skip to main content

运算工艺控制 解决方案 服务中国晶圆制造厂

By David Lammers

当前,中国提出新建更精密半导体晶圆制造厂的计划,这也恰逢应用 材料公司等设备和服务提供商正在开发新的数据收集和分析方式。新 推出的运算工艺控制 (CPC) 解决方案将领域专业知识 (SME) 与先进 分析相结合,在提供支持方面,能切实满足这些中国公司的需求,因 为在中国客户开办晶圆厂的地区,相关基础设施大部分都是从零开始 建设。

应用材料公司全球服务事业部 (AGS) 服务产品开发副总裁 Kirk Hasserjian 表 示,目前中国的情况结合了两个因素 : 其一,中国是一个大国,很多城市都在 建造或计划建造晶圆厂 ;其二,中国制 造商越来越难以找到和招聘有足够经验 的工程师来满足其不断增长的要求。

“对这些晶圆厂来 说,这带来了一 个非常好的机会,可以充分利用我们的 技术服务和远程访问功 能。我们可以 带来增值服务产品,帮助公司加快提 升 良 率。”Hasserjian 如 是 说。 他 将 在本月的中国国际半导体工业技术展 (SEMICON China) 上发表主题演讲 [1].

图 1 :晶圆制造厂数据采集量的激增为提高生产良率创造了机会。(资料来源 :VLSI Research 和应用材料公司)

半导体制造发展经历多个技术 拐 点,导致数据量激 增(见图 1)。Hasserjian 表示, 要充分利用这些数 据,中国公司可采用配备应用材料公司 现场服务型服务器 (FSS) 的 CPC 解决 方案并从中受益,该服务器安装在客户 的晶圆厂,并与应用材料公司的机组相 连(见图 2)。应用材料公司的专家可 通过这些服务器,利用第三方服务商管 理的安全连接,远程访问 FSS 连接的 机床,从而大大缩短解决问题的时间, 程连接,那么就可以迅速召集全球各地 的专家参与会诊。” 减少现场故障排查所需的人力物力。他 谈到 :“从服务技术的角度来看,如果 将客户的机床连接到 FSS 上并建立远 程连接,那么就可以迅速召集全球各地 的专家参与会诊。”

图 2. 由应用材料公司工艺和设备专业知识提供支持的现场服务型服务器 (FSS),是运算工艺控制 (CPC) 实施的一个关键部分。 (资料来源:应用材料公司)

“客户对远程连接的数据安全性确 实有担忧,我们将通过备受认可的第三 方远程访问服务商的服务来解决这个问 题。”Hasserjian 谈到。他补充说,使用 第三方服务增加了一层保证 :客户的数 据以及应用材料公司的专有信息均由可 信中间方独立保护。Hasserjian 说 :“其 他设备供应商也采用这种远程访问解决 方案,我们都通过这种方法取得了成功。”

AGS 先进服务工程董事总经理 Mike Armacost 表示,半导体工厂生成的数 据量庞大,包括时间序列(踪迹)数据。 对于存储在晶圆厂的场内数据库和存储 在场外数据中心(可能有更大的算力) 的数据库,所面临的难题略有不同。

AGS 正与多家数据库公司合作,确 定如何存储和分析设备数据,并自动检 测设备行为的任何变化。Armacost 谈 到 :“这是当今各个制造行业的重点关 注领域。有许多创新的算法和数据结构, 只要与合适的 SME 配合,就可实现这 一点。我们特别关注利用设备相关知识 分析时间序列数据,以更好地预测和控 制机床性能。”

深度学习是其中一个密集研究的主 题。在深度学习中,神经网络通过筛 选已标记和未标记的数据来检测各个模 式。Hasserjian 谈到应用材料公司内 部正在开发包括深度学习在内的机器学 习技术,以分析各种数据类型,包括时 间序列数据(跟踪数据)。

