skip to main content

压电效应推动 MEMS 麦克风、 指纹传感器发展

Mike Rosa, Ph.D.

业内公司正在利用压电效应打造下一代麦克风 和指纹传感器,从而推动微机电系统 (MEMS) 产业的蓬勃发展 — 这两种大批量生产的产品 可对 200 毫米半导体市场前景产生重大影响。

MEMS 麦克风和指纹传感器 — MEMS 产业的两个主要收益流 — 的新 材料和架构利用压电效应:即某些材 料因受到机械应力而产生电荷的能力 (参见侧栏“压电效应”)。

尽管挑战依然存在,技术专家们仍 在与应用材料公司共同努力开发一种利 用这项重要技术的新型 MEMS 装置。

 

高信噪比 (SNR) 麦克风

基于 MEMS 的麦克风 — 目前生产 批量最大的 MEMS 装置之一 — 在性能 方面正在经历翻天覆地的变化 (图 1)。 从单一平行板电容耦合麦克风到压电 式麦克风,接着很快发展到静电梳齿 式设计,然后又发展到光学式装置。虽 然压电式设计最近已获得了关注,但是 专家们认为, 如果要批量生产可靠性高 的此类装置,研发所需的材料和工艺技 术尚需时日。

图 1. 利用新材料和新声波检测方案的麦克风结构有望提高信噪比性能。 (资料来源:IHS)

Yole Développement (法国里昂) 最近的一项预测显示,2016 年 MEMS 麦克风出货量超过 44 亿只,到 2020 年有望超过 70 亿只,预测期内的年复 合增长率 (CAGR) 将近 14%。

倘若信噪比可以改良到足以过滤街 道上的噪音,用于轿车和卡车车内的麦 克风有望成为一个关键驱动因素。大多 数轿车和卡车仍在使用老式的驻极体式 装置。但是,随着 MEMS 麦克风信噪比 的改进,变化正悄然发生。每辆汽车的 麦克风数量增加了,三角波噪声的消除 和方向控制成为重中之重。

改进的信噪比打开应用之门

位于波士顿的压电-MEMS 麦克风新 兴公司 Vesper首席执行官马特·克劳利 (Matt Crowley) 认为下一代麦克风信噪 比日益改善 (超过 70 分贝),“将开启 消费品和工业市场的更多应用”,迎来 一个声控识别技术的新时代。

PVD 喷溅压电材料,包括钪掺杂氮化 铝 (ScAlN),[1]正在大大地改良性能。理论 计算证明钪含量越高,信噪比改进越大。

克劳利计算出每增加 5% 的钪 (Sc), 信噪比就会提高 1 分贝。从应用性能和生 产角度来说,这种效果都是非常显著的。

目前市场上可获得钪含量低于 10% 的 单一合金靶,但是更高含量的靶材替代物 尚未得到很好地开发。应用材料公司正在 联合靶材生产商共同开发高含量钪掺杂单 一合金靶以及在生产环境中生成这些靶材 所需的稳定的沉积工艺。其目标是使沉积 工艺能够得到含量达 43% 的钪 — 实验证明 这是压电系数滚降之前可以达到的上限。

可靠的指纹传感器

电容式指纹传感器在智能手机 和其它移动设备中的应用越来越广泛 (见图 2)。但是,从可制造性来看, 它们的普及只是归功于它们器件结构 的 CMOS 兼容性罢了。除此以外, 电容式指纹传感器容易发生因潮湿、 灰尘和手指表面的其它污染引起的可 靠性问题,因此重新发明新技术的时 机已成熟。在这一背景下,压电式指 纹传感器应运而生,钪在其中也起了 很大的作用。

图 2. 概念性电容传感器有 57,000 个像素的阵列;每个像素都是一个 MEMS 结构 下的 CMOS 控制电路的电容装置。虽然得到了普及,但是这种架构容易发生由 于灰尘和潮湿引起的安全缺陷和可靠性问题。(资料来源:固态指纹扫描器: 技术调查,NIST 客座研究员 Philip D. Wasserman,马里兰州盖瑟斯堡市,2005 年 12 月26 日)

与电容式指纹传感器不同,压电 式装置可以检测皮肤表皮层的纹路和 间隙的电阻抗。此外,超声感应机制 使其能够获得皮肤表面之下的图像, 从而使其安全性更高 (见图 3,图中 展示了压电式指纹传感器的概念图)。

