定步驟中引導晶圓材料的沉積或移除。元件每一層材料光罩未覆蓋的區域內進行沉積或移除,然後在下一層覆蓋上新的光罩。晶圓以這種方式重複處理,產生多層電路。
 
過去多年來,全球對於能提供更強效能電子元件的需求持續成長;晶片製造商為了回應這個趨勢,不斷在晶圓中封裝更多電晶體,以符合使用者對更強效能的要求。換句話說,電晶體和導線的圖案尺寸一直在縮小。隨著尺寸縮小,每個晶圓上能夠製造更多數量的電路,這使電路更加便宜,同時電晶體變得更快速且消耗更少的功率。隨著每顆電晶體的成本下降,製造商能夠以消費者更容易負擔的成本來製造功能更強大的晶片;成本持續的下降穩定推動了市場對手機、平板電腦、電玩遊戲和 3D 電視等產品的需求,並使這些產品更臻成熟。
 
為了支援幾代晶圓上的線寬縮減,光刻本身必須進行演變。深紫外線光蝕刻波長從 248 奈米縮短到 193 奈米,且繼續微縮到 45 奈米及更小,浸潤式微影取代「乾式」光刻,強化 30% 至 40% 的解析度,並且能夠在製程中使用波長的一部分尺寸進行圖案化。如今,雙重和四重圖案化這類技術用於增加浸潤式微影的解析度。雙重圖案化技術使元件微縮至 22 奈米;四重圖案化則將實現 10 奈米的幾何結構。
 

應用材料扮演什麼角色?

身為半導體設備製造的領導者,應用材料公司會做到將圖案轉印到元件結構中。由於使用我們的系統,客戶才能蝕刻光刻製程所用的光罩、進行由晶圓圖形引導的沉積、蝕刻和相關製程;以及檢查光罩和晶圓,確保高品質的圖案化和相應的晶圓上效能。我們的系統和製程已逐步演變,可解決縮小圖形尺寸衍生出的諸多挑戰。
 
 
隨著圖案越變越小,光罩也變得更加複雜以確保圖案能精確的轉印,且圖案蝕刻的技術也相對地變得更先進。光罩一定要驗證是否有瑕疵,以避免在晶圓上複製光罩瑕疵,因而造成廢品損失;特別是高收益晶片,損失更大。隨著線寬縮小和深寬比 (直徑與深度的比率) 加大,晶圓製程也不得不滿足越來越具有挑戰性的規格。最終元件效能的最佳化必須經過蝕刻製程,例如,透過各種薄膜類型、均勻的線寬寬度和間距 (即臨界線寬 (CD) 均勻度) 和平滑邊緣 (例如,無刻線邊緣粗糙度 (LER)) 等來製造精準的輪廓。此效能必須在整個晶圓上以嚴格精密度複製,且同時能在數千個晶圓上重複進行。當線寬為 20 原子寬且以 40 原子間隔時 (如同在 14 奈米節點的情況),滿足這些要求需要無比的精密度和重複性控制。隨著電晶體在未來幾年將轉變為三維設計,蝕刻製程將面臨同步進行多重深度蝕刻及其他複雜度的新要求。
 
為了實現這類蝕刻精密度,光阻和硬罩材料不斷演進,除了提升解析度,還提供所需耐變性,以便在選擇性、輪廓控制和刻線邊緣粗糙度改善方面達到先進的圖案化。十年前,較大幾何結構所用的厚重有機聚合物光阻層 (約 500 奈米),因為光阻的總厚度減少 50%,且用於 193 奈米微影的新光阻製劑在電漿中呈現脆弱,更容易退化和變形,逐漸被多層光阻取代以強化強度。邊緣清晰度損失會使更高線寬密度和完整性難以實現,這個問題可以透過有機和金屬硬罩獲得解決。其中,應用材料公司開創了突破性的非晶系碳硬光罩技術。先進圖案化薄膜 (APF) 系列比光阻更堅固且具有粘性;此產品系列廣為業界運用在小型線寬和高深寬比的結構,且促使應用材料公司開發了自動對準雙圖案法製造流程。這一切都是因為此系列具備高蝕刻選擇性、優異的 CD 控制力以及微不足道的刻線邊緣粗糙度。用於填充包括電路的導孔和溝槽的製程也必須演變以實現無瑕疵沉積,但面臨的挑戰是其深寬比增加的同時,需要沉積到薄膜的孔口也必須縮小。為因應此狀況,化學氣相沉積也演變為逐步產生更多均勻薄膜。使用濺鍍沉積材料的物理氣相沉積已不斷地強化,採用將該技術擴展到 10 奈米節點的升溫處理來實現導孔側面和底部所需的覆蓋。
 
除了形成這些微觀的線寬,應用材料公司的製程也保持其物理完整性。部分能恢復和強化已被元件製造流程前置步驟削弱的晶格結構。其他 (例如,氧化去除) 製程能確保線寬表面未收汙染,可進行下一步驟。
 
應用材料公司檢驗和分析系統具備製程品質監控作用。隨著圖案化和幾何結構線寬的縮小,在早期技術節點處不構成問題的瑕疵已成為「殺手級」缺陷,或是重大的良率限制因素。應用材料公司已逐步提升其檢查系統的解析度和成像能力,實現多維成像並能在各種光線條件下運作。這些系統能在晶圓製程中配合運作,在元件製造流程的期間進行多次晶圓檢查,檢測和分析可能經由一次製程或其他來源造成的瑕疵。這些系統有助修正製程條件或設備,以盡量減少此類瑕疵的發生,幫助達到客戶期望的良率。

skip to main content

Patterning

Patterning is the backbone of scaling, which has reduced the size of the transistor to where it is today, in turn making modern electronic devices increasingly affordable. Consequently, patterning is also the driving force behind a multitude of advances in semiconductor manufacturing technologies.

