skip to main content

腔室匹配降低全機組可變性

保持工廠的高成品率和高產出

By Kevin Sannes

工廠的高成品率和高產出是半導體器件制造廠財務績效的基石,而增 強工廠運營績效的關鍵機制在於全機組所有腔室的性能匹配。但是, 先優化一個“黃金”腔室的運行參數,然后在整個機組內復制,這個 過程看起來直截了當,實際卻已成為先進晶圓制造廠面臨的最大難題 之一。苛刻的匹配要求、多重圖案帶來的變異、工藝配方的復雜性以 及三維結構,這些因素使實現並維持大型腔室機組的性能匹配成為一 個難題。

应用材料公司 FabVantage 咨詢團 隊開發並成功展示了一套腔室匹配方 法,精簡了匹配流程,縮短了找到問 題根源的時間。糾正措施得以快速確 定,停機時間減少,生產率得以 提 升。

匹配需求

隨著晶圓技術縮小至 28 納米以 下,新的趨勢正在影響器件制造的 效率。例如,多重圖案組合被用於 拓展當前的光刻技術。雙重圖案正 在向四重圖案轉變。以前的工藝流 程是先光刻再刻蝕,而如今的多重 圖案涉及一系列光刻、刻蝕和間隔 層沉積工序,系列光刻、刻蝕和間 隔層沉積工序, 每道工序都在整個機組中引入了工藝 變異,造成臨界尺寸 (CD)、刻蝕深 度或對准的差異。因此,晶圓制造廠 每個系統的每個腔室在每項工藝中都 按指定規格運行便至關重要。

向三維器件的轉變也影響了在先 進節點實現匹配的需求,因為三維器 件的制造大幅增加了工序,這也增加 了在生產過程中出錯的風險。例如, 3D NAND 階梯堆疊須沉積數十層電 介質(圖 1);前面某一層中出現即 便是納米級極微小的沉積不均,也會 在后續每一層中不斷放大。還有,淺 溝槽隔離和 3D NAND 應用中所用的 刻蝕工藝配方變得極其復雜,有時涉 及 80 多道工序。由於配方時間長、腔 室產出低,產量巨大的制造廠在單項 工藝應用中可能需要 50 多個腔室。同 樣的問題也影響 DRAM 刻蝕,因為器 件密度的增加導致了深寬比和配方復 雜度的增加。


圖 1. 3D NAND 階梯。

匹配難題

腔室匹配要求深刻了解設備設計 和工藝應用。成功的匹配需要分析影 響晶圓性能的大量變量,識別對性能 影響最大的那些變量,優先處理根本 性的問題,並採取必要的糾正措施。 隨著尺寸縮小,對 CD 的匹配要求更 加苛刻,匹配過程也變得極其困難。

在早期節點上,典型的匹配目標 是將各个腔室的產出差異控制在 5% 之 內 ;而在先進節點上,匹配目標已變 成黃金腔室平均值的 ½–1σ 之內,一 般大約隻有幾埃。這種性能水平要求 非常嚴格的控制和持續的性能監控。

解決腔室間失配問題的復雜性意 味著制造廠的工程師需要面面俱到地 了解各個系統以及其歷史和環境。 但 是極少有人掌握如此全面的知識。多 個具有潛在影響力的參數會在一個給 定的生產系統中匯聚,包括各個部件 和容差、腔室的配置、運行和維護 程序、工藝參數設置(氣體、壓強、 溫度等)、常規維修服務、校准方法 以及系統軟件。此外,批次間 (R2R) 控制通過即時調整運行中的配方參數 來彌補工藝變異,掩蓋了腔室間失配 問題的根本原因,從而進一步增加了 復雜性。

要找到失配的區域並展開調查很 容易,但找到根本原因卻往往變成一 個試錯過程,這牽涉到開展預防性維 護 (PM) 作業、硬件校准、配方精調、 部件更換、以及優良腔室與失配腔室 之間的部件交換。

尋找並解決腔室間失配問題的根 本原因,需要耗費大量時間和人力 ; 機器停機也會造成生產瓶頸。晶圓制 造廠的管理者們往往規避這問題,將 失配的腔室限制在較次要的工藝中, 或者雖然明知產品並未達到最優,卻 依然運行失配的腔室。

系統的匹配方法節省時間和 成本

為應對全機組腔室匹配的復雜問 題,應用材料公司 FabVantage 咨詢團 隊與工藝部門及現場人員合作,開發 出了一套利用數據收集、硬件和工藝 審核以及多層面分析方面的專業技能 和知識的方法。這套方法使該團隊得 以高效地集中解決失配問題的根本原 因,減少停機時間,並提高匹配度。 他們的方法已成功証明能節省時間和 人力,並在客戶的現場有效地解決失 配問題。目前為止,這套方法主要應 用在刻蝕上 ;但該方法也適用於半導 體制造的全套工藝。

