skip to main content

邁向智慧製造的新階段

作者:David Hanny


半導體製造業在已過的數十年間跨越了幾次技術革新,每一次 的革新都更進一步地導向較低的生產成本,並同時提高晶圓廠 產能。隨著物聯網 (IoT) 應用對於半導體製程技術更高品質的 要求之下,半導體製造業正邁入另一個革新技術的轉變週期。

從製造端來看,智慧製造的下個 階段正受惠於 5G 無線網路、人工智 慧 (AI)、更強大的處理器、雲端數據 分析、虛擬與擴增實境應用,以及整 合知識網絡等新技術發展。

這些技術連同著新的軟體應用, 正驅動半導體製造業朝向所謂的「工 業 4.0」、「智慧製造」、或「工業物 聯網」的發展階段。

不論我們如何稱呼這階段的發展, 重點是我們開始看到不一樣的晶圓 廠:晶圓廠以虛擬方式作出最好的管 理決策。那麼我們的目標是什麼?我 們的目標是持續將生產數據上傳至知 識網絡,再利用這些數據做出明智的 決策。

這些推動我們走向智慧製造的科 技演進著實令人驚艷不已。例如, 5G 網路讓我們下載一部電影只需 4、 5 秒;AI 處理器的(運算)能力,較 現有最佳的繪圖晶片強大 50 倍以 上;以及其他有發展潛力之策略方向, 例如,套用(資訊)安全技術成熟 的雲端運算,能夠以更具成本效益 的方式,執行數據分析以及解決生 產問題。

自動化的逐漸演進

試著回想一下前一段時間,操 作員在晶圓廠內推著手推車、手動 按下開關啟動設備、以及使用試算 表確認在製品 (WIP),其實都是不 久前仍然可在晶圓廠內看到的情 景。但晶圓廠逐步邁入新的生產階 段,進展到可以從不同設備蒐集生 產資訊、使用自動物料搬運系統 (AMHS),以及運用先進製程控制 (APC),如批次控制、故障偵測等。

再者,整個產業進階到新層次, 透過啟發式演算的智慧系統開始控 制工廠作業,創造了可觀的正面效 益。然而,隨著整個產業在追求高 度自動化控制之際,也伴隨某些限 制。許多公司繼續使用現有技術提 升自動化的水平時,但都受限於運 算能力、頻寬、數據整合與篩選。 如今,許多業者都在尋找出一條從 夾雜人工控制與自動化啟動的現 況,過渡到完全自動化的途徑。

對於成本導向的半導體製造業 來說,接受並推動技術改革確實是 個艱鉅的挑戰。半導體製造屬於資 本密集產業,因此自動化對於提升生產效率至關重要。畢竟在面對動 輒幾百萬美金的設備時,我們必須 確保達到高使用率與避免生產上的 瓶頸,但也正因為這樣,業者的創 新思維不免被舊經驗,以及既有的 自動化系統與流程所拘束。

畢竟,我們所處的產業,就是 買賣晶圓及晶片。至於經常被談論 的「工業 4.0」議題,唯有應用可 以達到及時出貨及獲得合理投資報 酬,才能引人注意。

晶片製造商面對的難題,包括 如何:(1) 提高產能;(2) 為生產工 程師建立可順利執行與製造的籃 圖;(3) 發展可提升操作員生產力 的方法;(4) 幫助生產工程師與團 隊協作,而非一人孤軍奮戰。

將半導體製造業 比擬為自駕系統

美國汽車工程師學會 (SAE) 將 汽車從無自動化演進到全自動的過 程,劃分成六個階段,將這些定義 套用到晶圓廠的自動化進程也同樣 適用。畢竟,自動駕駛車也是運用 程式與感應器偵測,即時回饋周遭 車輛的動態情形,保障行駛安全, 同時降低從 A 點到 B 點的成本(見 圖 1)。

