skip to main content

折疊手機彎曲技術超越極限

作者 Kerry Cunningham

經過多年來對移動裝置柔性、折疊螢幕的討論後,這類最符合邏輯的折疊手 機今年將首度上市 — 但同時仍然面臨一些尚未解決的問題和挑戰。早期的採 用者樂於接受市場推出的這類令人振奮的新技術 ( 圖 1)。但從業界廣泛觀點 來看,哪一種手機設計才會嬴得消費者的歡心?必須克服哪些科技和技術性 障礙才可實現量產?

圖 1. 折疊裝置類型。( 圖片來源 - 從左上角開始依順時鐘方向:Technobezz, itechfuture, mspoweruser, Forbes)

在開發折疊手機或其他裝置時,有很多問題需要 解決,包括電池壽命、外形因素、製造成本和價格。 當然,最明顯和最困難的問題是開發出可支援經常彎 折的顯示螢幕,因為用戶將在好幾年的時間內經常開 合他們的裝置。本文將探討所有這些問題。

電池壽命

折疊式類平板手機最矚目的折疊式設計,也可能 是減少電池壽命的一個主要原因,因為這類手機要為 兩個顯示幕提供電池電力。智慧型手機的電池容量通 常是 4,380 mAh,視使用頻率而定可能可以待機兩 天,但支持大於 7 吋的迷你平板螢幕運作需要更多的 電力。折疊螢幕的開合以及螢幕之間的切換,也會消 耗電力。因此,留給消費者的是更短的電池壽命,或 更厚重的手機。

外型因素

智慧型手機的趨勢是螢幕越來越大,手機整體越 來越薄,並且隨著採用 OLED 和電池技術的進步而具 備愈來愈好的性能。但當口袋中的手機厚度變為原來 習慣的兩倍,消費者是否會感到滿意呢?

成本和價格

根據 OLED 顯示器成本模型來看,標準的7.3” QHD OLED 顯示螢幕的成本是 50–35 美元,觸控組 件的成本是 15 美元。相較之下,折疊式 7.3” WQHD OLED 折疊顯示螢幕的成本是100-70 美元,觸控模 組的成本是 25 美元。觸控層和封裝的特殊材料佔增 加成本中的大部分。

製程不成熟造成生產良率低,也是使成本增加 的原因。標準智慧型手機 OLED 顯示螢幕的良率是 60–70%,而折疊螢幕的良率卻低於 30%。此外,現在 仍難以衡量消費者對折疊式行動裝置的接受度以及普及 的程度。雖然初步預測顯示消費者有很強烈的興趣 ( 圖 2),但初期銷售量卻很低。這顯示消費者對這類技術有 高度的興趣,但從零售層面來看則抱持觀望態度。

圖 2. 折疊 OLED 出貨預測。( 資料來源:IHS Market)

挑戰彎曲極限

圖 3. 彎曲測試失敗模式。 ( 資料來源:Yves Leterrier, in Handbook of Flexible Organic Electronics:Materials, Manufacturing and Applications, Woodhead, 2015)

在彎曲問題上,目前還未開發出明確解決方案, 但應用材料公司正針對該問題進行大規模的研究。

可彎曲折疊裝置必須採用柔性 OLED 技術,因為現 行的 LCD 薄膜電晶體 (TFT) 無法適用在重複彎曲的裝 置。基於相同原因,基板必須是聚醯亞胺,而不是玻璃。

組成顯示螢幕的整體層堆疊必須超薄和非常堅固, 整體厚度 ( 包括 OLED 裝置) 要小於 1.0mm 。需要的 膜層包括:折疊基板上的 TFT、覆蓋 TFT 的隔離層、 隔離層上的 OLED、基板上的封裝層、與封裝層結合 的柔性觸控式螢幕面板、和一層保持顯示膜的光學性 質的硬塗層窗膜,( 可能) 使顯示螢幕表層可以抗刮、 耐磨損和撞擊。手機彎曲時,所有這些膜層必須保持 正常功能。

