skip to main content

将工厂质量 提升至新的高度

作者: Selim Nahas


应用材料公司正在开发一项产品质量改进策略,以一致和自动化的方式汇聚质量数据,并将结果映射到故障模式和影响分析(FMEA)系统中,由该系统为用户提供操作建议。

随着工厂自动化系统的应用增长和演变,大多数晶圆厂都发现,现在自己手边有大量的生产数据,但这些数据并未到得到很好的理解,也没有进行优先区分或整合。因此,这些数据很大程度并未于决策。

这种缺乏整合的情况,在提高产品质量方面产生了两个基本问题。第一,对质量的观测仍然是一项人工作业。第二,相关数据不能用于实时决策来减少缺陷。

为了克服这些问题,应用材料公司提出了一项策略,将通常没有很好精简整合的关键制造原则统一起来。检测是这一策略的核心,并与持续改进和风险管理的方法紧密相连。此外,应用材料公司还提出了一项支持快速准确审核的归档策略,以达到合规目的。

在竞争激烈的半导体行业,最大限度降低生产成本至关重要。废品是销货成本(COGS)的重要来源。降低销货成本以及实现器件制造零缺陷率是重中之重,因此以新的端到端质量原则对待晶圆厂数据就至关重要。能够快速、准确识别不合格在制品(WIP),是减少不合格在制品的关键,也是实现更快、更有效决策的关键(图 1)。


图1.顶部的图表显示了新产品引进对销货成本的影响。实现从大多数制造商目前做到的1.0ppm到零缺陷,将需要广泛的自动化和过程控制能力。

不过,如果你问自动化专业人员有多少数据实际用于决策,大多数人会说在5-10%之间。很多情况下,人们都知道,只要有特定的结构并达到一定的访问速度,就可以发挥数据集的价值,但其庞大的数据量却带来了根本性的难题。这是因为这些系统有许多变量元素,这类元素必须实时利用高速数据来协同工作。从根本上讲,这意味着我们现在必须着眼于分布式架构和新的算法。

让每一个信号都被测到

在过去的半年里,应用材料公司的一个团队一直在开发 Applied SmartFactory®自动化异常状况处理平台。这个专业系统可实时解读现有的晶圆数据,实现以更大力度检测异常状况。这样做的目的是让每一个信号都能被检测到,形成决策,最终带来行动。这种结构化方法将成为未来工厂系统运用人工智能/机器学习(AI/ML)原理的基础。

应用材料公司团队的工作基于这样一个事实,即大多数计算机集成制造(CIM)解决方案通常以出错代码和消息的形式显示成千上万的信号。然而,这些信号往往被忽略,因为(1)它们没有落脚点,(2)它们往往是模糊的,(3)在基础设计中并未完整考虑到它们的影响。

一个设计优良的系统会考虑制造环境中信号和措施的相互依赖关系,使用户能够有效地对信号进行关联。通过关联这些数据,用户可以专注于真正关乎产品质量的因素。

由于一个晶圆厂可能需要维护3万到15万张统计过程控制(SPC)图,并且故障检测图轻松就可以突破100万,因此,任何能够减少所需图表数量、同时保持或提高预期质量的策略都是有价值的。不过这说起来容易做起来难,需要先进的专业系统规则。

客户需要更高的质量

客户日益严格的要求推动了对更高质量的需求。例如,汽车行业是增长最快的行业之一,估计未来两年的复合年增长率达到9-11%。在过去五年中,汽车中使用的半导体器件数量增加了两倍,现在约22%的汽车保修期内退货都是由于电子器件。这一增长带来了质量要求方面的巨大变化,因为半导体成就了汽车厂商梦寐以求为客户配备的先进功能。

此外,制造汽车器件往往需要新的材料和大量的技术文档,因为这些器件将在恶劣的环境条件下工作多年(图2)。


图2.需要一个有效的归档策略,有助于对两年后在汽车和其他应用中可能发生的现场退货进行审核。

例如,约80%的汽车用器件是在200mm 或以下的生产线上制造的,碳化硅等新材料越来越受到青睐。不过碳化硅晶圆没有300mm尺寸的,通常也没有200mm尺寸的,因此迎接这些高质量挑战的任务落在了拥有老一代设备和系统的晶圆厂身上。

