skip to main content

用於厚硅外延層的 E P I 腔 體

Carlos Caballero

移動技術和物聯網的蓬勃發展大大擴展了半導體的應用范圍,產品和市場領域 的應用均達到了空前的廣度。隨之而來的,半導體技術正在經歷翻天覆地的變 革。這些發展力量所推動的設計和制造變革之一,是運用比半導體通常所用厚 得多的薄膜來制造更高性能的器件。如今,專為這一目的設計的多功能全新單 晶腔體為厚硅外延層的應用帶來了佳音。全新 Centura Epi 腔體的薄膜生長速率 超過每分鐘 6微米,能利用出色的化合物反應效率在單道工序中生成 100 微米以 上的硅外延層,既提高了生產率,又降低了擁有成本。

如今的半導體產業可謂盛況空前。一方面,技術領 先的芯片設計企業大力探索將芯片降至 10 納米以下的前 沿技術,另一方面,運用比以往厚數千倍的薄膜制造的 各式器件種類日益豐富。厚摻雜的外延硅薄膜形成了電 絕緣層,適用於更高電壓和更快切換頻率的功率半導 體,例如用於電器、立體聲音響和火車等的絕緣柵雙極 晶體管 (IGBT)。它通過將微機電系統 (MEMS) 集成於節 能的“智能”應用中,從而提升了器件性能,降低了價 格敏感型傳感器和致動器的制造成本。

功率器件和先進微機電系統的制造若要具有商業 可行性,外延硅薄膜生長厚度就需要達到 30–150 微 米,從而能以盡可能低的擁有成本實現高生產率。這 類器件很多都可以在 200 毫米系統上以低成本高效地制 造,為此類器件市場注入了新的活力。應用材料公司 積極支持 200 毫米技術的擴張,並增強了自身多個 150 毫米和 200 米系統的能力以滿足不斷發展變化的行業要 求,包括得到廣泛應用的 200 毫米 Applied Centura Epi 腔 體。

作為外延工藝的先鋒和外延沉積設備的市場領導 者,應用材料公司發揮自身長期以來在材料工程領域積 累的專長,重新設計了 200 毫米 Centura Epi 腔體,以求 生成卓越品質的厚硅外延層(20–100 微米),同時不 損害該設備在生成較薄外延層(<20 微米)上的出色表 現。全新 200 毫米 Applied Centura Epi 腔體改進了全套工 藝組件,從而共同實現 (1) 在單道工序中生成厚達 100 微 米的硅外延層;(2) 與標准腔體相比更短的清洗時間; (3) 在清洗工序間對多片晶圓完成外延制程(<20 微 米);(4) 顯著降低耗材成本。

一旦外延工藝設備完全折 舊,運行成本就會對盈利能力產生重大而直接的影響, 因此嚴格控制耗材成本對於整體盈利能力至關重要。

腔體升級

功率器件和微機電系統要求外延硅薄膜極度均勻, 電阻率差異低於 2%。為達到這些要求,新的 Epi 腔體對 標准 150 毫米和 200 毫米 Centura Epi 腔體的關鍵硬件和軟 件都做了升級。

機動承載盤轉軸: Applied Centura Epi 系統最多可容 納三個全新設計的腔體。在每個腔體中,每片晶圓都擱 於承載盤上的凹槽中,承載盤隨著前體氣流噴入腔體而 旋轉,啟動外延制程。晶圓片的准確定位對於優化單片 外延層均勻度和晶圓間工藝的可重復度至關重要。因 此,在新的腔體中,常規的氣動承載盤轉軸更換為了機 動轉軸,其速度可更精細地加以控制,以避免晶圓片在 承載盤凹槽內移動(見圖 1)。一個新的承載盤水准測 量裝置對機動轉軸形成補充,以提高定位的可重復度 (見圖 2)。

晶圓的可靠居中也最大程度減少了晶圓片粘在承 載盤上形成搭接效應的可能性。當承載盤表面露在晶圓 邊緣與凹槽側壁之間,使得外延生長延伸到這一區域 時,就會產生這種效應。

腔體: 改進了全套工藝組件的幾何以獲得更小的 邊界層,即晶圓表面上方前體化合物濃度最高的區域。 這樣,三氯氫硅 (TCS) 前體更有效地納入了晶圓表面上 方的反應區,就提高了薄膜生長速率。由此提升的化合 物反應效率降低了工藝所需的三氯氫硅量和相應成本。

其他組件在設計上的多項變革改善了氣體層流,從 而能加快生長速率,提高薄膜生長的均勻度,降低電阻 率差異,並減少腔體組件的意外包封,包括上下圓頂的包封。減少包封效應對於確保溫度均勻和整片晶圓上薄 膜的穩定增長尤其重要。

