skip to main content

應用材料技術整合服務支持下一世代的晶圓製造

By David Lammers

隨著摩爾定律極限的來到以及產業全球化、資本密集化和日益加遽的競爭,晶圓大廠關注的重點已不僅僅是元件和設備上的突破,而是如何運用服務科技所提供的優勢與價值來提高半導體晶圓廠效率。

或許你還沒注意到,當前的發展趨勢 - 材料工程、遠端存取、深度學習和擴增實境正徹底改變應用材料全球服務事業 (AGS) 群支援其具前瞻性思維客戶的方式。從開發到生產,隨著元件規格愈趨嚴格,AGS 提供的技術整合 服 務 (Technology-Enabled Services™ ) 可幫助客戶在晶圓廠生命週期的每個階段達成重要良率、產量和成本的改善。此服務建立在四大支柱上 (圖 1):
  • 表面技術,如先進清潔及鍍膜方案
  • 龐大且持續擴展的專家網絡為各種解決方案提供專業技能和經驗
  • 數位工具,先進分析和感測器模擬讓現場服務工程師更有效地解決客戶的問題
  • 客製化供應鏈以滿足客戶獨特需求、有效地簡化全球營運作業,提供高效率且經濟實惠的解決方案

圖 1. 應用材料技術整合服務有助明顯改善良率、產量、和成本。

Jeremy Read 是 AGS 服務 行銷副總裁。

根據市場研究公司 Gartner 的研究數據指出,2017 年半導體產業營收超過 4,190 億美元,且預計今年會有近 8% 的成長,達到約 4,500 億美元。「為了因應如此大規模和快速的成長,以最高效率來運作晶圓廠是勢在必行的。」應用材料全球服務事業 (AGS) 的服務行銷副總裁 Jeremy Read 指出,「在幾乎所有晶圓廠都是滿載運行的情況下,攜手合作是必要的。」

在發展如此飛快的產業中,各半導體廠紛紛以前所未有的速度在晶圓廠前期便積極與 AGS 合作。 Read 表示在前期開發和試產階段找出並解決問題,可加快客戶量產的腳步,並早一步達到最佳良率,大幅提高營收和利潤 (圖 2)。

圖 2. 在量產前找出並解決問題,可加快產量提升並提高良率。

「終端市場比以往更具活力,製造商必須儘快抓住市場佔有率以獲得投資報酬。」Read 指出,「高品質輸出一直以來都很重要,但今天最大的競爭動力來自速度與成本。這樣的現況使得客戶的支援需求隨之改變。」

速度就是競爭優勢

由於高投資成本和高度市場競爭,半導體製造商必須以前所未有的速度提高產量與良率。在啟動階段,應用材料的安裝團隊以其軟體專業知識為後盾,大幅地縮減機台安裝和最佳化的時間。

以平均生產周期天數來看,相較於傳統擴大量產所需天數,應用材料能以 15% 更快的速度完成。此外,在啟動階段使用先進分析已證明可大幅地減少故障排除時間,使得整體生產周期改善 25%。

Read 指出應用材料的 FabVantage™ 諮詢團隊提供反應室匹配和缺陷減少等技術整合服務,讓客戶可準時將重要新 IC 推出上市。

在大量生產製造中,應用材料可透過更快速的故障排除、有效預防性維護 (PM) 策略和壽命延長零件,協助機台達到最大適用性並降低營運成本。在一個案例中,AGS 最佳化 PM 程序和排程協助一間晶圓廠客戶改善離子佈植機群運行時間 4% 以上,並額外生產 150,000 個以上晶圓。

多層級專家網絡

應用材料客戶工程師 (CE) 始終站在第一線解決客戶生產機台的問題,目前我們已在全球部署了 5,000 多名客戶工程師。應用材料還發展了全面性的專家網絡,其中囊括了具備專業技能及訓練的客戶工程師;這些工程師除了具備專業知識之外,亦能應用數位工具及其他支援方式協助客戶。

