skip to main content

提高应用材料公司 VIISta™离子注入机生产效率

使高电流、中电流和高能耗设备正常运行时间延长 3-5%,生产小时数增加 3-5%

By: Daniel Simon

离子注入设备对半导体制造厂商必不可少,因为制造栅极和阱等晶体管结构时必须向硅 中注入砷、硼和磷等掺杂剂。无论客户是生产最先进的 300 毫米数字逻辑和存储电路, 是利用 200 毫米工艺构建模拟、功率和其他产品,还是制造 CMOS 图像传感器,都需要 离子注入设备。

在这样的背景下,整个行业都需要离子注入机能达到更高的生产效率。老牌的晶圆制造厂因空间受限而无法安装更多的设备,可能更注重提升现有注入机的产出。高产量晶圆制造厂则可能注重较长的正常运行时间和更高的晶圆产出,以缓解设备产能局限。无论哪种情况,寻求获得更高的设备投资回报 (ROI) 的制造厂家都认识到,提升生产效率是实现更低总拥有成本的有效途径。

为帮助客户提升其离子注入机的生产效率,应用材料公司推出了应用材料注入机管理服务 (Implant Applied Managed Service™)。这一综合性的服务能使应用材料公司的高电流、中电流和高能耗 VIISta™ 注入机正常运行时间延长 3-5%,生产小时数增加 3-5%。其结果是大幅增加了客户注入机机组的晶圆总产出量。

应用材料管理服务是旨在通过满足特定的矫正性和预防性维护要求来提升设备性能,从而提升客户运营效率的服务协议。该服务提供应用材料公司正品非消耗部件和托管存货支持。服务内容包括非消耗部件的优先支持和停机时的现场快速响应。

全新应用材料注入机管理服务的两个关键性能指标 (KPI) 是正常运行时间和产出。这两个指标与国际半导体产业协会 (SEMI) 的 E10《设备可靠性、可用性和可维护性定义与测量规范》挂钩,普遍用于设备和晶圆制造厂的性能测量和基准 衡量。

为展示这一新服务的价值,我们来看一家晶圆制造厂的例子。该厂配备 6 台离子注入机,年产出晶圆 440 万片。借助应用材料注入机管理服务,晶圆年产出增长 4.2%,整个机组每年多生产 185,000 片晶圆。如果每片晶圆价值 10 美元,离子束微调带来的晶圆产出收益可达 180 万美元。

生产效率多重提升

应用材料注入机管理服务实现的生产效率提升,是多重改进带来的共同结果。这包括更快更好的离子束微调、优化的配方、晶圆厂设备之间更低的变化性、下游设备更少的潜在瓶颈、更少的停机时间(包括计划和非计划停机)、更多的预测性维护建议、更快的纠正措施和更短的功能恢复 时间。

为实现这一切,应用材料公司将根据客户要求提供一整套资源,包括:

  • 先进的分析解决方案,有助于实现更高的晶圆产出和更长的正常生产运行时间。
  • 客户工程师 (CE) 设备监控仪表板。
  • 减少维护要求、增加平均无故障时间 (MTTF) 的替代型材料部件。(见图 1)
  • 无需额外成本情况下保证部件供应(针对转盘、机械臂和处理器)以及部件维修/翻新服务。
  • 经过离子注入应用和设备高级培训的资深工程师,由应用材料公司现场服务型服务器提供算法和预测模型来给予 支持。
  • 先进预防性维护 (PM) 和已知最佳做法 (BKM)。
  • FabVantage 360™ 性能评估(如需达到客户协议中规定的KPI)。


图 1. 全新应用材料注入机管理服务涵盖所有必要的部件,而没有额外成本,包括减少维护需求和拥有更长 MTTF 的替代型材料部件。上图显示了可根据需要包括在内的一些离子源部件。

应用材料注入机管理服务利用一套由应用材料公司现场服务型服务器提供的精细数据分析法(例如应用材料公司客户工程师为优化设备以提高产出和可靠性而使用的专有晶圆制造厂仪表板及技术数据库)。