圖 2 總結了 FabVantage 的方法。 技能嫻熟的工程師使用 FabVantage 360 評估系統開展當前系統性能的初始基准衡量,然后利用專業硬件和軟 件工具開展硬件和工藝的全面審核。 一旦了解了全機組中的硬件變異,就 開展工藝敏感度試驗來確定每個硬件 組件如何影響晶圓性能。工藝敏感度 和硬件變異分析的結果用於確定工藝 變異,並對造成失配的主要原因進行 排序。按照該排序,先后採取糾正措 施來解決問題。糾正匹配問題后,最 后 階段的工作重點是利用監控來執行 PM 以及控制最主要的原因來維持腔 室匹配。


圖 2. 應用材料公司的 FabVantage 腔室匹配分析方法縮短了鎖定根本問題的時間。

實施結果

兩個具代表性的項目表明 FabVantage 這套方法的流程和有效 性。第一個項目的目標是對開展 2x 納米級 DRAM 生產的 16 個刻蝕腔 室進行 CD 值和槽深的匹配。團隊對 一項高產產品每個腔室的月均 CD 值 做了跟蹤記錄 ;客戶對此產品的要求 是實現腔室間 CD 范圍低於 4Å。

FabVantage 團隊首先對 R2R 控制 的影響做了量化,來識別目標腔室 和異常腔室。他們選中一組腔室 開展了全面的硬件審核,然后以客戶 的產品配方為基准條件,對產品晶圓 開展工藝敏感度試驗。工藝敏感度測 試分析找出了影響 CD 值和槽深的 10 大參數(圖 3)。最后,工藝變異分 析明確表明,質流控制器 (MFC) 流量 和無線射頻 (RF) 線性度的校准不當 是造成失配的主要根本原因(圖 4)。


圖 3. 工藝敏感度測試找出對 CD 值和槽深產生最大影響的參數。


圖 4. 工藝差異分析確定糾正措施的優先順序。

對系統開展的糾正工作還顯示另 外兩個起作用的因素,即背面氦氣的 間斷性尖峰流量和 ESC 溫度校准的非優 化。於是,所有腔室都安裝了背面氦 氣罐升級套件,以消除氦氣輸送問 題,另外,團隊還建議採用應用材料 公司的已知最佳做法 (BKM) 提高 ESC 溫度校准的准確性。

除了進行上述審核和數據分析以 外,團隊還從調查的腔室中收集了傳 感器數據和晶圓數據,並對這些數據 組做了合並和關聯性分析,以確定是 否有工藝變異以外的因素也造成腔室 的失配(圖 5)。這些分析揭示了 PM 變化和槽深的間斷性偏移,且槽深與 BARC 刻蝕工序中的峰間電壓關聯。 FabVantage 團隊對觀察到的第三方 PM 服務問題給出了建議。


圖 5. 傳感器與晶圓數據之間的關聯識別工藝變異之外造成腔室失配的因素。

FFabVantage 團隊收集了 30 天的 CD 數據,以監控所有糾正措施的有 效性。去除 R2R 控制效果后,計算 結果表明,CD 范圍從 22Å 改進為 12Å(圖 6a)。隨后,通過將這一改 進與 R2R 控制相結合,實現了客戶 將全機組 CD 范圍控制在 4Å 之內的目標(圖 6b)。


圖 6. (a) 改進后的腔室匹配加上 (b) R2R 控制使 CD 范圍從 22Å 降至客戶要求的 <4Å 目標。

在第二個項目中,FabVantage 團隊運用了同樣一套方法。其中, 客戶的腔室有 18% 不符合 2x 納米級 技術節點的 CD 規格。CD 值不僅失 配,而且在連續的 PM 事件中前 后偏移。

在這個案例中,工藝變異分析找 出了造成失配的主要原因,即 ESC 溫度校准、RF 源、壓強和關鍵氣 體流量。ESC 溫度校准得以糾正, ESC 溫度核實加到了維護清單中, 以確保監控持續進行。CD 偏移被確 認為是因原位腔室清潔配方非優化 造成的 ;FabVantage 團隊建議實施 應用材料公司的多步驟 BKM 清潔配 方來解決這一問題。圖 7 顯示運用 FabVantage 的方法成功解決了 CD 失配和偏移問題。


