skip to main content

智慧製造 大數據分析法

設備和製程專業知識是半導體製造分析解決方案的 關鍵組成部分。

By James Moyne and Jimmy Iskandar

過去幾年中,應用材料公司引領著半 導體製造業確定大數據分析道路。除了 支援美國、亞洲和歐洲 APC 會議等高端 技術會議外,[1] 應用材料公司的工作成果 還透過同行評審期刊(例如《 IEEE 半導 體製造期刊》) 中的論文得到了肯定。[2] 其中一篇發表在瑞士 MDPI 開放期刊《製 程》上的論文獲得了 2016 和 2017 年度 最佳論文獎。[3] 這篇論文探索了半導體製 造業的大數據分析趨勢和機會,並為採 用分析法支援各種應用 ( 從故障偵測到預 測性維護等) 提供了藍圖。這裡將介紹這 篇論文的要點 [4]

塑造我們的智慧製造分析願景

智慧製造 (SM) 一般是指製造作業轉向 供應鏈上下整合、實體和網路能力整合 以及使用先進資訊,目的是提高彈性和 適應性。SM 會應用大數據分析來提升現 有的分析能力以及如預測性分析的全新 能力,然後再運用資料(也就是「大數 據」)在數量、速度、多樣性、準確性(即 資料品質)和價值(分析)上的重大發展。這些得到提升的新能力(如圖 1 總結) 被視為是延伸先進製程控制 (APC) 系列 的一部分。

半導體製造設備和製程分析的出現和 發展,部分是因為三個關鍵產業挑戰而 形成。這些挑戰已存在數十年,並非是 SM 或大數據革命才有;但是,在某種程 度上,這些是半導體製造業獨有的挑戰。 這些挑戰為:(1) 設備和製程複雜性,(2) 製程動態和背景豐富性,以及 (3) 不良的 資料品質(在精確性和可用性方面)。

這些挑戰導致半導體產業分析解決方 案無法嚴格做到資料驅動的現實。機台、 製程和分析領域知識 ( 或主題專業知識, SME) 也是大部分晶圓製造廠解決方案的 關鍵組成部分。因此,半導體產業的製程 分析目前和未來也將以此為考量來設計和 運用。實際上,通常 SME 輸入機制在各 方面都有正式的界定,從資料收集、資料 處理、參數選擇、模型建構、模型和限值 優化到解決方案實施和維。

圖 1. APC 和 APC 延伸能力的定義。

了解半導體製造分析的組成部分

過去十年中,分析方法呈現爆炸式成 長,而且許多方法都是利用大數據機會開 發而得。識別和歸類這些分析法的一個方 法是定義分析的維度能力,以及指定或規 劃與這些維度的相關分析能力。圖 2 提供 半導體製造中與分析相關的維度分類。

就這些維度來看,可從能力在每個維 度中的價值來定義分析應用或分析。例 如,主成份分析 (PCA)(一種通常在多 元分析 (MVA)、故障偵測 (FD) 和設備 健全監控 (EHM) 中使用的方法) 是無督 控且回應式分析。MVA 通常為靜態和無 狀態分析, 並且不正式包含 SME。在 分析應用程式方面, 當今晶圓製造廠 中的 FD 大部分均為無監控、回應式、 單變數、靜態和基於統計學的分析, 並且在 FD 模型開發中結合 SME。透過使 用這些維度和其他維度的定義分析法和分 析應用程式,可以為識別能力差距、提升 機會以及(從長遠來看)改善路線提供框 架。

半導體製造 APC 應用程式近年來的發展體 現了工廠控制方法從回應式到預測式(甚至是 主動式)的轉變。[5] 這主要是依靠大數據的爆 炸式成長,其中對於更大數量和更長久資料存 檔的支援在某種程度上使得預測式解決方案能 夠破譯多變數參數互動的複雜性、描述系統動 態、拒絕干擾和濾除資料品質問題。

