skip to main content

退后一步看畫布

New FabVantage 360™ Assessment Help Identify Gaps in Tools and Fabs

Avi Edelstein and Helen Armer

画家在畫畫時經常會退后一步看畫板,由此重新審視並評估自己的作品。隻有通過更寬闊的視角審視自己的作品,畫家才能確定什麼是行得通的,什麼是行不通的,以及下一步如何應對。[1]

同樣地,晶圓制造廠的管理人員也可以“退后一步”審視整體運行情況,以評估生產流程和設備性能。哪些機床性能欠佳?設備常量設置正確嗎?與已知最佳方法 (BKM) 相比較會有幫助嗎?如何延長運行時間?我廠達到最大可能的產出了嗎?實現最高投資回報率了嗎?

本文介紹了應用材料公司新推出的基准衡量服務FabVantage 360。一家晶圓制造廠利用這一服務,發掘機遇,將產出提升了 25%,並減少了微粒和缺陷。

FabVantage 360 — 更廣闊的視角

為幫助晶圓制造廠的高管回答以上問題,以更佳視角審視自身工廠的運行,應用材料公司 FabVantage 咨詢部開發了一項新的評估服務:FabVantage 360。這項服務提供個體化的基准測量,參照世界一流性能數據和已知最佳方法,為所評估的機組找出改善機會。

常規的 FabVantage 評估一般關注某一具體的領域(例如機床產出),而FabVantage 360 全面評估則提供一個更為廣闊的視角。FabVantage 360 高屋建瓴,找出改善機床和工廠運行的更多機會,並幫助客戶更好地預估這些改善所帶來的影響。

整體分析

FabVantage 360 評估參照已安裝的類似機床並對照專有的已知最佳方法來分析設備性能。這項分析從整體角度審視機床性能,並在聚焦某些性能方面的難題時,找出那些可能相互交錯或隱藏的因素。它也使得客戶通過將找出的機會一一進行量化,對改善計劃進行優先排序。例如,分析可能表明清洗方法欠佳導致產能損失、微粒增多、運行時間下降。

綜合記分卡

為完成評估,FabVantage 360 團隊開發了一張綜合記分卡,通過大約 24 項指標對客戶的晶圓制造廠的運行績效進行基准評估。記分卡涵蓋機床性能的四類指標:配置、維護、單位制程和產出(見表 1)。這四類指標合在一起,全面衡量機床對晶圓制造廠可變性、成品率和產出的影響。這些指標的記分採用百分制,0% 代表同類最差 (WIC),100%代表同類最佳 (BIC)。

表 1. FabVantage360 評估所用的機床性能指標。

一般而言,晶圓制造廠高管需要改善瓶頸設備或對成品率至關重要的設備的性能時,會使用 FabVantage 360 評估服務。FabVantage 360 對每項機床性能指標的差距進行量化,並輔以深厚的專業知識展開分析。

記分卡示例

圖 1. FabVantage 360 評估向客戶收集詳細的機床數據,並據此提供一張綜合記分卡,對照同類最佳值以識別機床性能存在的 差距。本示例包含生成記分卡所用的數據,並含一張概括性蛛網圖,以圖形方式展示性能差距。

圖 1 展示 300 毫米 HDP UltimaX 腔體的 FabVantage 360 記分卡樣本部分。該樣本被一家邏輯器件制程廠用於淺溝渠 填充。所示結果具有代表性,但僅用於示例。這幾類指標包 括 (A) 配置、(B) 維護、(C) 單位制程和 (D) 產出。

12 個 UltimaX 腔體可用 9 項升級。僅 RPS 旁路在全部腔體上安裝,在缺陷率、成本和產能上獲 得全面收益。一些腔體升級了 GT 擋板 (#8) 和冷氣輸送組 (#9)。其他升級裝置未安裝,因此失 去降低缺陷率的機會。類似地,並非所有機床都安裝了最新軟件,因此未能利用最新功能並導 致機床間差異。

在維護程序方面,FabVantage 360 評估服務將客戶的檢查表與建議的檢查表及頻率做對比。記 分顯示有多少項檢查、校准、清洗和更換任務已完成,並提供關鍵部件優質 OEM 備件的供 應信息。性能指標完成基准評估,表明對功能恢復時間和 PM 成功率有何影響。在本示例 中,客戶未遵照建議的次數開展維護活動,結果功能恢復時間長達 75 小時,而同類最佳值為 18 小時。PM 成功率也受到影響,僅為 74%,導致更多的時間浪費和返工,也造成質量風 險。

FabVantage 360 評估服務也對照特定制程的關鍵傳感器列表來測評客戶監控的傳感器,由此評 估故障檢測與分類 (FDC) 方法。評估中也將一般 FDC 方法與已知最佳方法對比,並突出有機 會改善的領域。本圖表明客戶隻監控了 51% 的關鍵傳感器,數據採樣速率和黃金參考數據均有 改善空間。“微粒”表還表明,微粒數量高達 24,而基准數量為 5,顯得過高,表明存在 80% 的改善空間。