应用材料公司的先进分析法包括单变量分析 (UVA)、设备匹配、预测性维护和先进的故障排查技术。这些分析解决方案源于应用材料公司独特而广泛的设备及工艺知识储备,体现了公司过去 50 年来作为一流设备 OEM 厂商和一流服务提供商为全球数百家晶圆制造厂提供优质服务的悠久历史和行业地位。

有了可资行动的分析法,应用材料公司的客户工程师就可观察并分析实时设备和生产数据,然后将其与已知的 BKM 数值比较,精确锁定可改进的环节。

每日报告、每周报告和按需报告提供有关所有影响生产效率的相关状况的关键信息,例如不当的配方参数、设备性能的不一致之处,以及因设备机械臂组件产生的机械问题。应用材料公司的客户工程师利用这一信息来优化客户的注入设备,实现更优的性能和更高的晶圆产出。

每日报告概述了所有 UVA 并凸显设备存在的问题,具体到设备模块、配方等(见图 2)。


图 2. 左图为每日仪表板报告,显示了离子源预测性维护 (PdM) 和离子束微调状态以及主要部件总成的健康情况。当黄色/红色指示灯表明设备存在问题时,应用材料公司的客户工程师会利用右侧更进一步的 UVA 图表来诊断并快速处理相关情况。

每周报告概述了离子束微调成功率和微调时长,以锁定并解决设备和配方存在的问题(见图 3)。


图 3. 上方左图为每周仪表板报告,按照设备和配方显示设备性能。红色、橙色和黄色方块表示性能不合标准。应用材料公司的客户工程师利用右上方的数据转化功能来获得右下方所列的设备建议。

已获证明的性能表现

应用材料注入机管理服务已在全球多家客户的晶圆制造厂成功部署。这包括生产存储器件、模拟产品、CMOS 逻辑器件和 CMOS 图像传感器的晶圆制造厂。有些客户主要希望增加其注入设备的正常运行时间,还有些客户最主要的需求是提高晶圆产量。

图 4 显示了一家客户在 6 台设备组成的机组中如何实现平均 4% 以上的正常运行时间延长。基准性能的改善 (88%) 通过以下方式实现:(a) 使用离子束微调优化;(b) 10 个分析模型和设备健康状况检查;(c) 基于健康状况检查数据的“翻新”部件;(d) 部件及时供应和更强的备件库存;(e) 特定的客户工程师技能和资源专用于处理生产效率问题。


图 4. 新的应用材料注入机管理服务帮助一家客户在 6 台设备组成的机组中实现了平均 >4% 的正常运行时间延长。

在另一个案例中,应用材料注入机管理服务帮助一家 300 毫米晶圆制造客户满足了因新产品产量攀升而新增的生产需求。在三个月时间中,通过减少系统变化性和预防性/矫正性维护所需的时间,以及优化产品配方和部件,离子注入机的正常运行时间延长了 5.8%(见图 5)。


图 5. 应用材料注入机管理服务帮助一家 300 毫米晶圆制造客户满足了因新产品产量攀升而新增的生产需求,在三个月时间中将离子注入机的正常运行时间延长了 5.8%。

这一新的管理服务帮助另一家客户实现注入机机组总生产时间增加 4.2%。应用材料公司的客户工程师利用应用材料公司专有的 FSS 平台执行数据分析,确定了与参考数据相比,客户设备的弧/束流比率过高,而气流过低,从而进行相应改进,使这一结果得以实现。

配方参数优化后,离子束微调成功率从 75% 升至 100%,程序所需时间缩短一半,从六分钟降为三分钟(见图 6)。


图 6. 客户采用应用材料注入机管理服务后的实际数据。在所有设备配方中,离子束微调时间均实现缩短,而离子束微调成功率均实现提升。

结论

应用材料注入机管理服务可以让使用应用材料公司 VIISta™ 离子注入机的客户大幅提升生产效率。该服务旨在帮助客户提高晶圆产量,增加正常运行时间,减少机组在正常运行时间上的变化性,并增强识别和处理棘手问题的能力。