在許多情況下,為利用大數據解決方案 提供的平行計算和及時處理資料,必須重寫 這些解決方案中的演算法。同時,還可以開 發更易處理大數據的新演算法。例如,早 期的預測式解決方案依靠單核 CPU 和序列 處理,而大數據可使用偏最小二乘法 (PLS) 和支援向量機 (SVM) 在伺服器集群上進行 平行計算。同樣,為處理更多資料而重寫 自組織對應 (SOM) 和產生拓撲對應 (GTM) 等無監控資料探索技術,能夠讓使用者快速 進行深入探索。同樣地,可以重寫隱馬爾可 夫模型 (HMM) 和粒子群演算法等耗時的統 計技術,大大提高計算效率。[6]

但是,過多的技術和大量的資料不一定 會帶來更深入的了解和預測式能力。作者認 為沒有一種方法或多種方法組合是萬寧丹。 相反地,應利用現有資料來自訂符合應用 程式的方法。但是,我們認為 SME 將繼續 引導解決方案的開發和維護。

圖 2. 分析維度能力,以及傳統半導體製造 APC 解決方案對這些維度的對應。(唯象模型是表示製程知識的物理模型形式; 這些都是使用統計數據進行調整或修改。)

AI 和大數據相容式新分析法的出現

AI 一詞可用來描述感知環境並採取措施 完成目標的任何裝置或分析法。現在,AI 通常用於類比人腦功能的裝置或分析法概 念(例如在自動駕駛汽車的應用中)。[7] 人 工神經網路 (ANN,這類分析的一個例子) 已經存在了數十年,且此類 AI 分析法在大 數據發展中再度出現。例如,深度學習( 一 種與結構化 ANN 非常類似的技術)利用分 層抽象實現品質更高、速度更快的大量資 料分析。

深度學習可用於解決大數據分析中的一 些較高維度問題,包括從二維度影象(如 晶圓圖)中提取複雜的圖案。深度學習技 術得益於資料量大增,並使用資料驅動型 受監控技術尋找資料中的關係。這些技術 的主要缺點是相對無法在模型開發和維護中合併SME。[8] 所開發的模型通常不明確 可用,因此難以評估,同時半導體製造分 析中涉及的背景複雜性和動態阻礙深度學 習使用大量且持續的資料量。近年來,研 究工作的重點是結合 SME 和AI 技術,該 方法有望在未來應用於生產現場。[9]

另一種獲得極大關注的大數據分析能 力是背景分析,該分析使用通常稱為「網 路爬蟲」的解決方案。 [10] 這些應用程式 會挖掘背景中的資料,並尋找有關係的圖 案或分析結果,例如接近故障的零件。然 後,這些應用程式會以非同步方式通知如 工廠控制系統的應用程式,以便能夠採取 適當的措施。這種方法還會使診斷和預測 更具有可重構性。

圖 3a. 使用 MVA 預測器及其部分的 PdM 方法,包括故障前時間範圍以及預測置信度或範圍的某種表示。

圖 3b. 利用離線模型建構和最佳化提供合併 SME 機制的 PdM 方法,可用於多種 APC 預測能力。

前瞻性:分析法藍圖

當我們邁向 SM 時,顯而易見的一點是 分析法將在實現良率的過程中繼續發揮更 大的作用,同時可使產量最大化並降低成 本。大數據的進步將推動這些分析法的發 展,並且作者認為,到目前為止所取得的 進展已經提供一些重要發現,這些發現將 有助這些分析法達到最大能力。

第一個重要發現是,半導體產業期待開 發或加強的許多分析法解決方案都可以利 用相同的模型開發(「靜態資料」)和模型 執行/ 維護(「動態資料」)結構。例如, 用於 PdM 的 6 步模型開發流程(如圖 3a 和 3b 中所總結)可用於虛擬量測,甚至預 測良率。使用通用的方法不僅能夠節省推 廣這些技術所需的時間和精力,還能夠讓 製造廠家交叉利用分析法持續進步。

第二個重要發現是,SM 將使這些分析 法的應用範圍延伸。例如,透過將診斷、 控制和預測從晶圓製造廠內擴展到供應鏈 中,可以更有效控制客戶需求並提高解決 區域良率等問題的能力。

第三個可能是最重要的發現為,SME 將 在半導體產業的分析法應用程式中繼續發 揮重要的作用。應用程式將有所不同,但 設備和製程專業知識仍然會是半導體製造 分析解決方案的關鍵組成部分。