彎曲這種堆疊的多層膜時,堆疊中有個位置稱為中 性軸或 ( 中性彎曲面),該處的應變力為零。找出中性 面內的顯示模組位置可將應變和應力降到最小。

這之所以這麼重要是因為在向內彎曲上的太多壓縮 應力會導致屈曲和剝離,而過大的拉伸應力可能導致 破裂和剝離 ( 圖 3)。雖然作為獨立的薄膜,顯示螢幕 堆疊中的每個元件可以彎曲到相對較小的半徑 ( 小於 5 mm) ,但當元件黏合後彎曲時,機械應力在結合層之 間傳遞,在堆疊的多層膜中出現拉伸和壓縮力,導致 結合層的剝離和屈曲。

因此,工程師對黏合的方式進行改善,使堆疊膜 層作為單獨的元件起作用,不受相鄰膜層的約束。這 是為了在顯示螢幕堆疊彎曲 ( 特別是彎曲半徑小於 5 mm) 時,可以防止機層的剝離和屈曲。

進入測試階段

圖 4. 折疊基板的臨界應變公式。( 資料來源: Yves Leterrier, in Handbook of Flexible Organic Electronics:Materials, Manufacturing and Applications, Woodhead, 2015)

應用材料公司顯示及柔性技術事業群 (DFT) 的研發 部門測試了聚萘二甲酸乙二醇酯 (PEN) 膜的薄膜封裝, 以評估薄膜的可靠度,以及是否能夠保留原有特性來 作為防止空氣和水氣侵入OLED 材料的屏障。

低於 1% 的整體臨界應變目標是楊氏模數的一個函 數,或定義材料中的應力和應變之間的關係,以及基 板整體厚度 ( 圖 4) 的機械特性。

DFT 事業群測試了堆疊在 50μm PEN 基板上的多 層薄膜封裝膜。這項測試包括在專門的彎曲測試機器 ( 圖 5) 上,將基板以半徑 2.5mm 彎曲 200,000 次。 在 1% 應變係數下初始結果顯示沒有明顯可見的裂痕。

然後 DFT 事業群測試PEN 薄膜,以1% 應變為 基準,探索各種不同 PEN 厚度薄膜可達到的最小彎 曲半徑。125μm PEN 基板可以彎曲到半徑 6mm,而 50μm 可以彎曲到半徑 2.5mm,15μm 可以達到 1mm 的彎曲半徑 ( 圖 6)。

圖 5. 彎曲測試條件和彎曲測試工具固定裝置。( 資料來源:應用材料公司DFT 事業群)

圖 6. 測試結果,在目標 1% 應變的彎曲半徑和PEN 基板厚度。( 資料來源:應用材料公司DFT 事業群)

在彎曲測試後,DFT 事業群在溫度 40° C、相對濕 度 100% 下測量水蒸氣透過率(WVTR) 超過 150 個小 時。實驗結果達到 1.89E-5 g/m2/日 WVTR,這證明了 OLED 的 TFT 可以在完成 200,000 次彎曲測試後 ,依 然保持可靠的阻絕效能! ( 圖 7)

圖 7. 彎曲測試後,阻隔薄膜的水蒸氣穿透率的測試結果。( 資料來源:應用材料公司DFT 事業群)

另一個主要問題:皺摺

當螢幕對半折疊時會產生皺摺,完全打開時您一 定會看到皺摺。當前,產生皺摺是無可避免的,而且 短期內沒有明確的解決方案。目前還不清楚,習慣於 明亮的高解析度螢幕 ( 請參閱圖 8) 的消費者是否會 接納並不完美的折疊螢幕設備。

圖 8. 左側的兩張照片顯示折疊手機上的螢幕皺摺,右側的相片顯示重複折疊造成的顯示邊框損壞。( 資料來源:Phone Arena 和 The Verge)