SAE 的定義始於無自動化的階段 0,接著是汽車本身做出某些即時反 應的階段 1,像是調節車輛加速與減 速的巡航操縱,而駕駛員則是「輔助」。

發展至階段 2 時,駕駛員仍然是 車輛的主控者,但此時自動化系統 開始與駕駛員合作。過渡至階段 3 時,某些控制將由自動駕駛系統主 導,而駕駛員此時則改為是應變角 色。到了階段 4,車輛已經可以自 行處理從未遇過的情況,且其應變 系統足以應變不同的緊急情況。達 到全自動化的階段 5 時,車輛能夠 接管所有駕駛任務,且在任何情況下, 方向盤、油門等皆不需要人為操控。

從人為操作到自我驅動

現今的晶圓廠自動化進程與(自 駕系統)相當類似:兩者都是從完 全人為操作、感知回饋,最終發展 至自我驅動系統(見圖 2)。

在半導體產業自動化的階段 1, 我們可以看到自動物料搬運系統 (AMHS) 的應用、追蹤良率及(偵 測產品)缺陷的能力,以及某些預 防性維護措施。當發展到階段 2 時, 晶圓廠會開始採用即時調度與批次 控制 (R2R) 系統。

如今許多製造商為努力達成全自 動的第一個時期(亦即階段 3),正 致力發展即時排程與預測技術。隨 著運算速度日增,業者正在尋求機 器學習的產業應用發展,階段 3 可 謂是這些新技術發揮的試驗場。

在階段 3,企業著手發展數位孿 生,並決定什麼部分能或不能移到 雲端。當這些業者朝(智慧製造的) 目標邁進時,認知到以往的生產流 程與作業系統未來也未必適用,要 使用者建立對新科技的信任,也就 面臨比以往更艱難的學習曲線。

升級至階段 4 具有突破性意義, 因為程式可執行許多過去未被晶圓 廠執行的規範,從而作出更好的決 策。處於此階段的系統能夠自動化 擷取生產數據,即時決策,進而提 升產能。如同自動駕駛車基於保障 行駛安全須做出即時決策,應用材 料公司正與初期使用者攜手開發可 優化商業實作的即時決策系統。

在代表全自動的階段 5,最關鍵 的是偵測系統最弱環節是否能運作 的能力。因為往往最弱的環節無法 正常作業時,整個系統也就無法正 常運作。

增值的商機

我們有機會發展出新的方法,為 客戶提供附加價值。例如,客戶想 要自動規劃系統,透過提高回應市 場需求變動的能力,產生可衡量的 價值。但目前的資源規劃是以人工 的方式進行,而且更新規劃相當耗 時。對比之下,自動系統則可在數 分鐘內完成任務。另外,由於數據 品質攸關生產自動化發展的成敗, 當前生產數據不一致將會是另一個 挑戰。為了積極向前邁進,數據品 質也是需要著墨的範疇。

安全無虞

目前,應用新科技時依然存在著 其他阻礙。其中,較大的問題是有關 於資訊安全,因為它會影響對雲端的 應用。在複雜的製造流程中擷取的生 產數據,企業管理者往往視為重要的 智慧財產 (IP)。因此,必須先釐清哪 些(生產數據)屬於 IP,才能權衡雲 端應用的產業利益。儘管現階段只有 少部分企業使用公共雲端,但是半導 體製造商正開始著手定義及確認,哪 些數據可在雲端進行分析,哪些可在 公司授權軟件下處理。

一直以來,企業不斷在詢問:「哪 些資訊應該或者能夠透過雲端下執 行?」然而,我們近期發現企業面對 此議題的態度已出現改變。應用材料 公司正在加大投資力道,我們的管理 階層透過與大型製造商合作,分辨催 化及阻礙雲端應用的因素。我們相信, 當製造商體認到新技術及應用能夠改 善公司收益後,轉變勢必會出現。屆 時,企業將會開始使用雲端。

回想一下過去前一波關鍵任務系 統轉換,儘管當時 Windows 作業系 統已發展成熟、具成本效益、且被廣 泛應用,但業界對於要以 Windows 取代 UNIX 也曾經有過疑慮。相同的 情況也將會發生在雲端。

面對這樣的情形,應用材料公司 將秉持對於資訊安全不妥協的精神, 協助顧客開發如動態排程、全自動 解決方案、新一代批次控制、品質 管控等有佐益技術。這類應用程式 也將提升工廠的營運效率,並讓我 們朝向階段 4 所代表的高度自動化 層次邁進。

