skip to main content

随着器件功耗的增加,氮化镓技术 正走向成熟

作者:Llew Vaughan-Edmunds


随着技术的发展,对功率的需求也在增加。氮化镓(GaN)等宽带隙(WBG)材料正在展示其作为新一代功率半导体骨干材料的潜力。这类材料功耗更低,性能却优于那些已趋成熟的硅器件。消费类充电器、数据中心、5G和电动汽车等应用代表着功率器件主要的增长市场,它们对器件有着相同的需求:更小的尺寸、更大的功率、更低的损耗。

化合物半导体材料氮化镓可满足所有这些需求,这将是其在未来几年得以重用的关键所在。与硅相比,氮化镓有着更出色的开关性能,开关过程中损失的热量更少,在较高的温度下也能更稳定地工作,使工程师能够制造更紧凑、更快速、更可靠的器件,同时减少对器件制冷的要求。

功率需求

智能手机

智能手机需要更大的功率,以更快的速度运行更多的应用程序,而目前的电池续航几乎无法维持一天。此外,标准人5瓦充电器充电速度极慢。智能手机生产商开始意识到消费者对快速充电的需求,并准备推出新一代的大功率充电器,提供高达65瓦的功率,能大幅缩短充电时间。使用基于氮化镓的高电子迁移率晶体管(HEMT)可将充电器的尺寸缩小一半,同时将功率提高到三倍,运行速度是硅基超结金属氧化物半导体场效应晶体管(SJMOSRET)的20倍。

数据中心

随着云计算、移动出行、物联网、机器学习和流媒体服务的发展,对大数据存储与计算处理的需求也大幅增加。因此,全球目前有700多万个数据中心在运行,耗电量超过200太瓦。这相当于2019年全球约2%的用电量,而产生的二氧化碳排放量则与全球航空业相当。在这其中,大约30%的电力用于这些设施的冷却。通过提高服务器效率,减少功率和热量损耗,可以节省大量能源,从而降低电力成本,同时减少这些设施的二氧化碳排放量。

服务器电源由一个功率因数校正(PFC)级(例如推挽电路)和一个谐振DC-DC级(LLC谐振转换器)组成。输出电压通常为12伏;不过由于高功率 CPU和专用GPU耗电更厉害,因此目前的趋势是向48伏电源发展。此外,更高的电压可将输电线路上的功耗最高减少到原来的16分之1。氮化镓技术可以让转换器的每一级都受益(图1)。对于功率因数校正级,其低电容和零反向恢复可以允许配置一个简单的推挽电路 ;对于 LLC转换器级,其更快的开关速度和更小的损耗使其可以采用更小的磁体和电容。此外,氮化镓技术使得在同步整流中死区时间最上,同时也也减少了了损耗。


图1.与现有的MOSFET设计相比,氮化镓晶体管可以大幅提高服务器主板的功率密度。(资料来源:GaN Systems,2020)

电动汽车车载充电器

电动汽车在迅猛发展,导致对更快的充电速度和更高的充电效率的需求也在增加。1996年,通用汽车公司发布了EV1电动汽车,采用16.5千瓦铅酸电池。该车的续航里程为70-90英里,充满电需要7.5小时。如今,特斯拉Model 3配备的是80千瓦锂离子电池,续航里程为310英里,使用特斯拉的V3超级充电桩,充满电只需35分钟。

车载充电器(OBC)布置在车内,通过电源转换对电池进行充电。它必须做到高效、轻便、可靠。目前常用的解决方案包括使用硅基超结金属氧化物半导体场效应晶体管(SJMOSFET)来调节、转换并向电池充电。它的尺寸大约为18英寸×25英寸,重量大概13磅,能能效约为94%。

新一代车载充电器将使用基于氮化镓的高电子迁移率晶体管 (HEMT) 取代 SJMOSFET,前者开关频率更高,从而可以缩小车载充电器中磁体、电容器和散热片的尺寸。这使整个车载充电器的尺寸和重量减少30-40%,而能效可接近97%。

不断增长的氮化镓市场

2019 年之前,氮化镓电源市场主要是在小众应用领域。但在去年,使用氮化镓技术的智能手机快速充电器(>28瓦)已经问世。其更小的外形尺寸、更高的效率和性价比,使之在手机以及笔记本电脑应用中备受青睐。氮化镓的主要应用是开关电源(SMPS),因为它可满足快速开关和高效率的需求。便携电源适配器(<100瓦)、服务器电源、车载充电器和无线充电预计是其主要的增长领域。我们现在看到,氮化镓技术开始在便携电源适配器中加速使用,一旦该技术在这一领域获得成功,我们预计它将会在更高功率、更为关键的一些应用领域得到应用,例如汽车和数据中心市场(图2)。