皺摺上有個必須要解決的問題是,在顯示螢幕 的邊框中形成的間隙,會讓異物進入顯示螢幕並使 OLED 材料劣化,縮短設備的整體壽命。

結論

克服技術問題、消費者對外形的接納程度、降低 成本和如何將其定位於高端市場,這些都將是決定 是否成功採用此新技術的重要因素。然而折疊手機 不是即將到來,而是已經到來 — 應用材料公司正協 助客戶將這類產品由可能變成現實。

Kerry Cunningham 為應用材料公司顯 示及柔性技術事業群 (DFT) 產品行銷經 理。如需更多資訊,請傳送電子郵件到 kerry_cunningham@amat.com 與他 聯繫

skip to main content

Foldable Phones Bend the Limits of Technology

By Kerry Cunningham

After years of discussion about flexible, bendable displays for mobile electronic devices, the first and most logical of these devices, foldable phones, will hit the market this year— along with some as yet unresolved issues and challenges. Early adopters welcome the introduction of such exciting new technologies (figure 1). But from a broad industry standpoint, which mobile phone designs will win with consumers? And what technologies and technical obstacles must be conquered to enable their mass production?

Figure 1. Foldable device-types. (Image sources clockwise from top left: Technobezz, itechfuture, mspoweruser, Forbes)

A number of issues must be resolved in the development of foldable phones or other devices, including battery life, form factor, manufacturing costs and price. Of course the most obvious and difficult problem is the development of displays that can support frequent bending, because users will open and close their devices frequently over a number of years. All these issues are reviewed in this article.

BATTERY LIFE

The coolest feature of the foldable photo–tablet type phone also causes a major issue with battery life, because it makes use of two displays that need battery power. A smartphone with a typical 4,380 mAh battery may have power for two days depending on use, but more power is required to run an additional >7-inch mini tablet screen. Folding and unfolding, along with the transition between screens, also eats up power. Thus, the consumer is left with either shorter battery life or a thicker, heavy phone with bigger batteries.

FORM FACTOR

The trend in mobile smartphones has been toward larger screens and overall thinner phones, features that have evolved with OLED adoption and better battery technology. But will consumers be happy with a phone in their pocket that is twice as thick as what they’re accustomed to?

COST AND PRICE

According to the OLED Display Cost Model, a standard 7.3” quad high definition (QHD) OLED display costs $50–$35 for the display and $15 for the touch components. In comparison, a foldable 7.3” wide quad high definition (WQHD) OLED foldable display costs $100–$70 for the display and $25 for the touch module. Special materials for the touch layers and encapsulation account for most additional costs.

Adding to the costs are low manufacturing yields related to the immaturity of the processes. Standard smartphone OLED displays yield 60–70% while foldable displays yield less than 30%. Also, it is hard to gauge consumer sentiment today toward the popularity and adoption of foldable mobile devices. While initial forecasts show strong consumer interest (figure 2), initial sales have been low. This implies high interest in the technology, but a wait-and-see attitude at the retail level.

Figure 2. Foldable OLED shipment forecast. (Source: IHS Market)

ADVANCEMENTS IN EXTREME BENDING

Figure 3. Bending test failure modes. (Source: Yves Leterrier, in Handbook of Flexible Organic Electronics: Materials, Manufacturing and Applications, Woodhead, 2015)

No clear solutions to the bending issue have been developed, but Applied Materials is conducting extensive research toward that goal.

Bendable, foldable devices must be based on flexible OLED technology because standard LCD thin-film transistors (TFTs) cannot survive repeated bending cycles. For the same reason, the substrate must be polyimide, not glass.

The overall film stack that makes up the display must be ultra-thin and highly robust, with an overall thickness including the OLED device of <1.0mm. Required layers include: a TFT on a foldable substrate; an insulating layer covering the TFT; an OLED on the insulating layer; an encapsulation layer on the substrate; a flexible touch screen panel bonded to the encapsulation layer; and a hard coat cover window film that maintains the optical properties of a display film while (possibly) making the display layer resistant to scratches, abrasions and impacts. All these layers must retain all their normal functionality while bending.