将晶圆测量与传感器轨迹相关联

定义一个将晶圆测量与传感器轨迹数据相关联的系统(例如,虚拟量测),需要强调这种关系的时间点和结构。应用材料公司正在开展大量的活动来剖析这些原则,希望能应用预测式维护保养(PdM)原则和增强采样策略。

应用材料公司团队正在开发一种方法,对通过晶圆测量获取的数据进行结构分析、整合和诠释,以实现更高的质量。这就需要定义每项测量,使其与各自的工艺配方(recipe)相一致。这也意味着系统将不再以离散的方式看待各道工序,而是将多道工序解读为与各种制造属性的单一相互依赖关系。因此,我们将不再基于单张图表来决策,而是评估导致当前测量值的所有工序及各自对差异的影响。

这个项目源于应用材料公司在构建工艺和设备FMEA系统中所获得的专业经验,该系统的构建过程表明,高质量的决策所需的变量数量超出了人类认知能力的范围。此外,可以应用某些实时分析技术,在来自故障检测和分类(FDC)系统和SPC的数据中寻找模式,并将其映射为人类可利用的信息,从而实现自动化操作。

将统计过程控制与故障检测合为一体

首先,我们必须定义一种关系来建立因果逻辑。紧接着必须引入减少变异性的能力,以提高用于关联的数据集的质量。第一项要求以三个基本原则为前提。(1)必须找出相关的关键传感器参必须找出相关的关键传感器参数用于对照在线测量。(2)决定这些传感器结果采用UVA还是MVA格式。(3)UVA、MVA和在线SPC数据的自动实时比较所带来的数据透视性可提高检测水平。例如,图3显示了包含站点层面分析数据的在线SPC图表结果以及传统的均值和EWMA统计。蓝色和红色的点代表在传统的SPC测量所获得的数据集范围内未能通过专有的方差统计检验的站点层面错误。将这些结果与UVA和MVA图表相比较,要比传统的汇总统计更有意义。图4显示了一组晶圆样品上各站点的变异性。这些结果被映射到一个物理坐标系中,以在样本中寻找意义。


图3.该SPC图显示了在站点层面分析的数据结果未能通过方差统计检验。蓝色的方块代表失败的变化率。


图4.该样本显示了17个站点的测量结果。红色表示将过多变化强加到测量统计中的站点。

这些数据必须经过转换才能相关联,因为虽然SPC和FDC(故障检测和分类)系统提供了一种合理的方法来检测偏差,但对于变异的根本原因它们几乎无法洞察。测量的异常状况和模式映射将对故障的来源提供更有效的洞察。SPC站点间结果与FDC结果的偏离更细致地表明,存在某些变化。这一偏差也会记录在用于检测的SPC中。如果由于采样而无法进行在线测量,我们可在一定程度上依靠FDC结果。

数据中的症状

通常晶圆厂运行的SPC和FDC在方式上存在一些共同的缺陷。例如,一张由12到40个原始数据站点组成的SPC图表,可以用目测的变化模式来解释根本原因。虽然这不是一个新认知,但它还没有进入大多数审查SPC数据的质量体系。能够增强这种能力的指导原则通常存在于单独的良率管理系统(YMS)和缺陷管理系统(DMS)中,它们试图为晶圆缺陷模式赋予意义,以确定缺陷的来源。

同时,对于故障检测,我们通常会设置限值来监测警报,并了解系统在给定工艺配方的标称条件下如何运行。但UVA限值范围内的变化对于将目测结果与传感器数据相关联的策略是有意义的。虽然使用自动化系统能够实现实时分配诊断,但人工很难足够迅速地识别并减轻晶圆风险。

必须承认的是,对用于解释上下限和行动的数据设定界限总是具有挑战性的。例如,改变设备零部件类型和供应商这样的设备干预,就会导致变化。此外,不同的器件因为具有不同的拓扑结构,往往会在同一工艺配方下形成自身的变化。诀窍是辨别出适当的时间段以及要监测的事件和传感器子集,以了解特定产品和配方的工艺的实际能力。这必须是一项自动化的工作,否则将无法扩展以满足晶圆厂更广泛的需求。如前所述,它必须运用自动化手段参照SPC数据进行持续验证。