圓頂閉環溫控: 這項新的軟件功能具有改善在片 性能和提升系統生產率的雙重優點。保持穩定的工藝環 境溫度(見圖 3)對促成理想的單晶格生長有重要意 義。閉環溫控也有助於最大程度減少圓頂的包封效應。

最低程度的包封對薄膜品質和系統生產率都會產 生積極影響。制造更厚的薄膜需要更長的制程,增加了 包封或副產物在腔體表面沉積的可能性。沉積越厚,材 料剝落並掉到晶圓上的風險就越大,造成有損成品率的 缺陷。

從生產率角度看,薄的包封僅用少量鹽酸 (HCL) 即可快速去除。這有助於降低耗材成本,並減少系統對 環境造成的隱患。對於較薄的外延(≤20 微米),圓頂 包封達到可忽略程度,就能在腔體清洗工序間一次制成 三片晶圓,而一般情況下僅能制成一片。

改善性能

如表 1 概括的,上述改進使得應用材料公司新的外 延腔體能化解厚外延層帶來的主要技術難題,從而滿足 所有關鍵的市場要求。它以無與倫比的速率生成高品質 硅薄膜,厚度和摻雜均勻度均十分出色,而缺陷率可忽 略不計。此外,它確保了可重復的晶圓置放,並消除了 搭接,這兩點對於實現高成品率的量產都至關重要。同 樣重要的是,實現這一領先於業界的性能所需的運行成 本比競爭性方案更低。

圖 4 顯示了這一體積更小、化合反應效率更高的全 新 Centura Epi 腔體所實現的更高生長速率,圖 5 顯示了 所實現的厚度和電阻率均勻度。這一全新腔體生成厚和 薄兩種外延層的結果同樣優良(見圖 6),展現了它的 多功能性。電阻率目標值快速達成,並且在整個生長制 程中保持穩定(見圖 7-8)。

總結

通過引入全新 Centura Epi 腔體,應用材料公司對 150 毫米和 200 毫米 Centura Epi 腔體這兩項骨干設備做了大幅升級,以滿足業界在功率器件和微機電系統 應用中使用具有成本效益的厚硅薄膜的需求。在一 項 500 晶圓片的耐力測試中,重新設計的腔體在生 成 100 微米厚的硅外延層時展現了高於每分鐘 6 微 米的生長速率,達到批量制造工藝的三倍。此外, 腔體的設計和更短的制程推動了三氯氫硅前體的化 合效率和效能最優化,使得腔體更清潔,並減少了 去除圓頂包封所需的鹽酸消耗量。這些節約實現了 比批量制造系統更低的耗材成本,提高了產量,從 而帶來了競爭優勢。

欲知詳情,請聯系 carlos_caballero@amat.com

skip to main content

New High-Productivity EPI Chamber for Thick Silicon Epitaxy

Carlos Caballero

Semiconductor technology is undergoing a sea change as proliferating mobile technologies and the growing Internet of Things broaden the use of semiconductors in more products across more market segments than ever before. Among many design and manufacturing changes, these forces are stimulating the fabrication of devices in which performance is enhanced by using much thicker films than are typically associated with semiconductors. Applications calling for thick epitaxial silicon (Si) can now benefit from a versatile new single-wafer chamber specifically designed for that purpose. A new Centura Epi chamber has a >6μm/min. growth rate that enables more than 100μm of silicon epitaxy in a single pass through exceptional chemical efficiency, delivering both high productivity and lower cost of ownership.

Today’s semiconductor industry may be more dynamic than ever before. While leading-edge chip designers explore the far frontier of scaling below 10nm, a growing variety of devices are being fabricated using films that are thousands of times thicker. Thick, doped epitaxial Si forms electrical isolation for higher-voltage, faster-switching power semiconductors, such as insulated-gate bipolar transistors (IGBTs), used in appliances, stereos, trains, etc. It also improves device performance and lowers manufacturing costs of price-sensitive sensors and actuators by incorporating microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) in power-efficient, "smart" applications.

Commercially viable manufacturing of power devices and advanced MEMS requires epitaxial Si 30–150μm thick to be grown on systems that deliver high productivity at the lowest possible cost of ownership. Many of these devices can be cost-effectively manufactured on 200mm systems and are rejuvenating the market for this equipment. Applied Materials actively supports the expansion of 200mm technologies and has enhanced the capabilities of several of its 150mm and 200mm systems—including its widely used 200mm Applied Centura Epi chamber—to meet evolving industry requirements.