AGS 中 央 營 運 副 總 裁 Brent Bloom 表示,公司從幾年前便開始進一步改善多層級專家網絡的概念;透過資深技術支援工程師和大範圍擴展的知識庫來加強前線客戶工程師的能力。「我們一直不斷提升每個層級專家的能力,磨練他們在專業領域的技能和水準。每個層級和技能團隊都有一個認證過程,包括機台安裝特派團隊、技術支援、軟體工程師等。訓練課程和認證程序皆不斷的在擴展。」Bloom表示。

「今天,每一位客戶工程師,不論其專業背景如何,皆可隨時使用專家網絡。正是這些有線上工具後援的多層級專家網絡,提供了改善客戶體驗的重要機會。我們往往能在客戶遭遇到麻煩之前先發現他們在不同操作行為上的問題。 」 Bloom 表示。

運用大數據

晶圓廠每日產生的數據量非常驚人 (圖 3)。因此晶圓廠管理者面臨的挑戰就是從這些數據中找出可加速實現良率的資訊。

圖 3. 在晶圓廠擷取的大量數據為改善生產良率製造機會。( 資料來源:VLSI 研究與應用材料 )

應用材料針對機台量身打造的獨家數位工具、演算法和模型,可將原始數據轉換為可用的分析資訊,在保護客戶數據的前提下同時幫助客戶縮短啟動時間、增加晶圓輸出、減少晶圓報廢率、並提高良率等。

以原始數據所得的分析資訊中,如多元偵錯,已被證明可改善晶圓效能。AGS 的多元反應室健全指數 (CHI) 可即時監測偏差,而設備健全監控 (EHM) 則以感測器詳細追踪硬體的各項活動。

案例分享,客戶希望能夠在磊晶反應室的製程鑑定試驗期間準確預測厚度、摻雜程度和電阻率。AGS 工程師為此開發了分析模型,讓客戶得以縮短 40% 的製程調整時間。另一個案例則是運用多種關鍵感測器建立蝕刻製程 CHI 以即時監測偏差,如此便能在問題出現前先觸發 PM。

James Moyne ( 應用材料公司顧問以及密西根大學機械工程系副研究員 ) 表示,深度學習是應用材料公司用來檢測問題並提高良率的眾多技術之一。在晶圓廠內,預測性量測、預測性維護 (PdM) 以及更多來自機台上感測器的數據,都必須整合到知識收集網絡中。對於預測何時該提前更換某個零件這類相對簡單的事情來說,若在有足夠的良好數據來訂定適當模型的前提之下,PdM 技術已被證實是可行的。

其他涉及較多較複雜並交互影響的問題仍舊難解,但也已有重大進展。PdM 的成功很大程度上取決於收集到多少關於之前錯誤模式的數據。「我們需要足夠的準確數據來了解是什麼導致錯誤的發生。沒有合適的數據便很難建立 PdM 系統。此系統猶如業界寵兒;但若好數據不夠多,就做不到。」Moyne 表示。預測性維護「有非常強勁的潛在投資報酬率 (ROI)。這就是今日晶圓廠要邁向的目標。」

以 FabVantage 處理困難問題

FabVantage 諮 詢 團 隊 幫 助客戶解決最複雜的難題,如成本、效率、良率等。以實例說明, FabVantage 分析結果協助客戶將 PVD 氮化鈦 (TiN) 硬遮罩上的微粒添加從每晶片 16 個減少到 9 個微粒。另一案例中,FabVantage 以反應室匹配法匹配臨界線寬 (CD) 和溝槽深度,在 2x-nm DRAM 產線的蝕刻反應室群 ( 機群 ) 上,達到小 於 0.5 奈米 的 CD 範 圍 ( 參閱本期關於機群最佳化的全新FabVantage 能力相關報導 )。

FabVantage 諮詢團隊運用先進模擬和分析工具以及應用材料廣大的知識庫,與服務團隊合作將晶圓廠運作與業界最佳效能進行基準比較,確保機台能以最佳效能運作。他們會查核機台和製程配方,並使用感測器和晶圓表面數據找出關鍵問題。該團隊由專業、具實際經驗和機台知識的專家所組成。這些專家會運用已知最佳實務和專業知識來幫助客戶區隔出問題並儘快找出可能的解決方案並著手處理。

