skip to main content

實現機台群的最 大 產

By Haim Albalak and Chris Keith

如今半導體產品需求強勁,元件製造商正尋求各種途徑以實現其晶圓廠製造優質晶圓的最大產量,並達到最佳投資回報。

提高晶圓廠內可能發生瓶頸的機台群 ( 組 ) 產量,是實現目標的關鍵機會。中大型晶圓廠的產能規劃研究顯示,幾乎任何機台群都可能成為生產瓶頸,限制晶圓廠的潛在產量。

客戶經常聘請應用材料 FabVantage™ 諮詢團隊協助找尋方法,從現有晶圓廠「榨出」更多產能。現在,該團隊推出一項全新服務 - 應用材料 FabOptimizer™,可幫助客戶提高其應用材料機台群的產量,進而推遲對大規模資本投資的需求。

更宏觀的視野

若要達到晶圓廠最大產量,就需要對所有可能改善產量的機會進行廣泛且全面的分析,而不僅僅是研究一兩個方面。通常,半導體製造商會專注於改善一種類型的產量損失,例如設備正常運轉時間 (Uptime);但經驗顯示,當著重改善整體相關損失時,晶圓廠的整體價值將會高許多。

SEMI E79 標準可幫助製造商了解不同類型的設備產能損失。此標準定義了衡量設備生產效率和產能的指標與計算方法,包含整體設備效率 (OEE)。

SEMI E79 定義的損失類型包含可用性損失、運轉損失、速率損失與品質損失 ( 圖 1)。所有損失都應該降到最低或完全消除,才可達到最大機台群的產量。

圖 1. SEMI E79 OEE 效率損失類別。

除了減少或消除 OEE 損失之外,為增加機台群的總產量並降低對晶圓廠在製品 (WIP) 流量的干擾,減少所有同類機台的正常運轉時間變異性也至關重要。幸運的是,由於現在有龐大的設備與製程數據,還有更強大的運算資源、分析方法以及不斷擴大的知識庫,因此更可有效減少正常運轉時間的變異性。

此做法的重要性不僅止於瓶頸機台,對晶圓廠中大多數機台群也適用。通常,正常運轉時間變異性可能會導致生產周期延長、錯過生產截止日,使晶圓廠發生在製品泡沫(WIP Bubbles),以及 OEE 的降低。

圖 2. 減少機台群的正常運轉時間變異性,使製造商能維持生產周期同時增加產量,或能縮短相同產量所需的生產周期。

圖 2 顯示,當機台群的正常運轉時間變異性降低時,相同的生產周期內就可獲得更大的產量,或者可以更快達到相同的產量。

全面性的機台群產量最佳化

應用材料 FabOptimizer 評估是採用功能強大且結構嚴謹的方法與專業軟體工具,全面分析客戶的應用材料機台性能。這項評估著重在確定機台 OEE 損失的來源,以及制定提高晶圓產量的建議。分析與建議涉及 OEE 損失的所有領域,包括機台以及反應室停機時間、空載時間、速率損失與品質問題。

FabOptimizer 提供快速數據整合與分析功能以處理龐大的數據集,藉此將分析重點從影響產量的各個因素轉變為變量之間的關係。這是一套獨特的技術與工具組合,透過提取和轉換客戶數據,可以總覽整個機台群的 OEE 損失以及變異性。

這項工具還利用應用材料專家在製程以及設備方面的優勢和能力,並將專業知識與最先進的模擬與數據分析工具以及工業工程技術相結合。FabOptimizer 使用功能強大的軟體進行大數據分析與機台模擬,將應用材料公司的最佳案例以及最佳方法 (BKM) 知識庫整合至單位製程與維護中,並可存取全面性的基準數據庫。