Jimmy IskandarJames Moyne

欲知詳情,請聯絡 Jimmy_Iskandar@amat.commoyne@umich.edu

[1] 美國 APC 會議:https://www.apcconference.com; 歐洲 APC|M 會議:https://www.apcm-europe. eu/home/;亞洲 AEC/APC 研討會:https://www. semiconportal.com/AECAPC
[2] J. Moyne, J. Samantaray and M. Armacost「 Big Data Capabilities Applied to Semiconductor Manufacturing Advanced Process Control,」 IEEE Transactions on Semiconductor Manufacturing, Vol. 29, No.2016 年 11 月 4 日,第 283-291 頁。
[3]https://www.mdpi.com/journal/processes/announcements/1466
[4] J. Moyne and J. Iskandar,“ Big Data Analytics for Smart Manufacturing:Case Studies in Semiconductor Manufacturing,” Processes, Vol. 5, No.2017 年 7 月 3 日,可查看網站:http://www.mdpi.com/2227- 9717/5/3/39/htm
[5] International Roadmap for Devices and Systems (IRDS):Factory Integration White Paper, 2018 年版。查 看網站:https://irds.ieee.org/
[6] 有關所有這些演算法的介紹,請查閱維基百科:https:// en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Artificial_intelligence
[7] 維基百科:人工智慧。查看網站:https://en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Artificial_intelligence
[8] Lammers, D.“Big Data and Neural Networks:New Drivers for the Semiconductor Industry,” Nanochip Fab Solutions, Vol. 12, No.1, 2017 年,第 22-28 頁
[9] Vogel-Walcutt, J.J; Gebrim, J.B.; C. Bowers; Carper, T.M.; Nicholson, D.“Cognitive Load Theory vs.Constructivist Approaches:Which Best Leads to Efficient, Deep Learning?”Journal of Computer Assisted Learning, 2010. 查 看網站:https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1365- 2729.2010.00381.x
[10] J. Moyne, J. Samantaray and M. Armacost「 Big Data Capabilities Applied to Semiconductor Manufacturing Advanced Process Control,」 IEEE Transactions on Semiconductor Manufacturing, Vol. 29, No.2016 年 11 月 4 日, 第 283-291 頁。

skip to main content

Big Data Analytics for Smart Manufacturing

Equipment and process expertise are critical components of analytical solutions for semiconductor manufacturing.

By James Moyne and Jimmy Iskandar

Applied Materials has led the way over the past few years in determining a big data analytics path for the semiconductor manufacturing industry. In addition to supporting premier technical conferences such as the US, Asia and Europe APC Conferences,[1] Applied’s work has been validated through publication in peer-reviewed journals such as IEEE Transactions in Semiconductor Manufacturing.[2] One such article, published in Switzerland-based MDPI’s open access journal Processes, received the Best Paper Award 2016 and 2017.[3] It explored trends and opportunities in big data analytics in semiconductor manufacturing, and provided a roadmap for adopting analytics to support applications ranging from fault detection to predictive maintenance. High points of the article[4] are presented here.

SHAPING OUR SMART MANUFACTURING ANALYTICS VISION

Smart manufacturing (SM) is a term generally applied to a movement in manufacturing practices toward integration up and down the supply chain, integration of physical and cyber capabilities, and use of advanced information for increased flexibility and adaptability. SM leverages the tremendous advances in volume, velocity, variety, veracity (i.e, data quality) and value (analytics) of data, often referred to as “big data,” by applying big data analytics to improve existing analysis capabilities and provide new capabilities such as predictive analytics. These improved and new capabilities, summarized in figure 1, are considered part of the extended advanced process control (APC) family.

The emergence and evolution of equipment- and process analytics for semiconductor manufacturing have been shaped in part by three key industry challenges. Figure 1. Definitions of APC and APC-extended capabilities. These challenges have existed for decades and are not specific to SM or the big data revolution; however, they are somewhat unique to semiconductor manufacturing. They are (1) equipment- and process complexity, (2) process dynamics and context richness and (3) poor data quality in terms of both accuracy and availability.