如圖 1D 所示,客戶的運行時間為 90.2%,在基准范圍內;雖然 計劃停機時間接近基准值最末端,但因計劃外停機狀況良好, 整體性能得到一定的補償。性能指標從另一視角評估預防性維護 表現問題,包括功能恢復 (GtG) 時間長、預防性維護成功率低。

為評估產出性能,FabVantage 團隊參照基准值評估計劃停機時間、計劃外停機時間和產能。 FabVantage 專家也分析制造批次以強調隱藏的機床佔用情況。這項分析揭示了制程優化和匹 配方面存在的機會,能平衡各機床的利用,從而縮短設備組的循環周期。


Performance Gaps in Sample Evaluation

要點

導致預防性維護表現糟糕的原因可能包括未使用已知最佳 部件以及未遵照規定的預防性維護程序,例如,未按建議頻率更 換部件,未實施規定的校准等。導致微粒數量高的原因還包括預 防性維護程序不到位,未利用能降低缺陷率的升級裝置,以及設 備常量設置不正確。

預防性維護表現糟糕和微粒數量高的另一原因與各機床之間 的匹配問題有關。在這個示例中,各張機床的軟件修訂版本不相 匹配。加上設備常量設置不正確,這或許是造成機床佔用率高、 進而降低了機組產出的原因。

FabVantage 360 評估通過一張 SEMI E10 設備狀態圖就可以呈 現機床正常運行時間和非正常運行時間的演算數據。如圖 2 所 示,雖然機床開工時間佔 80%,低產能導致機床總生產效率僅為 63.6%。這個例子清晰地表明存在一個隱藏的改善機會:通過改 進維護方法和設備設置,可增加 25% 的產出。其他機會包括通過 更佳的故障檢測和分類方法減少顆粒和缺陷並改善制程控制。

圖 2. 一項 FabVantage 360 評估的 SEMI E10 設備狀態圖示例, 顯示這套由四張機床組成的機組生產效率低下。

結論

據說法國畫家亨利·馬蒂斯 (Henri Matisse) 會花很長的時 間看自己的畫,一邊反思已經落筆的部分,一邊構思下一筆。 他會在畫布前遠遠地舉著畫筆,在空中緩緩運筆,先測試不同 的筆觸,然后在畫布上落下一筆。[1]

類似地,FabVantage 360 評估為客戶提供了其晶圓制造 廠的“總貌”,使他們能靜心構思提高收益的下一“筆”。 FabVantage 360 評估提供的寶貴的數據可用於對各項計劃做優先 性排序,並量化投資回報率。它以全球同類最佳設施為參照, 以簡單而又有效的方式來提供客戶的機床性能和工廠運行狀況。

欲知詳情,請聯系 avi_edelstein@amat.com.

[1] Fred Mandell 與 Kathleen Jordon (2010年),《成為改變人生的藝術家:在人生任何階段隨時重塑自我的七種創新技巧》,紐約,NY: Penguin Avery Books。亦可通過以下網址查閱https://books.google.com/books?isbn=110144231X

skip to main content

Stepping Back from the Canvas

New FabVantage 360™ Assessment Help Identify Gaps in Tools and Fabs

Avi Edelstein and Helen Armer

When working on a painting, artists regularly step back from the canvas to refocus and evaluate their work. Only by taking a broad view can the artist determine what’s working, what’s not, and what to do about it.[1]

Similarly, fab managers can “step back” from their overall operations to evaluate process and equipment performance. Which tools are underperforming? Are equipment constants set correctly? Could a comparison to best known methods (BKMs) help? How could uptime improve? Is my fab output as high as it could be—and am I maximizing ROI?

This article introduces a new Applied Materials benchmarking offering, FabVantage 360, which for one fab uncovered opportunities to increase output by 25% as well as reduce particles and defects.

FabVantage 360 — A Broader Perspective

To help fab executives answer the questions above and gain a better perspective on their operations, the Applied Materials FabVantage Consulting Group has developed a new assessment capability, FabVantage 360. This offering provides a differentiated benchmarking capability to identify opportunities relative to world-class performance and BKMs for evaluated toolsets.

Unlike conventional FabVantage assessments, which normally focus on a specific area of concern (such as tool output), a comprehensive FabVantage 360 evaluation delivers a much broader perspective. By taking a wider view, FabVantage 360 can identify more opportunities for tool and fab improvement and help better estimate the impact of these improvements.

Holistic Approach

A FabVantage 360 assessment compares equipment performance against similar tools across the installed base and relative to proprietary BKMs. The analysis provides a holistic view of a tool’s performance and can indicate factors that may be interdependent or hidden when the focus is limited to specific performance challenges. It also enables customers to prioritize improvement projects by quantifying the magnitude of each identified opportunity. For example, an analysis may reveal that suboptimal cleaning practices are resulting in throughput loss, higher particles, and lower uptime.

Comprehensive Scorecard

To complete an assessment, the FabVantage 360 team develops a comprehensive scorecard that benchmarks a customer’s fab performance on about two dozen metrics. The scorecard covers metrics in four categories of tool performance—configuration, maintenance, unit process, and output (see table 1). Together, these categories give a picture of a tool’s impact on fab variability, yield, and output. The metrics are scored on a scale of 0%, representing worst in class (WIC), to 100%, representing best in class (BIC).