这项新服务是一整套涵盖广泛、不断扩展的灵活创新型服务产品的一个部分,全套服务旨在确保客户的应用材料设备和制造厂尽可能有效且高产地运行。

欲知详情,请联系 daniel_simon@ amat.com.

skip to main content

Higher Productivity for Applied VIISta™ Ion Implanters

Achieve 3–5% increased tool uptime and a 3–5% boost in productive hours for high-current, medium-current and high-energy tools

By Daniel Simon

Ion implant tools are essential for semiconductor manufacturing because dopants such as arsenic, boron and phosphorous must be implanted into silicon to fabricate transistor structures such as gates and wells. This holds true whether customers produce the most advanced 300mm digital logic and memory circuits; use 200mm processes to build analog, power and other products; or make CMOS image sensors.

Thus the need to achieve higher productivity from ion implanters reaches across the industry. In older fabs where space constraints prohibit installation of additional tools, the focus may be on boosting the output of existing implanters. High-volume fabs may be focused on high uptime and more wafers out to relieve tool throughput constraints. In all cases, manufacturers seeking a higher financial return on investment (ROI) from their tools recognize that higher productivity is an effective way to achieve a lower overall cost of ownership.

To help customers increase the productivity of their ion implanters, Applied Materials has introduced Implant Applied Managed Service.™ This comprehensive service offering provides a 3–5% increase in tool uptime with an additional 3–5% increase in productive hours for high-current, medium-current, and high-energy Applied Materials VIISta™ implanters. The result is a significant total increase in wafer output for a customer’s fleet of implant tools.

Applied Managed Service offerings are service agreements designed to increase a customer’s operational efficiency by addressing specific corrective and preventive maintenance requirements to improve tool performance. They provide genuine Applied Materials non-consumable parts and managed inventory support. Priority support for non-consumable parts is provided, as is rapid on-site response for downs.

The two key performance indicators (KPIs) for the new Implant Applied Managed Service are uptime and output. These are tied to SEMI’s E10 Specification for Definition and Measurement of Equipment Reliability, Availability, and Maintainability, and are commonly used to measure and benchmark tool and fab performance.

Multiple Productivity Improvements

The higher productivity enabled by the Implant Applied Managed Service is a result of the combined effects of multiple improvements. They include faster and better ion beam-tuning, optimized recipes, reduced variability among a fab’s tools, fewer potential bottlenecks in downstream tools, less downtime (both planned and unscheduled), greater predictive maintenance inputs, faster corrective action, and faster green-to-green times. To accomplish all of this, Applied Materials will provide a wide array of resources based on customer requirements, including:

  • Advanced analytical solutions that enable more wafers out and more productive uptime.
  • Customer engineer (CE) tool-monitoring dashboards.
  • Alternative-materials parts that reduce maintenance requirements and increase mean time to failure (MTTF). (See figure 1.)
  • Guaranteed parts availability at no additional cost (for the platen, robotics and processors) and parts repair/ refurbishment services.
  • Experienced engineers with advanced training in ion implantation applications and tools, enabled by algorithms and predictive models from the Applied Materials field service server.
  • Advanced preventive maintenance (PM) and best known methods (BKMs).
  • A FabVantage 360™ performance assessment (if needed to meet the KPIs specified in the customer agreement).


Figure 1. All required parts are included at no extra cost in the new Implant Applied Managed Service, such as alternative materials parts that reduce maintenance needs and have a longer MTTF. Shown above are some of the ion source parts that may be included as needed.

The Implant Applied Managed Service makes use of a suite of sophisticated data analytics enabled by Applied’s field service server, such as a proprietary fab dashboard and technical data warehouse that Applied CEs use to optimize tools for increased output and reliability.