图5.该工艺配方图显示了传感器轨迹数据,一个集成系统将不断地把该数据与图3和图4所示的SPC图相关联。

信息共享敏感度和其他问题

可用于解决某些问题的技术也必须对信息共享(IP)事宜保持敏感。希望在整个企业中应用机器希望在整个企业中应用机器学习和人工智能自动化功能的晶圆厂将需要确保其供应商的竞业禁止协议/保密协议得到遵守。这是必要的,因为将生产线上的SPC数据与故障检测数据相结合的策略不可避免地还必须考虑来自对手供应商的材料。

这一点历来为开发这样的系统设置了许多障碍。但是,为了向更高的质量迈进,我们必须在满足隐私要求的同时提供相关信息,以便在晶圆厂车间做出适当的决策。这种决策的一个应用场景是辨别测量故障是当前设备组还是上游设备组的产物。

在晶圆厂设施中,信息的无序是一大难题。相对于测量一个晶圆或一批晶圆,制造操作的顺序对于数据解释具有重要意义。另外一项难题是我们行业中经常出现的高混/低量问题。

单是在产品变化、预防性维护保养、化学变化和腔室匹配之间进行分类就会非常困难。因此,如果我们要做到高准确度识别设备何时出现异常漂移或出现渐进性故障,就需要了解所有这些方面。

展望

应用材料公司正在推行一项举措,将SPC和FDC数据以一致而自动化的方式结合起来,然后将结果映射到FMEA系统中,为用户提供操作建议。这一举措是开发未来晶圆厂人工智能运用系统的第一步。目前,该系统可被视为解决数据结构和变化问题的先进专业系统。

前进的道路越来越清晰,在晶圆厂设施中开展的测试也开始显示出可喜的结果。接下来我们将积累更多的经验,并最终扩展到晶圆厂设施的其他部分包括电学测试。

 

Selim Nahas 是应用材料公司自动化工艺质量部的负责人。欲了解更多信息,请联系 selim_nahas@amat.com

skip to main content

Taking Factory Quality To The Next Level

By Selim Nahas


Applied Materials is developing a quality improvement strategy that combines quality data in a cohesive and automated manner and maps the results into a Failure Mode and Effects Analysis (FMEA) system that provides users with recommended actions.

Given the growth and evolution of factory automation systems, most fabs now find themselves with a vast amount of production data that is not well understood, prioritized, or integrated. Consequently, the data is largely unused for decision-making.

This lack of integration has led to two fundamental problems when it comes to improving product quality. First, visibility into quality remains a manual exercise. Second, the data cannot be used in real-time decision-making to reduce defects.

To overcome these issues, Applied Materials is proposing a strategy that aligns key manufacturing principles that are typically not well-streamlined. Detection is at the heart of this strategy, closely tied to the methods of continuous improvement and risk management. In addition, an archiving strategy that allows for rapid and accurate auditability for compliance purposes is also proposed.

In the intensely competitive semiconductor industry, minimizing production costs is critical. Scrap is a significant contributor to the cost of goods sold (COGS). Reducing COGS and achieving zero defects in device manufacturing are major priorities, so a new approach to factory data that uses end-to-end quality principles is essential. The ability to quickly and accurately identify non-conforming work-in-process (WIP) is also key to reducing it, and to enabling faster and more effective decision-making (figure 1).


Figure 1. The chart at the top shows the impact new product introduction has on COGS. Moving from 1.0ppm— where most manufacturers perform today—to a zero-defect capability will require extensive automation and process control capabilities.

However, if you ask an automation professional how much data is actually used for decision-making, most will contend it is somewhere between 5–10%. In many cases, it is well understood that there is value to be derived from the data set—provided a certain structure and access speed can be obtained—but its sheer volume poses a fundamental challenge. That is because these systems have numerous moving parts that must work cohesively, using highspeed data in real time. Fundamentally, this means we must now look toward distributed architectures and new algorithms.