圖 7.左側顯示的腔室間 CD 值變異和 PM 周期中 CD 值偏移問題通過腔室匹配方法和 BKM 得以解決。

總結

降低一個機組中不同產品晶圓間 的變異是晶圓制造廠提高生產率的關 鍵。隨著晶圓技術縮小至 28 納米以 下,腔室匹配難題正變得更加棘手。 為保持優化的生產率,晶圓制造廠、 存儲器件和邏輯器件制造廠需要一套 分析方法、多樣化的技能和專業化的 工具來實現全機組匹配。通過利用應 用材料公司雄厚的知識儲備、在設備 和工藝方面的廣博經驗,以及行之有 效的 BKM,FabVantage 團隊在客戶的 現場成功証明了其分析方法能使執行 復雜制造工藝的刻蝕腔室間實現匹 配,從而也証明了其有效性。該團隊 將一如既往地與客戶合作,為更廣泛 的應用解決腔室匹配問題。

欲知詳情,請聯系kevin_sannes@amat.com

skip to main content

Chamber Matching Reduces Variability Across the Fleet

Maintains High Factory Yield and Output

By Kevin Sannes

High factory yield and output are the foundation of financial performance in a semiconductor fab, and matched performance across all chambers in a fleet is a key mechanism for enhancing factory performance. But the seemingly straightforward process of optimizing the operating parameters on one “golden” chamber and then duplicating them across the fleet has become one of the most challenging issues in advanced fabs. Aggressive matching requirements, variation from multi-patterning, complexity of process recipes, and 3D structures all compound the challenge of achieving and maintaining matched performance on large fleets of chambers.

The Applied Materials FabVantage Consulting team has developed and successfully demonstrated a chamber-matching methodology that streamlines the matching process, shortening the time to root cause. Corrective actions are quickly defined, downtime reduced, and productivity improved.

The Need for Matching

As scaling has progressed below 28nm, new trends are affecting device fabrication productivity. Multi-patterning schemes are being employed to extend current lithography. Double patterning is transitioning to quadruple patterning. Where once the process flow might have been lithography followed by etch, multi-patterning now involves a series of lithography, etch, and spacer deposition steps, each of which can introduce process variation across a fleet with resulting differences in critical dimension (CD), etch depth, or alignment. It is therefore essential that every chamber on every system in the fab perform to specification in every process.

Achieving desired matching at advanced nodes is also affected by the transition to 3D devices, whose fabrication involves a substantial increase in the number of process steps and greater risk of compounding an error made along the way. For example, tens of layers of dielectrics are deposited in 3D NAND staircase stacks (figure 1); even nanometer-scale deposition non-uniformity in one of the earlier layers will magnify with each successive one. Similarly, etch process recipes used in shallow trench isolation and 3D NAND applications are becoming extremely complex, sometimes involving more than 80 steps. High-volume production fabs may need more than 50 chambers for a single process application due to long recipe times and low chamber throughputs. The same issue affects DRAM etch because growing device density has resulted in a steady increase in aspect ratios and recipe complexity.


Figure 1. 3D NAND staircase

The Matching Challenge

Chamber matching requires a deep understanding of the tool design and the process application. Successful matching involves analyzing a large number of variables that influence on-wafer performance, identifying those that have the greatest impact on performance, and prioritizing root causes and required corrective measures. The matching process is becoming extremely difficult as dimensions shrink and CD matching requirements become more aggressive.

At earlier nodes, the typical goal was to match chamber results to within 5% of each other; at advanced nodes, the goal has become matching to within ½–1σ of the mean of the golden chamber—typically on the order of a few angstroms. This level of performance demands exceptionally stringent controls and ongoing performance monitoring.

The complexities of solving chamber mismatch mean that the fab engineer ideally needs to know everything about the systems, their history, and their environment. Rarely is such comprehensive knowledge available. A multitude of potentially influential parameters converge in a given production system, including individual parts and tolerances, chamber configuration, operation and maintenance procedures, process parameter settings (gases, pressure, temperature, etc.), service routines, calibration methods, and system software. In addition, run-to-run (R2R) control adds another complexity, compensating for process variation by adjusting recipe parameters on the fly and masking the underlying causes of chamber mismatch.

It can be easy to find areas of mismatch to investigate. Often though, finding the root cause becomes a process of trial and error that entails preventive maintenance (PM) work, hardware calibration, recipe tuning, parts replacement, and part swapping between good and mismatched chambers.

Efforts to identify and resolve root causes of chamber mismatch are time-consuming and labor-intensive; machine downtime can create production bottlenecks. Fab managers often work around the problem by restricting the mismatched chamber(s) to less critical processes, or by continuing to run them, although they know the output will be less than optimal.

Matching Methodology Trims Time, Cost

To address the complex issue of matching chambers across a fleet, the Applied Materials FabVantage Consulting team has collaborated with process groups and field personnel to develop a methodology that leverages specialized skills and knowledge in data collection, hardware and process audits, and multifaceted analyses. This allows the team to efficiently zero in on the root cause of mismatch, reduce downtime, and improve matching. Their approach has successfully demonstrated time and labor efficiencies and eectively resolved the cause of the mismatch at customer sites. To date, implementation has focused on etch applications; however, the approach is applicable to the full range of semiconductor fabrication processes.