应用材料公司顾问、密歇根大学机 械 工 程 系 副 研 究 员 James Moyne 表 示,深度学习是应用材料公司可用于检 测问题并提高良率的众多技术之一。

图 3. 运算工艺控制 (CPC) 利用先进数据分析技术及从机床、工艺和工厂基础设施收集的庞大数据集来加速提高良率。(资料来源 :应用材料公司)

“深度学习只是另一种算法,针对大数 据做了非常有针对性的设计,以便能够 分析庞大的数据集。但是,开发任何 解决方案都需要 SME。CPC 使我们能 够以结构化和可重用的方式将算力与 SME 相结合。”

Hasserjian 认为 :“ 应用材料公司 对设备设计和设备中所用的传感器有着 深入的了解。我们的机床是针对特定的 工艺和应用开发的,因此即便并不确切 知道每家客户具体采用的工艺技术,我 们对各个工序都有总体的了解。数据 分析不仅仅是算法,更是运用我们的 专业知识开展的一项分析,包括我们 在机床设计和工艺理解方面以及关于 传感器在腔室环境中的反应方式等专 业知识。这就是我们所说的运算工艺 控制 (CPC)。”(见图 3)。

随着企业转向采用尖端工艺,“技 术变得越来越复杂,工艺的利润越来 越薄,我们的客户正在寻求帮助来控 制这些机床并解决其中的一些技术问 题。”Hasserjian 谈到。“这推动着技 术服务的发展。我们想证明我们不只 是一家机床制造商,也是一家解决方 案提供商。CPC 是其中的重要组成部 分。”

AGS 产品营销总监李明伟表示, 半导体公司开始意识到必须权衡利 弊 :一方面,先进服务和远程分析能 将设备和良率保持在最优水平,因而 带来了价值 ;另一方面,这又会引起 数据安全方面的担忧。孰轻孰重?李 明伟认为,无论在中国,还是在全球 其他地方,这一问题的答案基本相同。 “我们必须证明,利远大于弊。过去 一年半的时间里,客户逐渐看到我们 由 CPC 解决方案支持的服务所能达到 的成效,与我们的合作意愿大大提高 了。”李说。

李明伟强调,应用材料公司对自 身设备了如指掌,因而在数据分析和 服务交付方面具有得天独厚的能力。 “CPC 的设计理念是,利用应用材料公 司的专有分析软件以及我们的工艺和 设备知识,帮助客户发挥大数据的威 力。”

如需更多信息,请联系Michael_D_Armacost@amat.com.

[1] Hasserjian 计划于 3 月 15 日星期四下 午 在中国上海国际半导体工业技术展 (SEMICON China) 的智能制造论坛上发表 主题演讲,题为“半导体行业智能制造大 数据分析”。

skip to main content

Computational Process Control Solutions to Service Fabs in China

By David Lammers

China’s initiatives to build more sophisticated greenfield semiconductor fabs come at a time when equipment and services suppliers such as Applied Materials are developing new ways to gather and analyze data. New computational process control (CPC) solutions, which combine subject matter expertise (SME) with advanced analytics, may be exactly what is needed to support Chinese companies as they start operations in locations where the fab infrastructure is largely built from scratch.

Kirk Hasserjian, corporate vice president of service product development at Applied Global Services (AGS), said the current situation in China combines two factors: it is a large country with fabs being built or planned in many different cities; and it’s becoming increasingly difficult for Chinese manufacturers to find and recruit enough experienced engineers to fill their growing requirements.

“That creates a very good opportunity for these fabs to take advantage of our technology-enabled services and remote access capabilities. We can bring value-added service products and help companies accelerate their yield ramps,” said Hasserjian, who will deliver a keynote address at this month’s SEMICON China show1.

Figure 1 - An explosion of data captured in fabs creates opportunities to improve production yields. (Source: VLSI Research and Applied Materials)

There is an explosion of data due to multiple technology inflection points in semiconductor manufacturing (see figure 1). To fully leverage such data, Hasserjian said Chinese companies would benefit from CPC solutions using an Applied field service server (FSS), which is installed in the customer’s fab and connected to the fleet of Applied tools (see figure 2). These servers enable Applied experts to remotely access the FSS-connected tools over secure connections managed by a third-party vendor, substantially improving time to problem resolution and reducing the need for on-site troubleshooting resources. “From a service technology standpoint, if we have the customer tools hooked up to an FSS and have a remote connection, we can get experts from around the world involved at a moment’s notice,” he said.