A VOICE FOR EVERY SIGNAL

Over the last six months, an Applied Materials team has been developing the Applied SmartFactory® Automated Anomaly Handling platform. This expert system interprets existing wafer data in real time to enable a greater degree of anomaly detection. The intention is to give a voice to every signal, in the form of a decision that ultimately leads to an action. This structured approach will serve as the basis for enabling future factory systems to use artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) principles.

The Applied team’s work uses the fact that most computer-integrated manufacturing (CIM) solutions typically show thousands of signals in the form of error codes and messages. However, these are often ignored because (1) they have no landing point, (2) they are often ambiguous, and (3) their full implications were not considered in the fundamental design.

A well-designed system considers the interdependencies of signals and measures within a manufacturing environment, allowing users to correlate signals effectively. By correlating such data, users can focus on the elements that truly matter to quality.

Because a fab may maintain somewhere between 30,000 and 150,000 statistical process control (SPC) charts and can easily have more than a million fault detection charts, any strategy that reduces the number of charts required while retaining or raising the expected quality would be valuable. This is more easily said than done, however, and requires advanced expert system principles.

CUSTOMERS DEMAND HIGHER QUALITY

The need for higher quality is driven by increasingly stringent customer requirements. The automotive sector, for example, is the fastest growing one with an estimated compound annual growth rate (CAGR) of 9–11% over the next two years. The number of semiconductor devices used in vehicles has tripled over the past five years, and about 22% of automotive warranty returns are now electronic in nature. All this growth has brought about a quantum change in quality requirements, because semiconductors make possible the advanced features automakers are seeking for their customers.

In addition, fabricating automotive devices often requires new materials and extensive documentation because these devices will be operating in harsh environmental conditions over many years (figure 2).


Figure 2. An effective archiving strategy is required to help audit future field returns that can occur two years later in automotive and other applications.

For example, approximately 80% of devices for automotive uses are manufactured on a 200mm line or below, and new materials such as silicon carbide (SiC) are increasingly favored. However, SiC wafers are not available in 300mm sizes, and often not in 200mm, so these heightened quality challenges are falling upon fabs with older generations of equipment and systems.

CORRELATING WAFER MEASUREMENTS WITH SENSOR TRACES

Defining a system that correlates wafer measurements against sensor trace data (e.g., virtual metrology) requires emphasizing the timing and structure of this relationship. Applied Materials is pursuing numerous activities to profile these principles with the intention of applying predictive maintenance (PdM) principles and augmenting sampling strategies.

The Applied team is developing an approach to structure, integrate, and interpret data coming from wafer measurements with the goal of achieving higher quality. This requires defining each measurement to align with its respective recipe. It also means systems will no longer look at individual process steps in a discrete fashion but rather will interpret multiple process steps as the singular interdependent relationship of various manufacturing attributes. As a result, we will no longer decide based on a single chart, but instead evaluate all the process steps that led to the current measurement and their contribution(s) to variance.

This project emerged from the expertise Applied Materials has gained by building process and equipment FMEAs, where it became clear that the number of variables required for high-quality decision-making exceeds the capacity of human cognitive ability. In addition, certain analytic real-time techniques can be applied to look for patterns in the data coming from FDC and SPC and map them to something humans can use as input to automate actions.

UNIFYING STATISTICAL PROCESS CONTROL AND FAULT DETECTION

First, we must define a relationship to establish cause and effect. This must be closely followed by introducing variability-reduction capabilities to raise the quality of the data set used for correlation. The primary requirement is predicated on three fundamental principles: (1) The critical sensor parameters of interest must be identified to reference against the inline measurement. (2) the decision to use these sensor results in either a UVA or MVA format. (3) the real-time comparison of UVA, MVA and inline SPC data in an automated manner will provide visibility into enhanced detection. For example, figure 3 shows the results of an inline SPC chart with data analyzed at the site level along with the traditional mean and EWMA statistics. The blue and red points represent failures at the site level that failed a proprietary statistical test of variance within the data set from the traditional SPC measurements. Comparing these results to UVA and MVA charts will be more meaningful than a traditional summary statistic. Figure 4 shows variability by site on a set of wafer samples. These results are mapped against a physical coordinate system to look for meaning in the pattern.