When bending such a stack of layered films, there is a location in the stack called the neutral axis, or neutral bending plane, where there is zero strain. Locating the display module in the neutral plane minimizes strains and stresses.

That is important because too much compressive stress on an inward bend can result in buckling and delamination, while excessive tensile stress can result in cracking and delamination (figure 3). While each element in the display stack can bend to relatively tight radii ( <5 mm) as an independent thin film, when the elements are bonded together with adhesion and then bent, mechanical stress is transferred between the bonded layers, causing them to delaminate and buckle because of the tensile and compressive forces present in the laminated film stack.

Therefore, adhesion improvements are being formulated to enable the display stack to be bonded in a way that also allows the individual film layers to remain mechanically isolated, i.e., not constrained by adjacent film layers. This is intended to prevent delamination of the layers and buckling when the display stack is bent, especially to radii of <5 mm.

PUTTING IT TO THE TEST

Figure 4. Critical strain formula for foldable substrates. (Source: Yves Leterrier, in Handbook of Flexible Organic Electronics: Materials, Manufacturing and Applications, Woodhead, 2015)

Applied Materials’ Display Flexible Technology (DFT) labs group tested thin-film encapsulation on polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) films to assess the survivability of the film, and whether it retained its original properties as a barrier to air and moisture to protect the OLED material.

The overall critical strain target of <1% is a function of Young’s moduli, or the mechanical property that defines the relationships between stress and strain in a material and the overall thickness of the substrate (figure 4).

The DFT group tested a multilayer thin-film encapsulation film stack on a 50μm PEN substrate. The test consisted of bending the substrate 200,000 times to a radius of 2.5mm on a proprietary bending test module (figure 5). The initial results at 1% strain showed no observable cracking.

The DFT group then tested PEN film to establish the minimum achievable radius for various PEN thicknesses at the target 1% strain level. The 125μm PEN substrate can bend to a 6mm radius, while 50μm can bend to a 2.5mm radius, and 15μm can achieve a bend radius of 1mm (figure 6).

Figure 5. Bending test conditions and bending test tool fixture. (Source: DFT Group, Applied Materials)

Figure 6. Test results, bending radius vs. PEN substrate thickness at target 1% strain. (Source: DFT Group, Applied Materials)

After the bending test, the DFT group measured the water vapor transmission rate (WVTR) at 40°C with 100% relative humidity for more than 150 hours. We achieved 1.89E-5 g/m2/day WVTR, which demonstrated that we could maintain TFT barrier performance of the OLED even after completing 200,000 bending tests (figure 7)!

Figure 7. Test results for water vapor penetration rate of barrier films after the bending test. (Source: DFT Group, Applied Materials)

ANOTHER MAJOR ISSUE: THE CREASE

When a screen is folded in half it creates a crease, and in a fully opened display you can definitely see it. Today, creasing is unavoidable and as yet there is no obvious short-term solution. Still unknown is the impact of an imperfect display on mass adoption of foldable devices among consumers who are accustomed to brilliant high-resolution mobile displays (see figure 8).

Figure 8. The two photos on the left show screen creases on foldable phones, while the photo on the right shows damage to a display bezel caused by repeated folding. (Sources: Phone Arena and the Verge)

A related problem that definitely must be overcome is that at the crease, a gap is created in the display’s bezel that can allow particles to enter the display and degrade the OLED material, limiting the overall life of the device.

CONCLUSION

Overcoming technical issues, acceptance of the form factor by the consumer, cost reduction, and the ability to segment devices for the premium market will all be important factors in the adoption rate of this new technology. However foldable phones are not just on the horizon, they are here— and Applied Materials is helping to make them possible.

Kerry Cunningham is Display Flexible Technology Product Marketing Manager for Applied Materials. For additional information, contact him at kerry_cunningham@amat.com