客製化供應鏈

應用材料是業界中擁有全球最大認證零件庫存的公司之一。應用材料具備強大的物流基礎設施,提供多管道和零件交付計劃,滿足每個晶圓廠的獨特需求。

Read 總結:「我們透過人力專家、知識數據庫和強大的零件供應商網絡,不斷努力為半導體產業提供服務,竭力將資本投資完全轉換成生產力。」

欲知詳情,請聯絡 amitabh_sabharwahl@amat.com.

skip to main content

Applied Materials Technology-Enabled Services Support Next-Generation Manufacturing

By David Lammers

As Moore’s Law has been stretched and the industry has become more global, more capital intensive, and more competitive, the focus of fab managers has expanded beyond device- and equipment breakthroughs to include significant advances in service technologies to boost the efficiency of semiconductor fabs.

The underappreciated reality is that the very trends grabbing so much attention— materials engineering, remote access, deep learning, and augmented reality—are radically changing how the Applied Global Services (AGS) group supports its forward thinking customers. From development through production, as device specifications become more stringent, technology-enabled services such as those from AGS can help customers achieve important yield, output and cost improvements at every step of the fab life cycle. These services are created on four pillars (figure 1):
  • Surface technology, such as advanced cleaning and coatings solutions
  • A large and growing network of experts who provide layers of specialized skills and experience for various solutions
  • Digital tools such as advanced analytics and sensor modeling that empower field service engineers to more effectively resolve customer issues
  • A tailored supply chain designed to address customers’ unique needs and streamline global operations to provide efficient, cost-effective solutions

Figure 1. Applied technology-enabled services can help deliver significant improvements in yield, output and cost.

Jeremy Read is vice president of service marketing for AGS.

Semiconductor industry revenues exceeded $419 billion in 2017, and forecasts call for about $450 billion this year, up nearly 8%, according to market research firm Gartner. “This larger scale and rate of growth make it imperative that fabs operate at peak efficiencies,” said Jeremy Read, Applied Global Services (AGS) vice president of services marketing. “With nearly every fab operating now at full capacity, collaboration is essential.”

In such a fast-moving industry, semiconductor companies have begun to engage with AGS’s Services organization much earlier than ever before in the fab life cycle. Read said that by identifying and solving problems during the development and transfer-to-volume-manufacturing phases, customers can ramp volume production faster and reach optimum yields earlier, significantly improving revenues and margins (figure 2).

Figure 2. Identifying and solving problems before high-volume manufacturing can result in faster production ramp and earlier, higher yields.

“End-markets are more dynamic than ever, and manufacturers need to seize market share and generate return on invested capital as fast as possible,” Read said. “Quality output is always important, but today, speed and cost are huge competitive drivers. Customers’ support requirements are changing to reflect these new realities.”

SPEED IS A COMPETITIVE ADVANTAGE

Due to high capital costs and market competition, semiconductor manufacturers must ramp and yield more quickly than ever. During the startup phase, Applied’s installation teams, backed by software expertise, have sharply reduced the time needed to install and optimize tools. Applied has been able to achieve fab ramps 15% faster than traditional ramps, in terms of average cycle-time days. Further, the use of advanced analytics during startup has been shown to dramatically reduce troubleshooting time, improving overall cycle time by 25%.

Read said that technology-enabled services such as chamber matching and defect reduction from Applied’s FabVantage™ Consulting group allow customers to bring important new ICs to market on time.

In high-volume manufacturing, Applied helps maximize tool availability and reduce operating costs with faster troubleshooting, efficient preventive maintenance (PM) strategies, and extended-lifetime parts. In one case, AGS optimized PM procedures and schedules, helping a customer achieve a more than 4% uptime improvement for a fleet of ion implanters, and produce >150,000 additional wafers.

A LAYERED NETWORK OF EXPERTS

Applied customer engineers (CEs) are always on the front line of solving problems with customers’ production tools, and the company currently has over 5,000 of them deployed worldwide. Applied also has developed a comprehensive network of experts with specialized skills and training who augment the capabilities of a CE, often using digital tools and other supporting methodologies and expertise.