FabOptimizer 服務主要內容如圖 3 所示。具體包含以下工具與服務。
  • 機台群分析:FabVantage 顧問使用應用材料公司的自動化大數據分析工具編譯大型數據集,這些數據集來源廣泛,包含製造執行系統 (MES) 數據庫、維護管理系統、機台事件日誌與追蹤文件。接著,他們使用機台群分析工具套用多變量模型與演算法。這可以確定並量化改善產量的機會,例如在減少空檔時間、機台占用、配方最佳化、預防性維護計畫及一般調度與排程等方面的可能性。
  • 應用材料 ToolSim™: 應用材料公司進行產能分析的圖像化模擬器。機台與事件日誌是用來開發及校準模擬模型。驗證後,機台專家可使用該模型快速執行多個「假設性」模擬,以確定並量化可提高產量的機會。
  • 配方最佳化: 由應用材料公司單位製程專家執行,以確定製程及潔淨配方與 BKM 之間的差距。該分析凸顯影響機台產量 ( 每小時晶圓數或 wph) 與製程能力的差異。
  • 機台模擬器: 這是一款使用筆記型電腦模擬機台運轉的軟體。虛擬機台設定與晶圓廠中的實際機台完全一致,包含所使用的軟體版本。此軟體讓 FabVantage 顧問能夠在他們的筆記型電腦上進行數小時的實驗與驗證,如此直到專案的最後階段都不必中斷生產。
  • 預防性維護: 應用材料公司的機台專家會將客戶程序、實務做法以及零件,與應用材料公司的 BKM 進行比較,以了解機台的維護狀態,並尋求減少停機時間與改善機台健康狀況的可能性。
  • 機台審核: 應用材料公司的專家針對硬體與軟體進行全面且有系統的審核,藉此識別限制機台性能的配置、安裝與設定。

圖 3. 應用材料公司的 FabOptimizer 解決方案囊括硬體與軟體,使 FabVantage 顧問能夠執行廣泛的多變量數據分析,執行模擬以找到增加產量的方法,並將維護活動與最佳做法進行比較。

證明有效的成果

FabOptimizer 服務已經在世界各地晶圓廠的應材機台群中執行,屢屢使客戶的產量與投資回報顯著改善。以下為其中幾個範例。

Endura® PVD 機台:增加產量

某客戶欲將一些 Endura 機台轉移到另一座晶圓廠。拆除機台會降低機台群產能,使其低於晶圓廠當前水準,進而大大減少晶圓廠的晶圓產量。

為了保持當前產能,客戶向應用材料公司尋求方法以提高剩餘機台的產量 (wph),同時不影響單位製程的品質水準。

使 用 FabOptimizer 方 法 後, 發 現 有許多可提高產量的機會。顧問團隊使用 ToolSim 開發機台模擬模型,以評估不同設定與配方時間對產量的影響。

圖 4 顯示了機械臂邏輯設定、機械臂移動速度與瓶頸反應室配方時間等不同組合的產量敏感度分析結果。變更機械臂邏輯設定還有額外好處,就是減少了瓶頸反應室空載時間的變異性 ( 圖 5)。這提升了單位製程產能,因為該製程對於閒置於傳片室內的晶圓所產生的溫度變化非常敏感。

圖 4. ToolSim 敏感度分析顯示瓶頸反應室的配方時間與機械臂邏輯設定對機台產量有影響。圖 5. 機械臂邏輯最佳化減少了瓶頸反應室的空載時間及其變異性。

根據 ToolSim 結果與應用材料公司專家的意見,客戶選擇部分提案並以機台模擬器進行進一步評估。在虛擬機台上的測試結果使客戶更加確信在實際機台上實施變更將可獲得預期的改善,並且在晶圓廠機台上節省了 50 多個小時。

低風險方案帶來的預期產量改善總幅度超過 10% ( 圖 6)。最後,客戶實施了應用材料公司所有建議,包含幾項風險較高的措施,據報告,實際產量增幅超過 18%。

應用材料公司單晶圓 VIISta® 離子佈植機:增加產量

客戶的應用材料 VIISta 中電流離子佈植機台群採用應用材料公司的 FabOptimizer 服務,產量提升了近 10%。

圖 6. 發展藍圖顯示產量提高 10% 以上。圖 7. 根據機台調整時間百分比 (%) 比較,圖中顯示大多數機台 25% 以上的時間處於調整狀態。

機台群分析揭露了限制機台群產量的幾個潛在問題。其中的一個主要問題是,機台執行配方調整所花的時間佔總運作時間的 18% 到 37% ( 圖 7)。機台在調整配方時無法進行製程,因而造成產量損失。