Table 1. Metrics for tool performance used in FabVantage 360 assessments.

Typically, fab executives engage in a FabVantage 360 assessment when they need to identify opportunities to improve performance of equipment that is bottlenecked or critical for yield performance. The FabVantage 360 analysis quantifies gaps in each tool-performance metric, augmented by deep domain knowledge.

Example Scorecard

A FabVantage 360 assessment involves collecting detailed tool data from customers in exchange for providing a comprehensive scorecard that identifies tool performance gaps relative to BIC. These examples illustrates the data used to generate the scorecard, along with a summary spider chart that graphically shows performance gaps.

Figure 1 illustrates sample sections from a FabVantage 360 scorecard for a 300mm HDP UltimaX chamber used for STI gapfill in a logic fab. The results shown are representative and used for illustrative purposes only. Sections highlighted include (A) configuration, (B) maintenance, (C) unit process, and (D) output.

Nine upgrades are available for the 12 UltimaX chambers. Only the RPS bypass is installed across all chambers getting the full defects, cost, and throughput benefits. Some chambers have the GT baffle (#8) and the cool gas feed block (#9) upgrades. Other upgrades are not installed, therefore missing opportunities to reduce defects. Similarly, not all tools have the latest software installed therefore missing on latest features and causing variation across tools.

For maintenance procedures, a FabVantage 360 assessment compares the customer’s checklists to recommended checklists and frequencies. The score shows how many of the inspection, calibrations, cleaning, and replacement tasks are followed, as well as sourcing quality OEM spares for critical parts. Performance metrics are benchmarked to indicate impact on green to green time and PM success rate. In this example, the customer does not follow recommended maintenance activities and frequency and as a result takes 75h for green to green vs. 18h BIC. PM Success rate is also impacted with only 74% success, leading to more lost time and rework, as well as a quality risk.

A FabVantage 360 assessment also evaluates FDC practices by comparing the sensors the customer monitors against the list of sensors critical to the performance of a specific process. The assessment also compares general FDC practices to BKM’s and highlights areas of opportunity. This figure shows that the customer is monitoring only 51% of critical sensors and can improve sampling data rates as well as golden references. Under Particles, it also identifies a high particle count of 24 vs. benchmark of 5, representing an opportunity to reduce particles by 80%.

As shown in figure 1D, the customer’s uptime is 90.2%, within the benchmark range but scheduled downtime is close to the worst end of the benchmark, offset by good performance on unscheduled down. The performance metrics give another perspective on the PM performance with long green to green times and a low PM success rate.

To evaluate output performance, the FabVantage team assesses scheduled downtime, unscheduled downtime, and throughput against benchmark levels. FabVantage experts also analyze production runs to highlight hidden tool dedications. The analysis uncovers opportunities for process optimization and matching, leading to a more balanced utilization across tools, and therefore better cycle time through the equipment set.


Performance Gaps in Sample Evaluation

Key Takeaways

Possible issues causing poor PM performance are using non-BKM parts and not following prescribed PM procedures, such as not replacing parts at the recommended frequency and not performing prescribed calibrations. High particles are also a result of poor PM procedures, not leveraging defect-reduction upgrades, and setting equipment constants incorrectly.

Another cause of poor PM performance and high particles relates to matching issues on tools. In this example, software revision does not match across all tools. This, combined with incorrectly set equipment constants, may explain the high tool dedication, which in turn reduces the output of the fleet.

With a FabVantage 360 assessment, these calculations can be illustrated in a SEMI E10 Equipment States chart that shows the productive time of the tool and a breakdown of nonproductive time. As seen in figure 2, low throughput causes total tool productivity of only 63.6%, although the tool is utilized for 80% of the time. This example highlights a hidden opportunity to increase output by 25% by improving maintenance practices and equipment setup. Additional opportunities exist to reduce particles and defects, and improve process control with better FDC practices.

Figure 2. Example of a SEMI E10 Equipment States chart from a FabVantage 360 assessment which indicates that this fleet of four tools suffers from low productivity.

Conclusion

It is said that French artist Henri Matisse was notorious for spending extended periods of time looking at his paintings, reflecting on what he had done while plotting his next stroke. He would hold his paintbrush at a distance from the canvas and move it slowly through the air to try out different movements before committing to the next stroke on the canvas.[1]

Similarly, a FabVantage 360 evaluation provides customers with a “big picture” view of their fab situation, enabling them to plot their next “stroke” of improvement gains. The FabVantage 360 evaluation provides valuable data for use in prioritizing projects and quantifying ROI. It offers an easy, effective way to reveal how a customer’s tool performance and fab operations compare to the world’s best-in-class facilities.

For additional information, contact avi_edelstein@amat.com.

[1] Fred Mandell and Kathleen Jordon (2010). Becoming a Life Change Artist: 7 Creative Skills to Reinvent Yourself at Any Stage of Life. New York, NY: Penguin Avery Books. Can also be retrieved at https://books.google.com/ books?isbn=110144231X