Brent Bloom, vice president of AGS central operations, said the company began refining the concept of a layered network of experts several years ago, with front-line CEs fortified by senior technical support engineers and a greatly expanded knowledge database. “We have been refining each level of expert to hone their specific area of proficiency. Every level and skill group has a certification process, including the dedicated tool install teams, tech support, software engineers, and others. In each case the training team has expanded the curriculum and certification programs,” Bloom said.

“Today each CE, regardless of background, has ready access to a network of experts. It is those layers of specialized expertise, backed by online tools, that has provided major opportunities to improve the customer experience. Sometimes we can detect issues in various operational behaviors even before the customer knows they are having a problem,” he said.

LEVERAGING BIG DATA

The amount of data generated daily by fabs is astounding (figure 3). So the challenge for fab managers is to tap into that data for information that will support faster time to yields.

Figure 3. An explosion of data captured in fabs creates opportunities to improve production yields. (Source: VLSI Research and Applied Materials)

Applied Materials’ proprietary digital tools, algorithms, and models are tailored specifically to its tools and can transform raw data into actionable analytics to help reduce startup times, increase wafer output, reduce wafer scrap and improve yield— all while protecting customer data.

Analytics such as multivariate fault detection are proving capable of improving within-wafer performance. AGS’s multivariate chamber health index (CHI) monitors excursions in real time, and equipment health monitoring (EHM) tracks sensors that detail hardware activity.

In one case, a customer needed the ability to accurately predict thickness, dopant levels, and resistivity during process qualification of its epi chambers. AGS engineers developed analytical models to enable the customer to reduce process tuning time by 40%. In another instance, a CHI was developed that leveraged multiple critical sensors for the etching process so that a PM could be triggered before problems arose.

James Moyne, a consultant to Applied Materials and an associate research scientist in the Mechanical Engineering Department at the University of Michigan, said deep learning is one of many techniques that Applied can use to detect issues and boost yields. In the fabs, predictive metrology, predictive maintenance (PdM), and more data coming from more sensors on the tools, must all be coordinated into a knowledge gathering network. For relatively simple things, such as predicting how far in advance a single part needs to be replaced, PdM techniques have been proven to work, provided there is enough good data to develop adequate models.

Other problems involving more complex interactions remain harder to solve, but significant strides are being made in this area. Much of PdM’s success depends on how much data has been collected about previous failure patterns. “To understand all of the reactions leading up to a failure, we need enough accurate data. Without the right kinds of data, it is hard to have PdM systems. is like the golden child; just out of reach if you don’t have enough good data,” Moyne said. Predictive maintenance “has really strong potential ROI [return on investment]. It is where today’s fabs want to go.”

FABVANTAGE FOR CHALLENGING PROBLEMS

The FabVantage Consulting group helps customers address their most complex problems, whether they involve cost, efficiency or yield. For example, a FabVantage analysis for one customer resulted in reduced particle adders on a PVD TiN hardmask, from 16 to 9 particles per wafer. In another, FabVantage chamber-matching methodology matched critical dimensions (CD) and trench depth to achieve a chamber-to-chamber CD range of <0.5nm on a fleet of etch chambers in 2x-nm DRAM production (see related story in this issue on the new FabVantage capability for fleet optimization).

FabVantage consultants use advanced modeling and analytical tools and Applied’s extensive knowledge base to work with service teams to benchmark fab operations against best-in-class performance to ensure that tools are operating at optimum performance. Tools and recipes are audited, and sensor and on-wafer data is used to pinpoint key issues. This team is composed of experts with specialized, hands-on experience and tool knowledge. They leverage best known practices and specific expertise to help customers isolate problems and get to potential remedies faster.

TAILORED SUPPLY CHAIN

Applied maintains one of the industry’s largest global inventories of certified spare parts. With a robust logistics infrastructure, Applied offers multiple channels and spare part delivery programs to meet the unique needs of every fab.

Read summed it up: “Helping customers with human experts, knowledge databases, and a robust network of spares suppliers is part of our continual effort to serve a semiconductor industry striving to wring every ounce of productivity from its capital investments.”

For additional information, contact amitabh_sabharwahl@amat.com.