A pioneer in epitaxy and the market leader in epitaxial deposition equipment, Applied Materials has leveraged its long-established expertise in materials engineering to redesign the 200mm Centura Epi chamber specifically for superior quality thick Si (20–100μm) without compromising its already excellent results for thinner layers (<20μm). The new 200mm Applied Centura Epi chamber features process kit modifications that combine to enable (1) growth of up to 100μm of Si in a single pass; (2) shorter clean time compared to that of a standard chamber; (3) multi-wafer processing between cleans (for <20um); and (4) significantly lower consumable costs.

Once an epitaxy tool is fully depreciated, running cost has a major direct impact on profitability, so tight control of consumable costs is critical to overall profitability.

Upgrading the Chamber

Power devices and MEMS require extremely uniform epitaxial Si and resistivity of less than 2%. To meet these demands, key hardware and software components of the standard 150mm and 200mm Centura Epi chambers were upgraded for the new Epi chambers.

Motorized Susceptor Lift: The Applied Centura Epi system can accommodate up to three of the newly-designed chambers. In each chamber, a wafer rests in a pocket on a susceptor that rotates while precursor gas is injected into the chamber and the epitaxial process takes place. Exact positioning of the wafer is essential for optimizing within-wafer uniformity of the epitaxial layer and wafer-to-wafer repeatability of the process. Therefore, in the new chambers, the conventional pneumatic susceptor lift has been replaced with a motorized lift whose speed can be much more carefully controlled to avoid wafer movement within the susceptor pocket (see figure 1). A new susceptor-leveling mechanism complements the motorized lift to enhance positioning repeatability (see figure 2).

Reliable centering of wafers also minimizes bridging, i.e., the tendency of wafers to stick to the susceptor. This effect can occur when the susceptor surface is exposed between the edge of the wafer and the pocket sidewall, allowing epitaxial growth to spread over this area.

Chamber: Several design changes to other components improve laminar gas flow to facilitate higher growth rates, improve uniformity of film growth and resistivity, and reduce unintentional coating of chamber components, including the upper and lower dome. Reduced coating is particularly important in ensuring good temperature uniformity and stable film growth across the entire wafer.

Closed-loop dome temperature control: This new software feature has the dual benefit of improving on-wafer performance and boosting system productivity. Maintaining a stable process environment temperature (see figure 3) is important for promoting the desired single-crystal growth. Closed-loop temperature control also helps minimize coating of the dome.

Minimal coating has implications for both film quality and system productivity. Producing thicker films requires longer process times, increasing the possibility that coatings or byproducts will build up on chamber surfaces. The thicker the deposits, the greater the risk that the material will flake off and fall onto the wafer, creating yield-limiting defects.

From a productivity standpoint, a thin coating can be removed speedily and with only a small volume of hydrochloric acid (HCL). This contributes to lowering the cost of consumables, and lessens the system’s potential environmental hazards. For thinner epitaxy (≤20μm), negligible dome coating allows throughput of three wafers between chamber cleans rather than only one, as is typically the case.

Improving Performance

As summarized in table 1, the modifications described earlier enable Applied’s new epi chamber to satisfy all key market requirements by mitigating the major challenges posed by thick epitaxy. It achieves an unmatched growth rate of high-quality Si, formed with excellent thickness and doping uniformity and negligible defectivity. In addition, it ensures repeatable wafer placement and eliminates bridging, which are both essential for high-yield volume manufacturing. Moreover, this industry-leading performance is delivered at a lower cost of operation than competing alternatives offer.

Figure 4 illustrates the higher growth rate produced by the new, smaller Centura Epi chamber and more efficient chemistry, while figure 5 shows the uniformity of thickness and resistivity achieved. The new chamber offers the versatility of equally good results for both thick and thin epitaxy (see figure 6). Resistivity targets are reached rapidly and remain stable throughout the entire growth process (see figures 7–8).

Summary

With the introduction of the new Centura Epi chamber, Applied Materials has significantly upgraded its workhorse 150mm and 200mm Centura Epi chambers to meet the industry need for cost-effective production of thick Si in power-device and MEMS applications. In a 500-wafer marathon, the redesigned chamber demonstrated a >6μm/min growth rate in producing 100μm-thick blanket silicon— triple that of batch technology. In addition, its chamber design and shorter process times promote optimum efficiency and productivity of the TCS precursor, a cleaner chamber, and lower consumption of HCL used in removing dome coating. These economies offer the competitive benefits of a lower cost of consumables relative to batch systems, as well as higher throughput.

For additional information, contact carlos_caballero@amat.com