Figure 2 summarizes the FabVantage approach. Skilled engineers perform initial benchmarking of current system performance within a FabVantage 360 assessment, followed by comprehensive hardware and process audits using specialized hardware and software tools. Once hardware variation across the fleet is understood, a process sensitivity experiment is run to determine how each hardware component influences on-wafer performance. Results from the process sensitivity and hardware variation analyses are used to determine the process variation and rank the top contributors to the mismatch. Corrective action to resolve the problems follows this rank order. After the matching problems have been corrected, the final phase focuses on PM execution using monitoring and control of top contributors to maintain chamber matching.


Figure 2. Applied’s FabVantage analytical chamber-matching methodology shortens time to root cause.

Implementation Results

Two representative projects illustrate the process and effectiveness of the FabVantage methodology. The first project’s objective was to match CDs and trench depth on 16 etch chambers running 2xnm DRAM production. Each chamber’s CD monthly average was tracked for one high-volume product, for which the customer’s requirement was to achieve a chamber-to-chamber CD range of less than 4Å.

The FabVantage team first quantified the impact of R2R control to identify both on-target chambers and outlier chambers. They performed a comprehensive hardware audit of a selected group of chambers, followed by a process-sensitivity experiment on product wafers using the customer’s production recipe as a baseline condition. Analysis of process-sensitivity tests identified the top 10 parameters influencing CD and trench depth (figure 3). Finally, process-variation analysis prioritized incorrect calibrations of MFC flow and RF linearity as the root causes of the mismatch (figure 4).


Figure 3. Process-sensitivity tests identify the parameters having the greatest effect on CD and trench depth.


Figure 4. Process-variation analysis prioritizes corrective actions.

Corrective work on the systems also revealed two additional contributory factors: intermittent backside helium flow spikes and non-optimal ESC temperature calibration. Consequently, a backside helium tank upgrade kit was installed on all chambers to eliminate the helium delivery issue, and a recommendation was made to improve ESC temperature-calibration accuracy by adopting the Applied Materials best known method (BKM). In parallel with the above audits and data analysis, the team collected sensor data and on-wafer data from the chambers under investigation.

These data sets were merged and correlation analyses performed to determine whether factors other than process variation could be contributing to chamber mismatch (figure 5). These analyses revealed PM variability and an intermittent trench-depth shift, with trench depth correlated to peak-to-peak voltage in a BARC etch step. The FabVantage team made recommendations to address the issues observed with the third-party PM service.


Figure 5. Correlations between sensor and on-wafer data identify factors other than process variation that could contribute to chamber mismatch.

The FabVantage team collected CD data for 30 days to monitor the effectiveness of all corrective actions. With the R2R control effect removed, the calculated range of CDs improved from 22Å to 12Å (figure 6a). Subsequently, the customer’s target CD range of less than 4Å across the fleet was achieved by combining this improvement with R2R control (figure 6b).


Figure 6. (a) Improved chamber matching combined with (b) R2R control reduced CD range from 22Å to customer’s < 4Å target.

The FabVantage team applied the same methodology to the second project, in which 18% of the customer’s chambers were not meeting CD spec for the 2xnm technology node. Not only was CD mismatched, it also drifted between successive PM events.

In this case, process-variation analysis identified ESC temperature calibration, RF source, pressure, and critical gas flows as the top contributors to the mismatch. ESC temperature calibration was corrected and ESC temperature verification was added to the maintenance checklist to ensure ongoing monitoring. CD drift was determined to be the result of a non-optimal in-situ chamber clean recipe; the FabVantage team recommended implementing Applied’s multi-step BKM clean recipe to resolve this issue. Figure 7 illustrates the successful resolution of the CD mismatch and drift using the FabVantage methodology.


Figure 7. CD variation between chambers and CD drift across PM cycle shown on the left are resolved by chamber-matching methodology and BKM.

Summary

Reducing variation on product wafers across a tool fleet is critical for high fab productivity. Chamber-matching challenges are becoming more exacting as technology scales below 28nm. To sustain optimal productivity, foundry, memory, and logic fabs require an analytical methodology, multiple skills, and specialized tools for fleet matching. By leveraging Applied’s substantial knowledge base, broad-ranging equipment- and process experience, and proven BKMs, the FabVantage team has successfully demonstrated at customer sites the effectiveness of its analytical approach to matching etch chambers that perform complex fabrication processes. The team is continuing to engage with customers on solving chamber-matching problems for a broader range of applications.

For additional information, contact kevin_sannes@amat.com