图 3. 压电式指纹传感器安装于 CMOS 电路上方。(资料来源:《应用物理学 快报》第 106 卷,2015 年)

实现这一功能的关键在于压电材 料的选择,包括氮化铝 (AlN)、钪掺 杂氮化铝 (ScAlN) 以及具有合适的电 子和机械特性、同时又兼容 CMOS 的 其它 PVD 喷溅材料。

加州大学伯克利传感器和致动 器中心 (BSAC) 的戴维·霍斯利教授 (David Horsley) 指出,超声波接收器 的灵敏度取决于影响发射器灵敏度的 高压电系数与较低的相对电容率二者 之间的结合。“除了掺杂钪的氮化铝 (AlN) 薄膜的更高机电耦合系数之外, 这些已证明钪的含量增加可提高 CMOS 兼容类压电材料的总体性能。”他说。

如今,氮化铝 (AlN) 薄膜中高达 20% 的钪含量已被实验证明可改善 器件性能。随着钪含量的不断增加, 性能几乎呈线性增长。

对于原始设备制造商来说,挑 战变成如何为这些薄膜提供稳健、可 靠的喷溅工艺。目前市面上的 ScAlN 薄膜是单一合金靶,其钪含量低于 10%,被用于 RF 滤波器装置中。

应用材料公司正在与材料革新提 供商 Materion Corporation (俄亥俄州 克利夫兰市)密切合作,开发 ScAl 的 单一合金靶 (含量超过 20%)。这项研 发将应用于多种 MEMS 应用,从 RF 滤 波器到微机械超声换能器 (pMUTs)、 以及强力压电致动器。

一旦研发出合适的靶材料,工艺 研发便会紧随其后。晶圆薄膜要求沉 积率、不均匀性和跨晶圆应力水平达 到一定的水平,为此,硬件要素的改 良应与工艺配方条件相呼应。

MEMS 传感器 感应汽车尾气

有一些其它趋势可能对 MEMS 产业 带来显而易见的效果。例如,最近的汽 车排放丑闻就对汽车 MEMS 市场产生了 积极的影响,促使厂商更多地采用更先 进的排气后处理系统,比如基于 MEMS 传感器的选择性催化还原 (SCR) 系统。 产业分析师预测单单改进排放控制就有 可能使每辆车增加一打或更多传感器。

如今,超过 20% 的汽车上都装有 辅助控制车内暖通空调的湿度传感器, 并且这个数字正在不断上升。传感器在 提升电动汽车蓄电池组的安全和寿命方 面也起到了一定的作用。

无论它是在哪方面的应用,在最新 智能手机、先进的驾驶员感知系统中的 最新功能也好,还是作为推动乘客安全和 排放控制市场趋势的监管力量也罢(通常 是在汽车市场中),下一代基于 MEMS 的 装置应用将大大依赖于新材料和工艺。所 有这些应用必须在稳定、可靠且价格具有 竞争性的平台解决方案上开发。

欲知详情,请联系 mike_rosa@amat.com.

[1] 钪是一种化学元素,其元素符号为 Sc, 原子序数为 21。它是一种位于 d-block 的 银白色金属元素,有时与钇和镧系元素一 起被归类为稀土元素。(资料来源:维基 百科)


压电效应

压电效应是某些材料因受到机械应力而产生电荷的 能力。锆钛酸铅 (PZT) — 最常见的压电材料 — 在受到 机械应力下产生可测量到的压电。压电传感器利用这种 特性测量因移位或机械力而产生的变化。

压电效应的一个独特特点就是它的可逆性。表现出 正压电效应的材料也会表现出逆压电效应:当施加电场 时,机械应力即会产生。

逆压电效应可用于产生一个机械(或驱动)力。 脉冲电信号转换成高频振动波(比如医学超声扫描中使 用的声波)就是一个例子。技师用探头在受检者身体上 滑行,压电换能器通过高频机械振动产生一个超声波 信号。在该例子中,通过正确的设计,同一台压电装 置可产生一个超声波信号,也能“听到”返回的信号。

1880 年,法国物理学家雅克 (Jacques) 和皮埃尔· 居里 (Pierre Curie) 发现了压电现象。“piezoelectric”一 词来源于希腊语“piezein”,意为挤或压,piezo 在希腊 语中是“推”的意思。[1]

[1]资料来源:维基百科

skip to main content

Piezo Effect Boosts MEMS Microphones, Fingerprint Sensors

Mike Rosa, Ph.D.