In 1975, Gordon E. Moore, co-founder of Intel, observed that the number of components in integrated circuits had doubled every year since the invention of these circuits in 1958. He theorized that they would continue to do so for the next decade. His prediction was adopted by the semiconductor industry as the “roadmap” for research and development for high-volume production and remains true today, thanks in large part to patterning technology. It has enabled manufacturers to progressively scale down critical dimensions of circuits and their components, thereby increasing the functionality produced per unit area of silicon wafer.
 
Patterning uses the process of photolithography and optical masks to print patterns that guide the deposition or removal of material from the wafer at specific steps in the device fabrication process. At each layer of the device, material is deposited or removed in those areas not covered by the mask and then a new mask is used for the next layer. The wafer is repeatedly processed in this fashion, creating multiple layers of circuitry.
 
As demands have grown over the years for greater performance from electronic devices, chipmakers have responded by packing wafers with more of the transistors that drive that performance. In other words, patterned dimensions for transistors and interconnects have been shrinking. And as dimensions shrank, greater numbers of circuits could be made on each wafer, which made circuits cheaper while transistors became faster and consumed less power. As the cost per transistor dropped, chips with greater functionality could be fabricated at a cost that made the consumer end product readily affordable; this sustained decrease in cost has steadily fueled the growing sophistication of, and demand for, such products as mobile phones, tablets, netbooks, video games, and 3D TV.
 
To sustain generations of feature downscaling on the wafer, photolithography itself has had to evolve. Deep ultraviolet photolithographic wavelengths shortened from 248nm to 193nm, and as scaling continued to 45nm and below, immersion lithography replaced “dry” photolithography, enhancing resolution by 30-40% and enabling patterning at dimensions a fraction of the wavelength used in the process. Today, such techniques as double- and quadruple-patterning are being used to extend the resolution of immersion lithography. Double patterning is enabling device scaling to 22nm; quadruple patterning will enable 10nm geometries.
 

What role does Applied Materials play?

As a leader in semiconductor equipment manufacturing, Applied enables the transfer of the pattern into the device structure. Our systems make it possible for our customers to etch the masks used for the photolithography process; perform the deposition, etching, and related processes guided by the patterns on the wafer; and examine both masks and wafers to ensure high-quality patterning and corresponding on-wafer performance. Our systems and processes have progressively evolved to address the numerous challenges arising from shrinking pattern dimensions.
 
 
As patterns have become smaller and smaller, masks have become more complex to ensure accurate transfer of the pattern, and etching them has become correspondingly more advanced. Verifying that the mask is defect-free is imperative to avoid costly scrap caused by replicating a mask defect on the wafer, especially in the case of high-revenue-earning chips. With features shrinking and aspect ratios (ratio of diameter to depth) growing, on-wafer processes have had to meet increasingly challenging specifications as well. Optimizing ultimate device performance requires etch processes, for example, to produce precise profiles through a variety of film types, uniform feature width and spacing [known as critical dimension (CD) uniformity], and smooth edges [i.e., no line edge roughness (LER)]. This performance must be replicated with exacting precision over the entire wafer, and repeated on thousands of wafers at a time. When features are 20 atoms wide and spaced 40 atoms apart—as will be the case at the 14nm node—meeting these demands requires extraordinary precision and repeatability control. As transistors transition to 3D designs in the next few years, etch processes will face new requirements for simultaneous multi-depth etching and other complexities.
 
To make this type of etch precision feasible, photoresist and hard mask materials have been evolving to enhance resolution and provide the robustness necessary to enable advanced patterning in terms of selectivity, profile control, and LER improvement. Thick organic polymer photoresist layers (~500nm) used at the larger geometries a decade ago were gradually replaced by multilayer resists for enhanced strength as the total thickness of the resist decreased by 50% and new resist formulations for 193nm lithography proved fragile and more susceptible to degradation and deformation in plasma. This loss of edge definition made higher feature density and integrity more difficult to achieve, problems that organic and metal hard masks could resolve. Of these, Applied pioneered breakthrough amorphous carbon hard mask technology. More robust and adhesive than photoresist, this family of advanced patterning films (APF) is widely used in the industry for small features and high aspect ratio structures, and is an enabler of Applied’s pioneering development of self-aligned double patterning sequences, which benefit from its high etch selectivity, excellent CD control, and negligible LER. Processes used for filling the vias and trenches that comprise the circuits have also had to evolve to enable defect-free deposition. The challenge faced is that the apertures into which film must be deposited have been shrinking while their aspect ratio has been increasing. In response, chemical vapor deposition has evolved to produce progressively more conformal films. Physical vapor deposition, by which material is deposited by sputtering, has been successively enhanced to achieve the required coverage of the sides and bottoms of the vias, using a thermal process that extends the technology to the 10nm node.
 
Besides forming these microscopic features, Applied Materials’ processes also preserve their physical integrity. Some restore and strengthen crystal lattice structures that have been weakened by preceding steps in the device fabrication sequence. Others (e.g., oxidation removal) ensure that the surfaces of the feature are pristine for the next step.
 
Process quality monitoring is the role of Applied Materials’ inspection and analysis systems. As patterning and feature geometries have shrunk, defects that would not have been problematic at earlier technology nodes have become “killer” defects, or substantial yield limiters. Applied has progressively improved resolution and imaging capability of its inspection systems, enabling multi-dimensional imaging and access to a wide range of light conditions. These systems, which can operate in-line with on-wafer processes, examine wafers multiple times during the device fabrication sequence to detect and analyze defects that may have been introduced by a process or another source. They facilitate prompt correction of process conditions or equipment to minimize occurrence of such defects, helping to achieve the customer’s desired yields.