圖 8. 根據機台配方串聯大小,圖中顯示 70% 的配方串聯只執行一個批次。

圖 9. 矩陣顯示現有配方與新配方的預期調整時間。

配方調整所需時間佔比高的問題主要由兩個因素造成。首先,如圖 8 所示,在處理二個不同批次的間隔內,有 70% 的時間用於安裝及調整相異的配方。其次,當沒有可使用相同配方處理的批次時,切換配方的選定將對配方調整所需時間產生重大影響。圖 9 顯示根據在機台上執行的現有配方轉換至下一個配方所需的調整時間對應關係。請注意,表中調整時間的值已經標準化,表示觀察到的典型變化量。

根據這些發現,應用材料公司建議客戶使用已知調整時間作為選擇下一個處理批次的關鍵因素。這需要更新客戶目前的調度與排程演算法,將調整時間納入指標。將更新後的批次調度演算法套用在歷史數據後,因調整時間縮短而預期提升產量的幅度將超過 5%。隨後實施這些建議使得調整配方所花費時間百分比顯著下降。

緩解磊晶機台的瓶頸

磊晶機台是客戶晶圓廠面臨的最大瓶頸之一。客戶向應用材料公司尋求協助,為他們尋找機會並制定策略,以減少瓶頸並提高 OEE。

應用材料公司的顧問採用 FabOptimizer 方法與技術分析了數個月的歷史數據,包含機台日誌、設備狀態日誌以及批次流動歷史。他們發現了大量可改善的機會。非預期地停機以及正常運轉時間的變異性,大多由磊晶反應室製程與硬體問題引起。此外,整個機台群的 Loadlock 抽氣與回歸常壓的時間並不一致。

FabVantage 顧問制定了解決以上問題的改進路線,並加以實施。由於機台匹配改善,空檔時間減少,非預期停機時間縮短,客戶的 OEE 提高了 15% ( 圖 10、11 與 12)。

圖 10. 磊晶機台群的正常運轉時間分析。

圖 11. 磊晶機台群的正常運轉時間變異性分析。

圖 12. 磊晶機台群速率損失分析。

結論

晶片需求達到歷史新高,新機台的供應受到壓縮,而新技術發展的腳步正在加快。在此環境下,元件製造商努力提高現有晶圓廠的產量,而機台群最佳化是一種令人信服且經濟實惠的方式,使製造商能夠全面了解機台性能,增加產量並把握今日的市場商機。

欲知詳情,請聯絡 haim_albalak@amat.com.

skip to main content

Maximize Output from Fleets of Tools

By Haim Albalak and Chris Keith

Given today’s high market demand for semiconductor products, device manufacturers are looking for ways to maximize the output of good wafers from their fabs−and optimize their returns on invested capital.

One key opportunity is to increase the output of potential bottleneck tool groups (fleets) within a fab. Capacity-planning studies for medium-to-large fabs show that almost any tool group can become a bottleneck and limit a fab’s potential output.

Customers frequently engage the Applied Materials FabVantage™ Consulting group to help them find ways to squeeze more capacity from their existing fabs. Now a new capability from this group, Applied FabOptimizer,™ is available to help customers boost the output of their Applied Materials tool fleets, deferring the need for sizeable capital investments.

TAKING A BROADER VIEW

Optimizing fab output requires a broad, comprehensive analysis of all potential output improvement opportunities, not just examination of one or two elements. Often, semiconductor manufacturers focus on improving one type of output loss, such as equipment uptime, but our experience shows that the overall value to the fab is much higher when the focus is on improving all relevant losses in the aggregate.

The SEMI E79 standard can help manufacturers understand the different types of equipment capacity loss. It defines metrics and calculations for measuring equipment productivity and capacity, including overall equipment efficiency (OEE).

The loss-types that SEMI E79 defines are availability loss, operational loss, rate loss, and quality loss (figure 1). All of these should be minimized or eliminated to maximize fleet output.

Figure 1. SEMI E79 OEE efficiency loss categories

In addition to reducing or eliminating OEE losses, it is vital to reduce the variability in uptime among all the like tools to increase a fleet’s total output and reduce disruptions to the fab WIP flow. Fortunately, the availability of vastly more equipment and process data, along with more powerful computing resources and analytical methods, and a continually growing knowledge base, now make it possible to effectively reduce uptime variability.