These challenges have resulted in the realization that analytics solutions for the semiconductor industry cannot be strictly data-driven. Tool, process and analytic domain knowledge, or subject matter expertise (SME), is also a critical component of most fab analytical solutions. Therefore, process analytics in the industry are, and will continue to be, designed and employed with this in mind. Indeed, often the mechanism for SME input is formally defined in areas ranging from data collection, data treatment, parameter selection, model building, model and limits optimization, and solution deployment and maintenance.

Figure 1. Definitions of APC and APC-extended capabilities.

UNDERSTANDING THE COMPONENTS OF SEMICONDUCTOR MANUFACTURING ANALYTICS

There has been an explosion in analytical approaches over the last decade, and many have been developed to take advantage of the promise of big data. One way to identify and categorize these analytics is to define dimensions of capability in analysis and specify or plot analysis capabilities with respect to these dimensions. Figure 2 provides a breakdown of dimensions relevant to analytics in semiconductor manufacturing.

Given these dimensions, an analytic application or analysis can then be defined with respect to the value the capability has in each dimension. For example, an analytic, principal component analysis (PCA)—often used in multivariate analysis (MVA), fault detection (FD) and equipment health monitoring (EHM)—is unsupervised and reactive. MVA is generally static and stateless, and does not formally incorporate SME. With respect to analysis applications, FD in today’s fabs is largely unsupervised, reactive, univariate, stateless and statistically based, with SME incorporated in FD model development. Defining analytics and analysis applications using these and other dimensions provides a framework for identifying gaps in capability, opportunities for advancement, and over the longer term, roadmaps for improvement.

The recent evolution in APC applications for semiconductor manufacturing reflects a movement from a reactive to a predictive, and even a proactive, approach to factory control.[5] This relies heavily on the big data explosion, where support for larger volumes and longer data archives has somewhat enabled predictive solutions to decipher the complexities of multivariate interactions of parameters, characterize system dynamics, and reject disturbances and filter out data-quality issues.

In many cases the algorithms in these solutions must be rewritten to take advantage of the parallel computation afforded by big data solutions to process the data in a timely manner. New algorithms also may be developed that are more big data-friendly. For example, earlier predictive solutions relied on single-core CPU and serial processing, but with big data, partial least squares (PLS) and support vector machines (SVM) can be used for parallel computation on a server farm. Likewise, unsupervised data-exploration techniques such as self-organizing map (SOM) and generative topographic mapping (GTM) are rewritten to process large amounts of data, enabling users to quickly gain insights. Similarly, time-consuming statistical techniques such as hidden Markov model (HMM) and particle swarm optimization can be rewritten to become computationally far more efficient.[6]

However, a plethora of techniques and a massive amount of data do not necessarily lead to more insights and predictive capability. It is the authors’ belief that no one approach or combination of approaches is a panacea. Rather, approaches will be customized to applications given the data at hand. Nonetheless, we believe that SME will continue to guide the development and maintenance of solutions.

Figure 2. Dimensions of analytics capabilities, with mapping of typical semiconductor manufacturing APC solutions to these dimensions. Phenomenological models are physical model forms that represent process knowledge; they are tuned or modified with statistical data.)

THE EMERGENCE OF AI AND NEW BIG DATA-FRIENDLY ANALYTICS

The term AI can be used to describe any device or analytic that perceives its environment and takes action to achieve a goal. Today the term is often used to refer to the concept of devices or analytics mimicking the function of the human brain, as in self-driving automotive applications.[7] Artificial neural networks (ANN), an example of this type of analytic, have been around for decades and such AI analytics have resurged as part of the big data evolution. For example, deep learning, a technique very similar to structured ANN, leverages hierarchical abstraction for improved quality and speed of high-volume data analysis.