图2.氮化镓在电动汽车领域的应用取决于市场对其可靠性的信赖 ;氮化镓的市场化应用从消费类充电器的发展开始,并需要在大规模量产中持续进行工艺改进。(资料来源:© 2019 IHS Markit)

然而,硅材料尚未过时。SJMOSFET在市场上占据主导地位,是上述领域的首选技术。硅技术已非常成熟可靠,而且还将进一步发展。此外,设计师们在这类器件上有多年的经验 ;因此,不同的技术对应不同的市场细分,具体取决于系统的复杂程度。

如今,氮化镓正与用于开关电源的SJMOSFET、用于不间断电源的高速绝缘栅双极晶体管(IGBT)、用于电信领域的中压MOSFET以及用于服务器负载点稳压器和同步整流的低压MOSFET竞争。由于这些市场对价格极其敏感,氮化镓预计将首先在在高端领域推出(图3).


图3.氮化镓适用于高频电源,而碳化硅则适用于要求更高功率和鲁棒性的应用,例如电机驱动和工业电源。随着宽带隙器件在市场上的地位越来越稳固,在技术采用上将变得更加明确。(资料来源 :Yole Développement)

氮化镓器件制造考虑因素

制造氮化镓 HEMT 所涉及的每一道工序都必须非常精确,以获得最佳的器件性能和可靠性。宽带隙器件的快速开关、高功率密度和高电压击穿,要求极高质量的外延层和电介质沉积,以及精确的刻蚀和金属沉积。

金属有机化学气相沉积(MOCVD)

MOCVD在衬底上生长各种外延层,对氮化镓器件的制造至关重要。缺陷密度、晶圆内均匀性和晶圆到晶圆的可重复性是MOCVD开发的关键考虑因素,特别是过渡到200mm时。鉴于氮化镓和硅在膨胀过程中不同的晶格常数和热系数,在硅上生长外延氮化镓以形成稳定可靠的HEMT,这从超晶格结构和应力控制方面来说是一个非常具有挑战性的工艺。

刻蚀

刻蚀也是制造氮化镓器件的关键工艺。这里存在两个明显的难题,一个是氮化镓/铝镓氮的高选择比,另一个是p型氮化镓刻蚀可能存在铝镓氮的过度刻蚀,导致表面粗糙,从而降低表面电阻。此外,带有凹陷栅极的HEMT需要一定的铝镓氮厚度,这一厚度必须是精确控制且高度可重复的。原子层精度和先进的工艺终点监测至关重要。

化学气相沉积(CVD)

氮化镓HEMT结构通常具有多层场板,以最大限度减少栅极与漏极接触处的电压峰值应力和动态RDS(on)。二氧化硅和氮化硅等薄膜用作电介质层。这些薄膜必须足够优质,以求最大限度减少薄膜污染,减少高温下的热降解,同时改善薄膜化学计量比。此外,必须控制薄膜应力以避免晶圆弯曲。这可以通过调整射频功率和其他工艺参数来实现。

氮化硅的表面钝化已被证明可以产生更高的载流子浓度,以便改善二维电子气的电导率,从而提高器件性能。三氧化二铝等替代材料通过原子层沉积来提高器件性能。

物理气相沉积 (PVD) 和电镀

氮化镓 HEMT 是横向器件,具有非常高的电流密度,因此大部分损耗发生在晶粒顶部。在普通的分立封装中,晶粒的底部会连接到铜引线框架上。然而,硅衬底的导热系数相对较低,这导致器件的工作结温较高。过于接近最大结温工作会对可靠性和温度相关特性(例如RDS(ON))产生不利影响。因此,使热传导远离晶粒是至关重要的。降低欧姆接触电阻的离子注入技术有助于改善散热。此外,在晶粒顶部沉积厚铜可提高热容量和热导率,同时有利于烧结铜引线框架和夹线。这提高了功率循环的可靠性,并显著降低了因热膨胀系数不匹配而产生的机械应力。

结论

随着能源需求的增加,对更高能效的追求正促使人们对氮化镓产生越来越大的兴趣,希望将其作为硅基半导体的替代材料,出现在适配器、5G、数据中心和电动汽车充电器等高功率、高效率应用中。然而,制造氮化镓器件需要极高质量的薄膜以及极其精密的外延、电介质和金属沉积以及刻蚀等工艺。在2019之前,氮化镓的市场非常有限,不过现在来看,氮化镓已在便携电源适配器应用中占据了一席之地,一旦该技术的可靠性得到确切验证,汽车和数据中心的应用有望随之而来。