Figure 3. This SPC chart shows the results of data analyzed at the site level that failed a statistical test of variation. The blue squares represent failed rate of change.


Figure 4. This sample shows 17 site measurements. The red color indicates the sites that are imposing excessive variation into the measurement statistic.

The data must be transformed to be correlated, because while SPC and fault detection and classification (FDC) systems offer a reasonable way to detect deviations, they offer little insight into the root cause of variation. Measured anomalies and pattern mapping will provide more effective insight into the source of failures. A diversion of results between SPC sites and FDC results is a granular indication that something has changed. The delta is also charted in SPC to be used for detection. In the event that a inline measurement is not available due to sampling, we can rely to some degree on the FDC results.

SYMPTOMS WITHIN THE DATA

There are common flaws in the ways SPC and FDC are typically run in a facility. For example, with an SPC chart comprising between 12 and 40 raw data sites, the pattern of variation by sight can be used to interpret root cause. While this is not a new concept, it has not made its way into most quality systems that review SPC data. Guiding principles that would enhance this capability are typically found in separate yield management systems (YMS) and defect management systems (DMS), which attempt to assign meaning to a wafer defect pattern to identify its sources.

With fault detection, meanwhile, we typically set limits to monitor alarms and understand how a system runs under nominal conditions for a given recipe. But variation within UVA limits is meaningful to the strategy of correlating sight measurements with sensor data. While the ability to assign a diagnosis in real time can be achieved using an automated system, a human would be hard-pressed to identify and mitigate risk to wafers quickly enough.

It must be acknowledged that setting boundaries on the data used to interpret limits and actions is always challenging. For example, equipment interventions, such as changing part types and vendors for equipment components, can result in variations. Also, different devices, having different topographies, tend to lend variations of their own for the same recipe. The secret is to discern the appropriate period of time and events and subset of sensors to monitor and understand the actual capabilities of the process for a given product and recipe. This must become an automated exercise or it will not scale to meet the fab’s broader needs. As stated earlier, it must be continuously validated against the SPC data using automation.


Figure 5. This recipe chart shows sensor trace data that an integrated system would continuously correlate to the SPC chart shown in figures 3 and 4.

IP SENSITIVITIES AND OTHER ISSUES

Technology that can be used to resolve these problems must be sensitive to information sharing (IP) issues. Fabs looking to apply machine learning and artificial intelligence automation capabilities across the enterprise will need to ensure that their vendor noncompete/nondisclosure agreements are not violated. This is necessary because a strategy combining inline SPC data with fault detection data inevitably must also consider incoming materials from competing vendors.

This has historically created numerous barriers to developing such systems. But to advance toward higher quality, we must accommodate privacy requirements while still providing relevant information to make the appropriate decisions on the fab floor. A use case for such a decision would be discerning whether measurement failure is a product of the current equipment set or the upstream equipment set.

One of the key challenges in a facility is information coming out of sequence. The sequence of manufacturing operations, versus measuring a wafer or a lot, has significance for data interpretation. An added challenge is the high-mix/low-volume problem often seen in our industry.

It can be very difficult to triage between product changes, preventive maintenance, chemical changes, and chamber-matching alone. So, if we are to identify with a high degree of certainty when equipment is abnormally drifting or experiencing a progressive failure, we will need to understand all these facets.

LOOKING TO NEW HORIZONS

Applied Materials is pursuing an initiative that combines SPC and FDC data in a cohesive and automated manner, then maps the results to an FMEA system to provide users with recommended actions. This initiative is the first step toward developing a future system that will enable AI in fabs. At present, the system can be considered an advanced expert system that addresses data structure and variability.

The path forward is becoming clearer and tests in manufacturing facilities are beginning to show promising results. Our next steps will be to gain more experience and eventually expand into other parts of the facility to include electrical tests.

For additional information, contact selim_nahas@amat.com

Selim Nahas leads the Applied Automation Process Quality Group.