Deep learning can be utilized to address some higher dimensional problems in big data analytics, including extracting complex patterns from two-dimensional images (e.g., wafer maps).Deep learning techniques benefit from increased data volumes and use data-driven supervised techniques to find relationships in data. Their main drawback is their relative inability to incorporate SME in model development and maintenance.[8] The developed models are generally not explicitly available and as such are difficult to assess, while the context richness and dynamics involved in semiconductor manufacturing analysis hinder deep learning techniques from leveraging large and consistent data volumes. Recently research efforts have focused on combining SME with AI techniques, an approach that holds promise for future application on the manufacturing floor.[9]

Another big data analytical capability receiving significant attention is background analysis by solutions often termed as “crawlers.” [10] These applications mine data in the background, looking for patterns or analytical results of interest, such as a part nearing fault. They then asynchronously inform an application such as a factory control system so that appropriate action can be taken. This approach also allows diagnostics and prognostics to be more reconfigurable.

Figure 3a. PdM approach utilizing MVA predictor and its components, including time-to-failure horizon and some expression of prediction confidence or range.

Figure 3b. PdM approach utilizing offline model building and optimization to provide a mechanism for incorporating SME that can be leveraged for many APC predictive capabilities.

LOOKING AHEAD: AN ANALYTICS ROADMAP

As we move towards SM, it is clear that analytics will continue to play a larger role in achieving yields while maximizing throughput and lowering cost. Big data advancements will power these analytics, and the authors believe that progress thus far has provided some key findings that will help maximize the power of these analytics.

The first of these is that many of the analytical solutions the industry is looking to develop or enhance can leverage the same model development (“data at rest”) and model execution/maintenance (“data in motion”) structure. For example, the 6-step model development process for PdM (summarized in figures 3a and 3b) can be used for virtual metrology or even for predictive yield. Leveraging a common approach will not only save time and effort in ramping these technologies, it also will enable manufacturers to cross-leverage the continuous advancement in analytical approaches.

The second key finding is that SM will allow the application scope of these analytics to be expanded. For example, extending diagnostics, control and prediction from the four walls of the fab into the supply chain will allow for better control to customer needs and enhance the ability to address problems such as field yield issues.

Third and perhaps most importantly, SME will continue to play an important role in analytics applications in our industry. Applications will vary, but equipment- and process expertise will remain critical components of analytical solutions for semiconductor manufacturing.

Jimmy IskandarJames Moyne

For additional information, contact Jimmy_Iskandar@amat.com or moyne@umich.edu

[1] APC Conference US: https://www.apcconference.com; APC|M Conference Europe: https://www.apcm-europe.eu/home/; AEC/APC Symposium Asia https://www.semiconportal.com/AECAPC
[2] J. Moyne, J. Samantaray and M. Armacost “Big Data Capabilities Applied to Semiconductor Manufacturing Advanced Process Control,” IEEE Transactions on Semiconductor Manufacturing, Vol. 29, No. 4, November 2016, pp. 283-291.
[3] https://www.mdpi.com/journal/processes/announcements/1466
[4] J. Moyne and J. Iskandar, “Big Data Analytics for Smart Manufacturing: Case Studies in Semiconductor Manufacturing,” Processes, Vol. 5, No. 3, July 2017 Available online: http://www.mdpi.com/2227-9717/5/3/39/htm
[5] International Roadmap for Devices and Systems (IRDS): Factory Integration White Paper, 2018 edition. Available online: https://irds.ieee.org/
[6] An introduction to each of these algorithmic approaches can be found on Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Artificial_intelligence
[7] Wikipedia: Artificial intelligence. Available online: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Artificial_intelligence
[8] Lammers, D. “Big Data and Neural Networks: New Drivers for the Semiconductor Industry,” Nanochip Fab Solutions, Vol. 12, No.1, 2017, pp. 22-28
[9] Vogel-Walcutt, J.J; Gebrim, J.B.; C. Bowers; Carper, T.M.; Nicholson, D. “Cognitive Load Theory vs. Constructivist Approaches: Which Best Leads to Efficient, Deep Learning?” Journal of Computer Assisted Learning, 2010. Available online at https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1365-2729.2010.00381.x
[10] J. Moyne, J. Samantaray and M. Armacost “Big Data Capabilities Applied to Semiconductor Manufacturing Advanced Process Control,” IEEE Transactions on Semiconductor Manufacturing, Vol. 29, No. 4, November 2016, pp. 283-291.