展望創新應用的未來

在任何一個成功的企業文化中, 我們都可以看到創新所扮演的關鍵 角色。變更管理方式以及採取新的 執行方法需要勇氣。但事實證明, 若失去創新的動力,將會停滯不前, 甚至將會遠遠落後於其他許多企業。

為妥善管理產業的轉變並提高高 度自動化的可行性,應用材料公司 正在投資並尋找初期使用者,一同 測試這些新概念。我們始終相信我 們的顧客樂意與相關產業夥伴共同 開發這些新科技以隨時因應(市場) 變化,並且對於能夠獲得可觀商業 收益的新技術會產生濃厚的興趣。

David Hanny 是應用材料公司自動化產品組 的行銷主管。如需更多資訊,請電郵至: david_hanny@amat.com.

skip to main content

Moving to a New Level of Intelligent Manufacturing

By David Hanny


Semiconductor manufacturing over the past few decades has moved through several levels of technology, with each transition leading to lower costs and higher fab productivity. Now the industry is entering yet another change cycle, driven by increasing semiconductor quality requirements to meet the demands of IoT applications.

Within the walls of the factory, a new level of intelligence is being enabled by technologies such as 5G wireless, artificial intelligence (AI), more powerful processors, cloud-based data analysis, virtual and augmented reality, and integrated knowledge networks.

Together with new software applications, these technologies are driving the semiconductor manufacturing industry toward what is variously referred to as Industry 4.0, smart manufacturing, or the industrial internet of things (IIoT).

Whatever the name, today we are beginning to see the factory differently—in a virtual way—to make decisions about the best ways to manage it. The goal? To continually feed data into a knowledge network, then leverage that data to make intelligent decisions.

The evolving technologies pushing us toward intelligent manufacturing are truly astonishing: 5G networks so fast we can download a movie in four or five seconds; AI processors 50 times more powerful than today’s already-amazing graphics processors; and the potential for strategies such as cloud-based computing with maturing security capabilities poised to foster cost-effective collaborative problem solving and data analysis.

The Gradual Evolution of Automation

Think back to a time—not many years ago—when workers in fabs moved carts, pushed buttons to start up equipment, and tracked WIP on spreadsheets. Gradually, fabs moved to a new level, with the ability to aggregate data from the equipment, automate material handling systems, and implement advanced process control (APC) capabilities such as run-to-run control and fault detection.

Next, the industry advanced to a level where heuristic intelligent systems began to take control of factories, with measurably positive benefits. However, while the industry strived for a higher level of automation control, limitations began to appear. Many companies continued to use existing technologies that lacked enough compute power, bandwidth, data aggregation, and filtering to move to these higher levels of automation. Today, many in our industry are seeking a path that will allow them to transition from their current mix of manual control and automation-initiated control to full automation.

Adopting change is a daunting challenge and not always easily accomplished in our cost-conscious industry. Production equipment is so asset intensive that automation is critical to keeping the tools productive. When a piece of equipment costs millions of dollars, we simply must achieve high utilization rates and prevent bottlenecks. Often we’re captive to historical thinking and limited by those automation systems and processes that inhibit innovation.

Ultimately, we are in the business of selling wafers and die. The much-talked-about Industry 4.0 can be interesting only if it supports applications that help deliver products on time and with a fair return on investment.

The tough questions for chipmakers are how to (1) improve productivity, (2) create a roadmap so production engineers can go off and create something useful, (3) develop methods for making people more productive, and (4) help production engineers work as a team (as opposed to standalone entities).

Semiconductor Parallels to Autonomous Driving

The Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) has defined six levels of automation leading to autonomous driving, from absolutely no automation to full automation. These definitions certainly apply to automation in semiconductor fabs as well. After all, autonomous vehicles involve software and sensors providing data from surrounding cars with real-time responses, as well as safety goals and objectives to reduce the cost of getting from point A to point B (figure 1).

Figure 1. The path to full automation in the fab in many respects parallels the progressive levels of automation required for autonomous vehicles. (Source: The Society of Automotive Engineers)

The SAE’s definition starts with no automation at Level 0 and then moves to Level 1, where the automobile itself makes some real-time decisions, such as cruise control regulating the acceleration and deceleration of the car, with the driver as the backup plan.