欲了解更多信息,请联系 llew_vaughan-edmunds@amat.com

Llewellyn Vaughan-Edmunds,
电源技术战略营销总监

skip to main content

GaN Technology is Coming of Age as Power Consumption Grows

By Llew Vaughan-Edmunds


As technology evolves, so does the demand for more power. Wide bandgap (WBG) materials such as gallium nitride (GaN) are demonstrating their potential as the backbone of next-generation power semiconductors. They use less power and deliver performance superior to that of well-established silicon devices. Such applications as consumer chargers, data centers, 5G, and electric vehicles are key growth markets with the same requirements: smaller size, more power, less loss.

The compound semiconductor GaN fulfills all of these, which will be the key to its adoption in coming years. Compared to silicon, GaN offers superior switching performance, loses less heat energy during switching, and can function with increased stability at higher temperatures, enabling engineers to build more compact, faster, and more reliable devices while reducing the need for cooling mechanisms.

THE DEMAND FOR POWER

Smartphones

As smartphones become more power hungry in order to run multiple apps at faster speeds, battery life barely lasts the day. Moreover, a standard 5W charger charges extremely slowly. Smartphone manufacturers are starting to realize the consumer need for fast charging and are readying a new generation of larger chargers that deliver up to 65W to significantly reduce charge time. Using GaN-based high-electron-mobility transistors (HEMTs) can halve the size of the charger while tripling its power and enabling it to run up to 20 times faster than silicon-based superjunction MOSFET (SJMOSFET) designs.

Data Centers

The growth of cloud computing, mobility, IoT, machine learning, and streaming services has created a huge need for more data to be stored and computed. As a result, more than 7 million data centers exist today that consume more than 200TW of power. This is equivalent to approximately 2% of the global electricity consumed in 2019 and equates to the same carbon dioxide emissions as the global aviation industry. Approximately 30% of the electricity is used to cool these facilities. By improving server efficiency and reducing power and heat losses, a significant amount of energy could be saved, reducing both electricity costs and the facility’s carbon dioxide footprint.

Server power supplies consist of a power-factor correction (PFC) stage (e.g., totem pole) and a resonant DC-DC stage (LLC resonant converter). The output voltage is usually 12V; however, the trend is towards 48V, as power-hungry CPUs and specialized GPUs demand more power. Also, the higher voltage reduces power losses up to 16 times in distribution rails. GaN can benefit each stage of the converter (Figure 1). For the PFC stage, its low capacitance and zero reverse recovery allow for a simple totem-pole configuration; for the LLC converter stage its faster switching and smaller losses make possible smaller magnetics and capacitors. Minimal dead times in synchronous rectification using GaN also reduces losses.


Figure 1. GaN transistors can substantially increase the power density of server boards over that of existing MOSFET designs. (Source: GaN Systems, 2020)

Electric Vehicle On-Board Chargers

The proliferation of electric vehicles is contributing to the demand for faster charging and higher efficiencies. In 1996, General Motors released the EV1, using a 16.5kW lead acid battery. Its range was 70–90 miles and it took 7.5 hours to charge. Today, the Tesla Model 3 has a 80kW lithium-ion battery with a range of 310 miles and a charging time of 35 minutes using Tesla’s V3 Super Charger.

The on-board charger (OBC) is located within the car and converts and charges the battery from a power source. It must be highly efficient, lightweight, and reliable. Today’s solution typically consists of using silicon SJMOSFETs to condition, convert, and transfer the power into the battery. It’s roughly 18 inches by 25 inches, weighs close to 13 pounds, and has an efficiency of approximately 94%.

Next-generation OBCs are replacing SJMOSFETs with GaN high-electron-mobility transitors (HEMTs) whose higher switching frequency reduces the size of the magnetics, capacitors, and heatsinks in the system. This reduces the overall system size and weight by 30–40%, while achieving efficiencies close to 97%.

THE GROWING MARKET FOR GaN

Before 2019, the GaN power market was primarily in niche applications. In the last year, however, GaN has appeared in fast chargers (>28W) sold with smartphones. Its smaller form factor, high efficiency, and cost-competitiveness for this application make it highly desirable for phones and also for laptop computers. Key applications for GaN are switch-mode power supplies (SMPS) because they allow fast switching and demand high efficiency. The main growth segments are expected to be travel adaptors (<100W), server power, OBCs, and wireless charging. We are now seeing the initial ramp of GaN in travel adaptors, and once the technology becomes trusted in the field, we expect it will be adopted into higher-power, more critical applications such as the automotive and data center markets (Figure 2).