Doing so is important not just in regard to bottlenecks but for most tool fleets in the fab. In general, uptime variability may lead to increased cycle times, missed production due dates, WIP bubbles moving in the fab, and a reduction in OEE.

Figure 2. Reducing the variability of uptime in a fleet of tools gives manufacturers the ability to either increase output while maintaining the same cycle times, or shorten cycle times for the same level of output.

Figure 2 shows that when a fleet’s uptime variability is reduced, more output can be produced in the same cycle time, or alternatively the same level of output can be produced more quickly.

COMPREHENSIVE FLEET OUTPUT OPTIMIZATION

 

Applied FabOptimizer assessments comprehensively analyze the performance of customers’ Applied Materials tools using a powerful, structured methodology and specialized software tools. The focus is on identifying sources of tool OEE loss and on developing recommendations to improve wafer outs. The analysis and recommendations address all areas of OEE loss, including tool and chamber downtime, idle time, rate loss and quality issues.

FabOptimizer shifts the focus from individual factors that affect output to relationships among variables by providing rapid data integration and analysis for very large data sets. It is a unique combination of techniques and tools that, by extracting and transforming customer data, can offer a holistic view of OEE losses and variability across a fleet of like tools.

It also leverages the strengths and capabilities of Applied’s subject matter experts in process and equipment, and combines their expertise with state-of-the-art simulation and data analysis tools, and industrial engineering techniques. FabOptimizer assessments use powerful software for big data analysis and tool simulation, incorporate Applied’s extensive knowledge base of best practices and best known methods (BKMs) for unit process and maintenance, and have access to a comprehensive benchmark database.

Key components of FabOptimizer engagements are shown in figure 3. They include the following tools and services.
  • Fleet Analyze: Applied’s automated big data analysis tool is used by FabVantage consultants to compile large data sets from multiple sources, e.g. Manufacturing Execution System (MES) database, maintenance management system, tool event logs and trace files. They then apply multivariate models and algorithms using the Fleet Analyze tool. This identifies and quantifies output improvement opportunities in areas such as white space reduction, tool dedication, recipe optimization, PM scheduling, dispatching and scheduling.
  • Applied ToolSim™: Applied’s graphic simulator for throughput analysis. Tool and event logs are used to develop and calibrate the simulation model. After validation, tool experts can use the model to quickly run many “what-if” simulations to identify and quantify opportunities for throughput improvement.
  • Recipe Optimization: Performed by Applied unit process experts to identify gaps in our BKMs for process and cleaning recipes, this analysis highlights differences that affect tool throughput (wafers per hour or wph) and process capability.
  • Tool Emulator: This is a software that replicates tools using a laptop. The configurations of the virtual tools exactly match those of the actual tools in the fab, including the software version they use. It enables FabVantage consultants to perform hours of experiments and validation on their laptops so that production does not have to be interrupted until the final stages of the project.
  • Preventive Maintenance: Applied tool experts compare customer procedures, practices, and parts to Applied BKMs to understand how the tools are maintained and identify opportunities to reduce downtime and improve tool health.
  • Tool Audit: This comprehensive and systematic audit of hardware and software by Applied subject matter experts identifies configurations, setups and settings that are limiting tool performance.

Figure 3. Applied’s FabOptimizer solution includes hardware and software components to enable FabVantage consultants to perform extensive multivariate data analyses, run simulations to find ways to increase output, and compare maintenance activities with best practices.

DEMONSTRATED RESULTS

FabOptimizer engagements have been performed on fleets of Applied Materials equipment in fabs around the globe, each demonstrating significant improvements in customer output and return on capital investment. Here are a few examples.

Endura® PVD Tools: Increase Throughput

A customer wanted to transfer some of their Endura tools to another fab. Removing the tools would have reduced the capacity of the fleet below the current level of fab wafer starts, resulting in a significant decrease in wafers out of the fab.

In order to maintain the current wafer starts, the customer asked Applied Materials to find ways to increase the throughput (wph) of the remaining tools without affecting unit process quality levels.

Using the FabOptimizer methodology, a number of opportunities for throughput improvement were identified. ToolSim was used to develop simulation models of the tool to evaluate the impact of different settings and recipes times on throughput.