At Level 2, the driver is still in charge, but automation systems start to work together. In the transition to Level 3, the driving system takes ownership of some controls, and the human driver is the fallback plan. At Level 4, the vehicle handles situations it hasn’t encountered before and is the fallback system for many scenarios. With true full automation at Level 5, the vehicle takes over in every way, and the steering wheel and gas pedal are put away for all scenarios.

From Reactive to Self-Actuating

Inside the fab today, the automation levels are similar, as we work from completely reactive, to cognitive, and then to self-actuating systems (figure 2).

Figure 2. To achieve the goal of a fully automated semiconductor fab, progressive levels of automation are required. Level 3 is where many manufacturers are moving today. (Source: Applied Materials)

During the semiconductor industry’s Level 1, we saw the adoption of automated materials handling systems (AMHS), the ability to track yields and defects, and some preventive maintenance. At Level 2, fabs adopted real-time dispatching and R2R control.

Level 3, where many manufacturers are moving today, attempts to achieve the first phases of full automation, including figuring out how to bring in real-time scheduling and predictive techniques. With faster processing speeds now available, companies are seeking to apply machine learning. Level 3 is a proving ground for applications that run on these new technologies.

At Level 3, companies begin to develop their digital twins and decide what components can or cannot move to the cloud. As these companies look down the road to their end goal, realizing that the processes and systems of yesterday aren’t necessarily going to work tomorrow, they will face a steeper learning curve than ever before in building user trust in the technology.

The move to Level 4 is significant because this is where the software must implement requirements never adopted before in the fab and, by adopting these requirements, make good decisions. The systems at this level of automation take in data, and then in real time, make decisions that improve productivity. Just as autonomous vehicles must make decisions in real time for safety reasons, Applied Materials is working with early adopters to enable real-time decisions that optimize business practices.

Level 5, full automation, depends on the ability to determine whether the weakest part of the system works. If the weakest link doesn’t work, then the whole system will fail.

Opportunities For Adding Value

We have an opportunity to develop new methods that can provide additional value for customers. For example, customers want automated planning systems, which bring measurable value through an improved ability to react to shifting market demands. Currently, resource planning is a manual process, and it takes days to update plans which, in an automated system, could be accomplished in minutes. Another industry challenge now facing us is that data coming from factories is often inconsistent. Data quality is also a factor that needs to be addressed to take positive steps forward.

Safe and Sound

Other obstacles to technology adoption exist. A huge obstacle is data security, which impacts adopting the cloud. In complex manufacturing, managers regard their data as equivalent to their intellectual property (IP). To leverage the benefits of the cloud as an industry, we need to differentiate what is IP and what is not. Few use a public cloud now, but semiconductor companies are starting to define what data analysis techniques they can do in the cloud and what can be done on premises.

Companies have been asking, “What should or could I do with the cloud?” However, recently we have witnessed a change of attitude. Applied Materials is ramping up its investment, and management has engaged with large manufacturers to capture drivers and inhibitors to leveraging cloud technology. We believe this transition will happen when manufacturers identify how the new technologies and applications will improve their economics. And at this juncture, they will start to use the cloud.

For comparison, recall for a moment the industry’s concerns when moving from UNIX operating systems to Windows for mission-critical systems. Windows was cost-effective and matured, encouraging adoption. The same will happen with the cloud.

Meanwhile, without compromising security, Applied Materials is working with customers to develop useful techniques, such as dynamic scheduling, full automation scenarios, next-generation run-to-run control, and quality scenarios. These types of applications increase the operational productivity of the factory and move us closer to Level 4 automation.

Final Thoughts on Innovation

Innovation is a key part of the culture in any successful company. Managing change takes a bit of courage and the willingness to support new ways of doing things. Lack of innovation fuels stagnation, which has proven to leave many behind.

To manage this change and make possible the shift to high automation, Applied Materials is investing in and looking for early adopters to test these concepts. We believe our customers want to work on these new technologies with partners, so they can be ready to deal with change and achieve significant business benefits.

David Hanny is marketing director for Applied’s Automation Products Group. For additional information contact him at david_hanny@amat.com.