Figure 2. GaN market adoption in electric vehicles awaits reliability confidence; this will evolve from consumer chargers and process improvements in high-volume manufacturing. (Source: © 2019 IHS Markit)

Silicon is not, however, on its way out. SJMOSFETs dominate the market and are the choice technology in the segments cited above. Silicon technology is well established and trusted, and it will evolve still further. Additionally, designers have years of experience working with these devices; therefore, segmentation of technologies can be expected, depending on the sophistication of the system.

Today, GaN is competing against SJMOSFETs for SMPS, high-speed insulated-gate bipolar transistors (IGBTs) for uninterrupted power supplies, medium-voltage MOSFETs for telecommunications, and low-voltage MOSFETs for server point-of-load voltage regulators and synchronous rectification. As these markets are extremely price sensitive, GaN is expected to be introduced first in the high-end segments (Figure 3).


Figure 3. GaN is suited for high-frequency power supplies, while SiC is appropriate for applications requiring higher power and robustness, such as motor drives and industrial power. As WBG devices become better established in the market, technology adoption will become more defined. (Source: Yole Développement)

GaN DEVICE MANUFACTURING CONSIDERATIONS

Each process involved in manufacturing GaN HEMTs must be very precise to achieve the best device performance and reliability. The fast switching, high power density, and high voltage breakdown of WBG devices demand extremely high-quality epi layers and dielectric deposition with precise etching and metal deposition.

MOCVD

MOCVD is critical in creating the GaN device as it grows the various epi layers above the substrate. Defect density, within-wafer uniformity, and wafer-to-wafer repeatability are key considerations in MOCVD development, especially when transitioning to 200mm. Given the different lattice constants and thermal coefficients during expansion of GaN and silicon, growing epitaxial GaN on silicon to create stable and reliable HEMTs is a challenging process in super lattice structures and stress management.

Etch

Etching is also a critical process in manufacturing GaN devices. Two notable challenges are the high selectivity of GaN/AlGaN and the potential for an over-etch on the AlGaN from the p-GaN etch to cause roughness on the surface, which reduces sheet resistance. Additionally, HEMTs with recessed gates require a certain AlGaN thickness, which must be well controlled and highly repeatable. Atomic-layer precision and advanced endpoint monitoring are essential.

CVD

The GaN HEMT structure typically has multi-layer field plates to minimize voltage peak stresses at gate-drain contact and dynamic RDS(on). Films such as SiO2 and SiN are used as dielectrics. These must be of the highest quality to minimize film contamination and reduce thermal degradation at elevated temperatures while improving film stoichiometry. In addition, film stress must be controlled to avoid wafer bowing. This can be achieved through RF power among other process parameters.

Surface passivation of SiN has been proven to improve two-dimensional electron gas conductivity by creating higher carrier concentration, which in turn improves device performance. Alternative materials, such as Al203, use atomic layer deposition to improve device performance.

PVD and Plating

GaN HEMTs are lateral devices with a very high current density, so most of the losses happen at the top of the die. In a normal discrete package, the bottom of the die would be attached to the copper lead frame. However, the silicon substrate has a relatively low thermal conductivity, which results in a higher operating junction temperature of the device. Operating too close to the maximum junction temperature adversely affects reliability and temperature-dependent characteristics such as RDS(ON). Therefore, it is crucial to promote heat transfer away from the die. Implant techniques that reduce the resistance of the ohmic contact help improve heat dissipation. Also, depositing thick copper on the top of the die increases thermal capacity and conductivity, while allowing for the possibility of sintering copper lead frames and clips. This improves reliability in power cycling and significantly reduces mechanical stress resulting from mismatched coefficients of thermal expansion.

CONCLUSION

As energy demands rise, the search for greater power efficiency is spurring growing interest in GaN as a successor to silicon semiconductors in high-power, high-efficiency applications such as adaptors, 5G, data centers, and electric vehicle chargers. However, manufacturing GaN devices demands exceptional film quality and a high degree of process precision in epitaxy, dielectric and metal deposition, and etch. While its market was very limited before 2019, GaN is now taking hold in travel adaptors, with automotive and data center applications expected to follow once the reliability of the technology has been firmly established.

For additional information, contact llew_vaughan-edmunds@amat.com

Llewellyn Vaughan-Edmunds, Director of Strategic Marketing for Power Technologies