Figure 2 - A Field Service Server (FSS), supported by Applied process and equipment expertise, is a critical part of Computational Process Control (CPC) implementation. (Source: Applied Materials)

“Customers do have concerns about the security of their data over remote connections and we are addressing it by using highly-respected third-party remote access vendors,” Hasserjian said. He added that using a third party adds a layer of assurance that the customer’s data, as well as Applied’s proprietary information, are independently being protected by a trusted go-between. “This remote access solution has also been adopted by other equipment suppliers, and we all have had success with this approach,” Hasserjian said.

Mike Armacost, managing director of advanced services engineering at AGS, said semiconductor fabs generate large data sets, including time series (trace) data. The challenges are somewhat different for databases stored at a fab site, or in an off-site data center that might have more computing horsepower.

AGS is working with several database companies to determine how to store and analyze equipment data, and automate the process of detecting any changes in equipment behavior. “This is an area of focus today for a variety of manufacturing industries. There are a number of innovative algorithms and data structures which enable this, when coupled with the appropriate SME. In our case, we are particularly concerned about analysis of time series data with the contextual equipment knowledge to better predict and control tool performance,” Armacost said.

One topic of intense research is deep learning, in which neural networks sift through labeled and unlabeled data to detect patterns. Hasserjian said machine learning techniques, including deep learning, are being developed within Applied Materials to analyze various data types, including time series or trace data.

James Moyne, a consultant to Applied Materials and an associate research scientist in the Mechanical Engineering Department at the University of Michigan, said deep learning is one of many techniques that Applied can use to detect issues and boost yields. “Deep learning is just another algorithm, one that is very tailored to big data so that it can analyze very large data sets. But there will always be a need for SME to develop any solutions. CPC allows us to combine the algorithm power with SME in a structured and reusable manner.”

Figure 3 - Computational Process Control (CPC) uses advanced data analytics techniques and large data sets from tools, processes, and fab infrastructure to accelerate yield improvements.(Source: Applied Materials)

“Applied has in-depth knowledge of our equipment design and sensors used in the equipment. Our tools are developed for specific processes and applications so we have a general understanding of the various process steps, even though we do not have exact knowledge of each customer’s process technology,” Hasserjian said. “Data analytics is not just algorithms. It is analysis that uses the expertise we have from a tool design and process understanding standpoint, and how the sensors react in a chamber environment. This is what we refer to as computational process control (CPC)” (see figure 3)

As companies move to leading-edge processes, “the technologies are becoming so complex, and the process margins are getting so narrow, that our customers are looking for help to control the tools and address some of these technical issues,” Hasserjian said. “That is driving technology-enabled services. We want to demonstrate that we are not just a tool maker, but a solutions provider. CPC is a big part of that.”

Mingwei Li, director of product marketing at AGS, said semiconductor companies are starting to realize that they must evaluate the tradeoffs: the value that advanced services and remote analytics bring in terms of keeping equipment and yields at optimum levels, balanced against data security concerns. Li said the answer is essentially the same in China as in other parts of the world. “We have to demonstrate that the benefits significantly outweigh the customer concerns. Over the last year and a half, as customers see what can be achieved with our services supported by CPC solutions, they are far more willing to work with us,” Li said.

Li emphasized that Applied’s intimate knowledge of its equipment is what differentiates its ability to analyze data and deliver services. “The CPC concept is that with Applied’s proprietary analytics software, and our process and equipment knowledge, we can help our customers leverage big data.”

For additional information, contact Michael_D_Armacost@amat.com.

1Hasserjian’s keynote, “Big Data Analytics for Smart Manufacturing in the Semiconductor Industry” is planned for Thursday afternoon, March 15, during the Smart Manufacturing Forum at SEMICON China in Shanghai.