The MEMS industry is getting a push from companies interested in taking advantage of the piezoelectric effect to build next-generation microphones and fingerprint sensors—two high-volume products that could have a major impact on the 200mm semiconductor landscape.

New materials and architectures for MEMS microphones and fingerprint sensors—both major revenue streams for the MEMS industry—use the piezoelectric effect: the ability of certain materials to generate an electric charge in response to applied mechanical stress (see sidebar, “The Piezoelectric Effect”).

Though challenges remain, technologists are working with Applied Materials to develop a new class of MEMS devices that leverage this important technology.

 

High SNR Microphones

MEMS-based microphones—one of the highest-volume MEMS devices produced today—are undergoing a seismic shift in capabilities (see figure 1). A move is underway from single parallel plate, capacitive-coupled microphones to piezo-based microphones, soon to be followed by electrostatic comb finger-based designs and then optical-based devices. While it is the piezo-based design that has captured attention recently, experts agree it will take time to develop the necessary materials and process technologies required to mass produce the devices with high reliability.

Figure 1. Microphone architectures that leverage new materials and new sound-wave detection schemes promise increased signal-to-noise performance. (Source: IHS)

A recent forecast by Yole Développement (Lyon, France) puts shipments of MEMS microphones in 2016 at over 4.4B units, exceeding 7B units by 2020, a nearly 14% compound annual growth rate (CAGR) over the forecast period.

Microphones used inside the cabins of cars and trucks are expected to be a key driver, provided that the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) can be improved enough to filter out street noises. Most cars and trucks still use older electret-style devices. However, a change is underway as the SNR of MEMS-based microphones improves, the number of microphones per vehicle increases, and more emphasis is placed on triangular noise cancellation and directionality.

Improved SNR Opens Doors

Matt Crowley, CEO of Boston-based Vesper, a piezo-MEMS microphone startup, expects that the increased SNR capability (beyond 70dB) of next-generation microphones “will open up numerous additional applications in consumer and industrial markets,” ushering in an era of voice-activated, recognition-based technologies.

PVD-sputtered piezo materials, including scandium-doped aluminum nitride (ScAlN),[1] are enabling much of this improved performance. Theoretical calculations demonstrate that the higher the scandium concentration, the more improved the SNR will be.

Crowley calculates that for every 5% of scandium (Sc) there is a corresponding increase of 1dB of SNR, which is significant from both application performance and manufacturing standpoints.

Today there are readily available single alloyed targets containing less than 10% Sc. However, for higher concentrations the target alternatives are not well developed. Applied Materials, in conjunction with target manufacturers, is tackling the development of higher-concentration Sc-doped single alloy targets, as well as the robust deposition processes needed to deliver them in a manufacturing environment. The goal is to enable deposition processes to support Sc concentrations up to 43%—the empirically proven limit before there is a roll off in the achieved piezoelectric coefficient.

Reliable Fingerprint Sensors

Capacitive fingerprint sensors are being used increasingly in smartphones and other mobile devices (see figure 2). However, from a manufacturability standpoint, their popularity is due simply to the CMOS compatibility of their device structure. Despite this, the capacitive-type fingerprint sensor is prone to reliability issues caused by moisture, dirt and other surface contamination on fingers, and therefore is ripe for reinvention. Enter the piezobased fingerprint sensor, where Sc also plays a role.

Figure 2. The conceptual capacitive sensor shown has an array of 57,000 pixels; each pixel is a capacitive device with CMOS control circuitry underneath the MEMS structure. While popular, this architecture is prone to security flaws and reliability issues caused by dirt and moisture. (Source: Solid State Fingerprint Scanners: A Survey of Technologies, Philip D. Wasserman, Guest Researcher, NIST,Gaithersburg, MD, December 26, 2005)

Unlike capacitive-based fingerprint sensors, piezo-based devices detect the electrical impedance of both ridges and gaps on the epidermal layer of skin. Furthermore, ultrasonic sense mechanisms provide the ability to acquire images beneath the skin’s surface for optional additional security (see figure 3, which shows a conceptual diagram of a piezo-based fingerprint sensor).