Applied Materials advanced analytics encompass univariate analysis (UVA), tool matching, predictive maintenance, and advanced troubleshooting techniques. These analytical solutions are derived from Applied’s unique and extensive tool- and process knowledge base, reflecting the company’s position both as the leading tool OEM and as a leading service provider to hundreds of fabs worldwide over the past 50 years.

With actionable analytics, Applied CEs can observe and analyze real-time tool and production data and then compare it to known BKM values to pinpoint areas that can be improved.

Daily, weekly and on-demand reports provide critical information on all relevant conditions affecting productivity, such as incorrect recipe parameters, inconsistencies in tool performance, and mechanical issues arising from a tool’s robotic components. Applied CEs use this information to optimize the customer’s implant tools and achieve better performance and more wafers out.

The daily reports summarize all UVAs and highlight tool issues, pointing to specific tool modules, recipes, etc. (see figure 2).


Figure 2. At left is a daily dashboard report showing ion source predictive maintenance (PdM) and beam-tuning status, and the health of major assemblies. When a yellow/red indicator shows a tool issue, Applied CEs use the drill-down UVA charts on the right to diagnose and quickly address the situation.

The weekly reports summarize the beam-tune success rate and the duration of beam-tuning, in order to localize and fix tool and recipe issues (see figure 3).


Figure 3. Above on the left is a weekly dashboard report showing tool performance per tool and per recipe. Red, orange, and yellow squares indicate substandard performance. Applied CEs use data transformation at top right to derive tool recommendations listed at bottom right.

Demonstrated Performance

Implant Applied Managed Service has been successfully deployed at a number of customer fabs around the world. These include fabs that manufacture memory devices, analog products, CMOS logic devices and CMOS imagers. Some customers mostly want to increase uptime from their implant tools, while the paramount need for others is to increase wafer output.

Figure 4 shows how one customer achieved a more than 4% average uptime improvement across a fleet of 6 tools. The improvement over baseline performance (88%) was achieved through: (a) the use of beam-tune optimization; (b) 10 analytical models and tool health checks; (c) “refreshed” parts based on health-check data; (d) parts availability and increased inventories of spares; and (e) the dedication of specific CE skills and resources to address productivity issues.


Figure 4. The new Implant Applied Managed Service helped one customer achieve >4% average uptime improvement across a fleet of 6 tools.

In another case, Implant Applied Managed Service helped a 300mm customer meet upcoming production demands driven by the ramp-up of a new product. Ion implanter uptime was increased by 5.8% over a 3-month period by reducing system variability and the time needed for preventive/corrective maintenance, and by optimizing product recipes and parts (see figure 5).


Figure 5. Implant Applied Managed Service helped a 300mm customer increase ion implanter uptime by 5.8% over a 3-month period, which enabled the fab to meet upcoming production demands driven by the ramp-up of a new product.

This new managed service helped another customer attain a 4.2% increase in overall productive time across its fleet of implanter tools. The result was achieved after Applied CEs performed data analytics using Applied’s proprietary FSS platform, which determined that the tools’ arc-to-beam current ratio was too high, and gas flow was too low, compared to reference data.

Once the recipe parameters were optimized, the beam-tune success rate went from 75% to 100%, and the time needed for the procedure was cut in half, from six minutes to three (see figure 6).


Figure 6. Actual customer data following an Implant Applied Managed Service engagement. The beam-tune time was driven down for all tool recipes, and the beam-tune success rate was increased.

Conclusion

Implant Applied Managed Service can deliver significantly improved productivity to customers who use Applied Materials VIISta™ ion implanters. It is specifically designed to help them achieve greater wafer output, increased uptimes, reduced variability in uptimes across a fleet of tools, and a greater ability to identify and address difficult problems.

This new offering is part of a broad and ever expanding portfolio of flexible, innovative service products designed to ensure that customers’ Applied tools and fabs run as efficiently and productively as possible.

For additional information, contact daniel_simon@ amat.com.