Figure 4 shows the results of the throughput sensitivity analysis for different combinations of robot logic settings, robot speed, and bottleneck chamber recipe time. An additional benefit of the proposed changes to the robot logic settings was decreased variation of the bottleneck chamber idle time (figure 5). This improved unit process capability as the application was sensitive to temperature variations caused by wafers sitting idle in the transfer chambers.

Figure 4. ToolSim sensitivity analysis showing the impact of bottleneck chamber recipe time and robot logic settings on tool throughput.Figure 5. Robot logic optimization reduced both the amount and variability of bottleneck chamber idle time.

Based on the ToolSim results and inputs from Applied experts, a small number of changes were selected for additional evaluation using the Tool Emulator. Testing on the virtual tools increased confidence that implementing these changes on the actual tools would result in the expected improvement and saved more than 50 hours of time on the tools in the fab.

The total expected output improvement from the low-risk recommendations was more than 10% (figure 6). Eventually, the customer implemented all of Applied’s recommendations, including several of the higher-risk actions, and reported an actual output increase of more than 18%.

APPLIED SINGLE-WAFER VIISTA® IMPLANTERS: INCREASE OUTPUT

Applied FabOptimizer was used to achieve almost 10% output improvement for a customer’s fleet of Applied VIISta medium-current implant tools. Fleet Analyze revealed several potential issues limiting output from the fleet. A major one was that tools were spending 18 to 37% of total time performing recipe tuning (figure 7). When the tool is tuning the recipe, it cannot implant wafers so this time is lost output.

Figure 6. Roadmap showing more than 10% throughput improvement.Figure 7. Comparison of percentage (%) tune time by tool showing that most tools run in tune state more than 25% of the time.

The high percentage of time needed for recipe tuning was mostly due to two factors. First, as figure 8 shows, 70% of the time after a lot was run, the next lot used a different recipe that required setup and tuning. Second, when there are no lots available that can run using the same recipe, the choice of which recipe to switch to can have a major impact on the time required to tune it. Figure 9 shows a matrix of tune times based on the current recipe running on the tool (the rows) and the tune time required to set up the next recipe (the columns) for one tool. Note that the values of the tune time in the table have been normalized, but represent the typical amount of variation observed.

Figure 8. Recipe cascade size by tool showing that 70% of recipe cascades are only one lot.

Figure 9. Matrix showing expected tune time based on current recipe and next recipe.

Based on these findings, Applied recommended that the customer use expected tune time as a key factor for selecting which lot to run next on each tool. This required updates to the customer’s current dispatching and scheduling algorithms in order to include tune time as a criterion. After applying the updated lot-dispatching algorithms to historical data, the expected level of output improvement from reduced tune time was estimated to be more than 5%. Subsequent implementation of the recommendations resulted in a significant drop in the percentage of total time spent tuning recipes.

EPI TOOLS BOTTLENECK EASED

Epi tools were the one of the top bottlenecks in a customer’s fab. The customer engaged Applied to identify opportunities and develop strategies to reduce bottlenecks and improve OEE.

Using the FabOptimizer methodology and technology, Applied consultants analyzed a few months of historical data including tool logs, equipment state logs and the lot transaction history. They found substantial opportunities for improvement. Unscheduled downtime and uptime variability were largely driven by issues with epi chamber process and hardware. Also, load-lock pump and vent times were not matched across the fleet.

The FabVantage consultants developed a roadmap of changes to address these issues and then implemented them. As a result of better tool matching, white space reduction and decreased unplanned downtime, the customer achieved a 15% increase in OEE (figures 10, 11 and 12).

Figure 10. Uptime analysis of epi fleet.

Figure 11. Uptime variability analysis of epi fleet.

Figure 12. Loss analysis of epi fleet speed.

CONCLUSION

Chip demand is reaching record highs, supply of some new tools is constrained, and the pace of new technology ramps is increasing. As device makers strive to increase the output of their existing fabs in this environment, fleet optimization is a compelling and economical way for them to obtain a holistic view of their tool performance, increase their output and take advantage of today’s market opportunities.

For additional information, contact haim_albalak@amat.com.