Figure 3. The piezo-based fingerprint sensor is positioned above CMOS circuitry. (Source: Applied Physics Letters 106, 2015)

The key to enabling this functionality lies in the choice of piezo materials, including aluminum nitride (AlN), scandium-doped aluminum nitride (ScAlN) and other members of a CMOS-compatible class of PVD-sputtered materials with the right electrical and mechanical characteristics.

Professor David Horsley of the University of California at Berkeley’s Sensor and Actuator Center (BSAC) points out that ultrasonic receiver sensitivity lies in the combination of high piezoelectric coefficients affecting the transmitter sensitivity and a low relative permittivity. “These, in addition to a higher electromechanical coupling coefficient for AlN films doped with Sc, have shown that increased percentages of Sc enable an overall higher performing CMOS-compatible class of piezoelectric materials,” he said.

Today, Sc concentrations of up to 20% in AlN films have been experimentally demonstrated to improve device performance, with an almost linear increase in performance for continued increases in Sc concentrations.

For equipment OEMs the challenge becomes how to deliver robust, reliable sputtering processes for these films. ScAlN films are currently available as single-alloyed targets with Sc concentrations of less than 10% for use in RF filter devices.

Applied Materials is working closely with materials innovation provider Materion Corporation (Cleveland, Ohio) to develop single-alloy targets of ScAl, with concentrations exceeding 20%. This development work will apply to multiple MEMS applications from RF filters to micro-machined ultrasonic transducers (pMUTs) to high-force piezoelectric actuators.

Once suitable target materials have been developed, process development begins. Hardware elements are refi ned in concert with process recipe conditions to achieve the deposition rates, nonuniformities and across-wafer stress levels required to meet the on-wafer film requirements.

MEMS Sensor Sniff Exhausts

There are other trends likely to have notable effects on the MEMS industry. The recent automotive emissions scandals have had a positive effect on the automotive MEMS market, prompting increased adoption of more advanced exhaust after-treatment systems, such as the selective catalytic reduction (SCR) system based on MEMS sensors. Industry analysts estimate that improved emissions control alone may account for an additional dozen sensors or more per vehicle.

Humidity sensors, which aid in controlling in-cabin HVAC, are featured in more than 20% of vehicles today, and that number is rising. Sensors also play a role in improving the safety and lifetime of the battery pack in electric vehicles.

Whether it’s expanded functionality in the latest smartphone, advanced driver awareness systems, or regulatory forces driving market trends in passenger safety and emissions control (as is the case in the automotive market), the next generation of MEMS-based device applications will rely heavily on new materials and processes. And all of these applications must be developed on robust, reliable and competitively priced platform solutions.

For additional information, contact mike_rosa@amat.com.

[1] Scandium is a chemical element with symbol Sc and atomic number 21. A silvery-white metallic d-block element, it has historically been sometimes classified as a rare earth element, together with yttrium and the anthanoids. (Source: Wikipedia)


The Piezoelectric Effect

The piezoelectric effect is the ability of certain materials to generate an electric charge in response to applied mechanical stress. Lead zirconate titanate (PZT)—the most common piezo material—generates measurable piezoelectricity under applied mechanical stress. Piezoelectric sensors use this property to measure changes in displacement or applied mechanical force.

One of the unique characteristics of the piezoelectric effect is that it is reversible. Materials exhibiting the direct piezoelectric effect also exhibit the converse piezoelectric effect: the generation of mechanical stress when an electric field is applied.

The converse piezoelectric effect can be used to generate a mechanical (or actuation) force. One example is the conversion of a pulsed electrical signal into high frequency vibrational waves such as those used in medical ultrasound scans. A piezoelectric transducer in the wand a technician passes over the body generates an ultrasonic signal through high-frequency mechanical vibrations. In this example, with the correct design, the same piezoelectric device can generate an ultrasonic signal and also “listen” for return signals received.

Piezoelectricity was discovered in 1880 by French physicists Jacques and Pierre Curie. The word piezoelectric is derived from the Greek piezein, which means to squeeze or press, and piezo, which is Greek for “push.”[1]

[1]Source: Wikipedia